We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Time here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Ranked #3 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Time here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

First visit to this Hotel and we would recommend it to anyone, staff were very welcoming from the booking in process right to delivering our luggage to our room. Thomson holiday rep was helpful explaining what was available and offered a booking service for tours and outings. The hotel is set in a lovely area with great views over the sand dunes from most of the rooms. Food is in abundance and with the availability of booking an earlier sitting if you are going on a trip, is very helpful.

Would recommend and will stay here again no issues at all.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    368
    110
    26
    14
See reviews for
195
1,015
70
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is our 4th stay at this hotel and everything about it is consistently excellent.... Our 3rd trip was in May but decided to have another week at the beginning of August. What a welcome we received from so many people - from the Hotel Director down to the Waiters and Chambermaids.
At all levels this hotel offers great value for money. The food is consistently good whether it is breakfast or dinner.
Gran Canaria has a huge variety of hotels at varying Prices - If you want value for money and excellent food - service and facilities - The Riu Palace Maspalomas should be your 1st choice.
Jamie McLean

Room Tip: 4th Floor have fabulous views over the Dunes
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamieMcLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was my first ever trip to Gran Canaria - althought my husband has visited before. From the moment until we stepped into the reception area, until the very moment we left we received exemplary customer service from every single member of staff we saw. Director Roberto Jimenez runs the most wonderful establishment. Never have we visited a hotel where all the staff beam smiles, check that everything you need and want is all ok, if it's not they sort out any issues with the utmost of urgency (and good humour!). We had the most magnificent room on the top floor with a view out to the dunes and both pools, plus a sunny balcony until late afternoon. The food was incredible - including the a la carte restaurant - which is a must. Nice touches like being seated at the same table each night for dinner. Attentive staff - gold stars for Felipe at the pool bar, Marta who was a restaurant waitress and on the Lobster lunch day. And too many to mention - the staff are a real credit to the hotel and the Riu group.
What was also remarkable was that all the other residents showed the utmost of respect to fellow guests - regardless of colour, race or nationality. We said Buenos Dias to and received the same smiley welcomes from everyone and it was pleasure - we've been used to being stared at by people gormlessly surprised we're saying HELLO to them, or simply grunts.
On the poolside front - plenty of beds, plenty of space too, superb pool bar. Wonderful little boutique shops in the reception area.
Mainly people over 40yrs old - like us - which is what we wanted anyway - sooooooooooooo relaxed. Cracking couple of nights in the evening bar - The Supremes were magnificent - so pretty and incredibly glitzy costumes - I'm still wondering if they're all from the UK. And also the Konkaza Flamenco night was stunning too - they even got me up dancing with them (how embarrasing, but funny!) The resident band need livening up a bit though - need more oomph, enthusiasm and more exciting tunes.
How can I forget the massive measures of spirits - we got addicted to a Bombay Sapphire and tonics - woweeee!
If you're brave enough - head out over the back onto the dunes. We did - it took us an hour of hard slog in the midday heat but it's super just to get to the beach and beyond to see the rest of the resort (it's tempting not to go outside of the wonderful hotel but you really must) Be careful of the nudist beach (!)
We did the Jeep safari which was awesome and hilarious - all booked via Thomson and what an amazing bunch of humorous guides! massive thank-you to Scott who was our lad at the resort. What a super Glasweigan boy he is. Nothing was too trouble.
We can't wait to be return - the first ever hotel and resort where we've said we will DEFINITELY be heading back.
SIMPLY THE BEST - thanks for looking after us, Robert J and all the team.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor looking out to either of the pools - you'll get a view of the dunes and beyond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MDUFFY2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Not long back from a week at this hotel. We had such a fantastic time we will surely go back. The hotel is well appointed and not tired at all as others have said. The decor and furnishings are all in keeping with the style of the hotel and it is very comfortable. The rooms were large and very clean.

The food was excellent, we went on a package holiday and were there on half board. The food varied each day and there was a huge choice for breakfast and dinner, with the pool bar serving food (at extra cost) during the day. The bar was well stocked and a wide variety of drinks were available. The wine list in the restaurant had a good choice and even the cheapest wines on the menu were really good quality.

The hotel is a little far out so maybe not ideal for younger families , however everything is within reasonable walking distance or cheap taxi ride. Plenty of bars, shops and restaurants close by. Beautiful sand dunes behind hotel. The entertainment in the hotel was good, but a little repetitive.

Probably the best part about our stay was the staff, there were absolutely amazing and could not do enough for us and all so friendly and cheery. This really made the holiday for us. The reception staff even let us have use of a room for a shower and provided fresh towels for this before we left- we had a late night flight back to uk. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

There was a small supermarket across the road from hotel to cater for all needs. Wifi was free but only available in reception area.

Room Tip: Our room was ground floor and had terrace outside. Other floors have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay at this hotel and have already booked to go back. Great choice of swimming pools and never a problem getting a lounger. Food in the restaurant is excellent, so much selection and wonderful service. Shops nearby to stock up on drinks for the room if you choose half board like us.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Webb390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Before this trip I had not heard of the Rui brand before but after staying here with the friendly staff and stunning location I would look at staying with any Rui hotel in other destinations. Cant recommend this hotel enough.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank RichyB_AX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dendermonde, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

splendid hotel; quiet environment, good food, excellent servive and very friendly staff, we feel at home and love to be in a quiet hotel, nrar the beautiful dunes of playa del inles/maspalomas, nice view in the rooms

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roger_flanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.8 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
1.5 mi away
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
1.3 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Address: Avenida Tirajana s/n | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. Next to the Maspalomas sand dunes. 4-Storey building. Colonial-style architecture. 28,000 M2 of subtropical gardens. 800 M from the beach. 2 Km from the city centre. 500 M from various shops. 30 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Maspalomas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing