We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tried and Trusted”
Review of Sol Barbacan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Barbacan Hotel
Ranked #7 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tried and Trusted”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed B&B in the Sol Barbacan for 3 weeks this September / October, our longest stay anywhere, and our 7th visit, I know as tourist's we should really “boldly go” and explore, but when you find somewhere that ticks all the box's, like the location, the large tiered sunny balconies, the friendly helpful staff, to name but a few, it's hard not to keep coming back.
The entertainment this year in the outside bar was very good, in particular the “Cuban night” you feel like doing the “rumba” and shaking your “maracas” also the” Il Divo” tribute act “Il Trio” doing a mix of classical and contemporary songs, and the “Flamenco show” very professional and energetic, especially the man, his feet were a blur, riddling around the floor, look out “Michael Flatley”, but like most holiday Hotel entertainment when it ends everybody legs it. The bar staff were very attentive especially the barmaid with the short dark hair, she's full of energy and has a great sense of humor.
One of the regular breakfast waitress looked a lot like the actress “Michelle Pfeiffer” “room number, tea, coffee” also one of the waiters had a very close resemblance to the actor “Steven Segal” I was afraid to ask ! just an observation ! The cleaning ladies always have a smile and an “hola” and do a great job, they are a good way of improving your Spanish if your learning.
The Hotel shop is handy for the little things like Newspapers, water, ice pops, a bottle of “Vina sol” wine 4 euro or a 500 ml can of “Heineken” 1 euro, not bad ! Or if you plan to do some “home cookin” then take a short inexpensive Taxi trip up the road to the “Bellavista shopping center” were you'll find the well stocked large supermarket “Hipper Dino” along with a good selection of other shop's.
We'er looking forward to 2014 and our next visit, adios amigos.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterValandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear MisterValandco,

Thank you very much for your nice remark and specially for trusting us every time you come to Gran Canaria. We all look forward to see you again in 2014, specially our "Michelle Pfeiffer” and our "Steven Segal", and who knows, maybe you will find another actor or actress in our hotel.

Kind regards

Pedro Castro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    287
    65
    10
    10
See reviews for
353
315
19
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

2 bed 2 bathroom bungalow
Very spacious , small kitchen , table , settee
Found it to be very quiet which is good.
Fabulous balcony for sunbathing with lovely comfortable sun beds
Air con in the bedrooms , I found the beds comfy to sleep on
Breakfast buffet was ok , bacon etc was not very warm but you had cold meats , cheese , cereals and fresh fruit.
All staff were very friendly and helpful at all times.
Wifi was a pain but does work with patience apart from that small detail was amazing and would recommend the bungalows to anyone.

Room Tip: We had bungalow 37
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank n4dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear n4dave,

Thank you very much for your comment about our bungalow and your description of it, I must say that our bungalows are really nice, and your comment confirm it. I would like to thank you personally your remark about our staff, I am very proud of it, they work very hard to get the satisfaction of our clients.

We hope you visit us soon.

Kind regards

Pedro Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in Sol Barbacan and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay on each occasion. The staff are more than happy to help and the rooms are clean and spacious. The hotel has various different bars as well as a very good restaurant. We were B&B but we also ate in the a la carte restaurant which really was excellent. The cocktail bar is relaxing and we finished off our evening here each day with a coffee and cognac. Perfect. There was also music here when we stayed as well as the sangria night showing us how to make it but also how to drink it! All in all a very pleasant stay and one which we hope to repeat again very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevMacEllon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear KevMacEllon,

Thank you very much for your nice comment about your stay in Barbacan. Regarding to your remarks about our A la Carte Restaurant, we are very proud of it, in fact, we can say that it is one of the best A la Carte Restaurant of the area.

I look forward to see you soon in Barbacan.

Kind regards

Pedro Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 had a wonderful half term week. It started before we even left with the excellent customer service from Guillermo & the team.

We upgraded to a 2-bed bungalow & it was worth it with our 6-y-o and 10-mth old. We needed the space & we got a 2nd bathroom, a patio area & a bonus roof terrace. Love the space.

