We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best!”
Review of Sol Barbacan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Barbacan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Having stayed at Sol Barbacan 8 times so far I can safely say it is one of my favourite places in the world and I hope to come back many more times! This is a well-run complex with the most friendly helpful staff you could hope for and is ideal for families. The apartments we have stayed in are spacious, well-equiped and comfortable. The balconies are sizeable and great for relaxing in the sunshine. The grounds are well-kept and it is a joy to stroll amongst the lovely flowers, palm trees and white-washed bungalows and listen to the birds singing! There are plenty of amenities, including swimming pools, tennis courts etc., and the excellent entertainment team members work tirelessly to keep, children, teenagers and adults amused. The multi-lingual staff on reception are very helpful and any minor problems we have had (a malfunctioning fridge, water not draining properly from the shower etc) have always been dealt with promptly and efficiently. The evening buffet, which continues to improve, offers a fine selection of good food and is excellent value. Over the years we have come to know many of the friendly, hard-working restaurant staff and they always add to the pleasure of our dining experience. All told, this is a gem of holiday residence and the only thing I dislike is leaving!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Noel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Noel,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoy your stay with us every time you visit Barbacan. We are indeed proud of our facilities and services. I will make sure to pass your review to the staff. I hope to see you, your wife and mom very soon in Barbacan again.
Kind Regards,
Pedro Castro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

I have stayed in Sol Barbacan about 6 times. I have always been very satisfied. Good size rooms, separate bedroom. Huge balcony/terrace. Good kitchen accessories. Stylish bathroom with separate toilet. Good water pressure and always hot water available. Good bed and bed linen. Nice pool and garden. Sumptuous breakfast. No noise from next door rooms. The hotel is almost next to Yumbo center. Many restaurants nearby.

Hotel is in Playa del Ingles centre. Traffic noise from Av. de Tirajana can be sometimes disturbing, although the bedrooms are usually facing to the garden. The hotel has the "sunny" side rooms facing to the sun and Maspalomas and the "shadow" side rooms facing to the mountains. In practice it is almost impossible to get a room from the sunny side.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fintraveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you very much for your comment about our food and cleaning, all staff of Barbacan makes a big effort every day to get that our clients feel like at home, enjoying our facilities and services, and it is very motivating for us when clients confirm us that our job give the result we look for, the satisfaction of our clients. I hope to see you soon in Barbacan.
Kind regards,
Pedro Castro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We have stayed here for Christmas and New Year for the past 10+ years and love the location and size of apartment and terrace - provided it is not in the lower part or in the U part of the building.

Even when booking over a year in advance and being a "gold member" with group one is not guaranteed a "room with a view" on the sunny side. This has been commented on before and management states that due to high demand it is on a "first come first served" basis!

However, have always been given priority and never waited more than a day or 2 to get high up on "the sunny side":)

- Friendly staff who has been here for years and knows the area well!

One issue is the faulty wifi - it never works - or when it does in between - it is so slow it really is no point in using it. This has been issued before - and at least it is now free - but I would rather pay and have it work properly. Staff tells us that there are issues with wifi on all hotels on the island at present - but very accessible just across the road and no issues anywhere else that we checked with - so perhaps time to replace vendor?

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Scott51N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you very much for your comment. Our work is aimed every day to be the best apartment/hotel for our client, which is our most important goal.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay during Christmas and New Year’s.
We would like to inform you that we are testing different kinds of wifi systems to improve this service. We hope to see you again next Christmas or even sooner!
Kind regards,
Pedro Castro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We have stayed at the Sol Barbican several times over the last 15 years. The staff are very friendly and always do their best. It is still a good hotel, but some faults.
1. Cleaning of the rooms is not as good, compared to before. Take a wet cloth over the tiled floors inside/outside and see how dirty they are.
2. Some days you get toiletries and some days not.
3. Even if you book a room 1 year in advance, they cannot guarantee which room you will get until the day of arrival.
3. Do not stay at this hotel if you require WIFI access. It is free now, very