Food was good every day for half board. Even catered a little for Gluten-free. Well done.

There were plenty of sun loungers & room by the pool. People tended not to put towels down. This all coupled with the Animation team who laid on kids club, and daytime activities (& an evening mini disco) was just enough without being overbearing.

All this deserved a 5-star rating. It's also just a 10-15min walk to the beach & there are a few cafes along the way that have free Wi-Fi. I would recommend the Cappuccino Shop which is just past the Hypo Dino Supermarket. There is also a supermarket on-site to buy water/coke & essentials to keep in your fridge. All bedrooms were air conditioned too.

Any downsides. Yes. But don't let it spoil your holiday. We were lucky to be in bungalow 38, if we were in the poolside ones (no.24) or 1-11 it would have been noisy.

We had a small any infestation on our window.

The beds, as per the other comments, I found a little hard & mine creeped every time I got out (2 singles were pushed together to make a double).

All in all, happy to recommend.
David Marsh

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marshy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear marshy772,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a remark about Barbacan. In relation to your comment about the food, we always try to fulfil with needs or our clients, like gluten-free food, and if we can do it, you can be absolutely sure we will do our best to get it. Thank you too in name of Guillermo for your comment about his job.

We hope you visit us soon again.

Kind regards

Pedro Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

It is everything you want and more! Great value, relaxing, fun, friendly, clean, great food.
We stayed here with friends for 1 week in October 2013. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment on the 5th floor. Wonderful apartment with kitchenette, large bathroom, large lounge area and spacious terrace with table and loungers.
Ideal for the Yumbo centre, for good entertainment, Sparkles bar was great fun...for all!
The hotel bar sold good measures and all bar staff were helpful and very friendly.
Hotel entertainment staff were great, Robby, friendly, excellent at his job, keeping all entertained.
Would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Faro by taxi 5 Euro's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShazandRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear ShazandRod,

I am very happy to know that your stay in Barbacan has been so nice. Thanks for your comment about Robby and his job, I am sure he will appreciate it and will motivate him to work in the same way.

Kind regards

Pedro Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

we stayed from 24/09/13-01/10/2013, we spent ages planning our first trip abroad and had built up so much in our minds, Sol Barbacan was everything we wanted and more, the rooms were beautiful and clean with everything you need, the staff were amazing all so welcoming and friendly and even sometimes with a language barrier to our own fault each member of staff went above and beyond to ensure everything we needed or wanted was catered for, we emailed in advance for recommendations for a restaurant as our anniversary occurred while in gran canaria and not only did we receive a response with several options but on the day a bottle of bubbly was delivered to our apartment courtesy of the hotel, an amazing surprise and generous gesture, from advice and help booking day trips to the service and food we couldn't fault the hotel and all it has to offers, well worth a walk around the grounds after dark all so beautifully lit up, the entertainment staff provide a great service to all throughout the day and you can participate as much or as little as you want, we went for the B&B option breakfast was well catered for everything you could want and more, we had dinner a couple of nights again a wide variety, the excellent service from all the staff really made the trip, they all worked so hard especially the cleaners they never seem to stop and everything is spotless, the reception staff are amazing always a warm welcoming smile and are happy to give advice on day trips, we went to palmitos park one day an amazing experience especially if you like dolphins. I would recommend Sol Barbacan for couples,families,singles or groups all well catered for .

Room Tip: Room 167 is on the ground floor and shaded, perfect for some relaxing time out of the sun, if your l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Stephanie I,

Thank you very much for your commets about our food and cleaning, all staff of Barbacan makes a big effort everyday to get that our clients feel like at home, enjoying our facilites and services, and it is very motivating for us when clients confirm us that our job give the result we look for, the satisfaction of our clients.

We look forward to see you in Barbacan soon.

Kind regards

Pedro Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed here for a week with my sister and niece and had a fantastic time! Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel:
- Stayed in a 2-bed apartment booked via Expedia. Emailed ahead and, although not guaranteed, managed to get a 5th floor apartment. Even though we were in the u-bend (see room tips), our apartment was really spacious so I was very pleased.
Having a separate living room & kitchenette area was really fantastic and was one of the reasons I originally chose this hotel. Balcony is huge with table, chairs & 2 loungers. Shower is powerful which for me is important. Level of cleanliness was v good.
- True that Internet is unstable which, as mentioned by others, is important for today's traveller. But from reading up on other hotels - they all seem to have the same issue. Hopefully this can be resolved somehow soon.
- We went for half board - both breakfast & dinner choices & quality of food was good.
- 2 pools - both good (I preferred the quieter 'adults only' pool by the bungalows). Didn't seem to be any issues with getting sun loungers but not sure whether the week we went wasn't hugely busy.
- We didn't use the 3 bars very much but were happy with service when we did.
- Reception & waiting staff were all very helpful, friendly & attentive without being over bearing.
- Air con fan seemed to work well (was 28/29 deg so we didn't need to use it too much).

Transfers:
I booked this via Sun Transfers who were v reliable - paid approx 54 euros for return by taxi. Not sure if would have been any cheaper just hiring taxi when there.

Location:
- Deliberately chose Playa Del Ingles as when researching day trips this seemed to be a better picking up point eg compared to Maspalomas or Melanoras.
- Beach is approx 20 min walk or approx 3 euros by taxi; Yumbo shopping centre is 5min walk (not the prettiest place but has a Spar and other shops). Other small supermarkets also nearby the hotel & one within the hotel which was convenient.
- Taxis to nearby places eg Maspalomas cheap - 5 euros.
- We did several trips - camel ride (originally did this to see the dunes but much better way of seeing the dunes is by walking through the Riu Palace Hotel - 20 min walk from Sol B. I recommend the camel ride only if you want to experience riding on a camel...). Also did Jeep safari which I loved as got to see really beautiful scenery - take scarf to cover face as last hr is off road & v dusty. Only negative was that they didn't stop at what were the most beautiful places so didn't get to take enough photos - but still loved being able to see all the views. Did a 2-hr dolphin search trip & saw many dolphins! Recommend you go for this rather than the longer boat trips of specifically want to see dolphins. The other boats do not go as far out to sea and mislead by saying they also search for dolphins. Most of our trips were booked via hotel reception who were v helpful (ok to book a day in advance).
Also highly recommend Palmitos Park if you're into zoos - great day trip. Went by bus - buses were only twice an hr so check timetable!
- Playa Del Ingles was a v convenient location for us given the trips we wanted to do & given we wanted to see/be near the sand dunes. Also be near supermarkets, restaurants etc. I would say though that Maspalomas is more 'upmarket' and beautiful - we went here for 2 lunch trips and loved the seafront here. On balance though for hotel location I preferred PDI.
- As with any travelling - be very wary of people trying to sell you things / give you leaflets.

- Would highly recommend staying here! Was one of my most enjoyable hotel stays in all the years of travelling that I've done across different countries:)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lily15243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Lily15243,

We are very happy to know that you and your family had a nice stay with us. Thank you very much for your description about our hotel and rooms.

We hope you come soon again to Barbacan

Kind regards

Pedro Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
0.1 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#14 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Barbacan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Barbacan Hotel

Property: Sol Barbacan Hotel
Address: Avenida Tirajana 27, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Barbacan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments and bungalows. Renovated in 2015, it offers excellent facilities and services. Certified with ISO 14001 and ISO 9001, Sol Barbacan is an ideal destination to spend your holidays, accompanied by your family and friends, with its spacious gardens, is an oasis in Playa del Ingles. 500 m distance from the city center, 2 km from Playa del Ingles beach and golf courses, 6,5 km from Playa de Maspalomas beach, 15 km from the airport, 29 km from Puerto de Mogan, 30 km from Las Palmas, 77 km de Teror and 89 km from the Valle de Agaete valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Barbacan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sol Barbacan
Sol Melia Playa Del Ingles
Sol Barbacan Hotel Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing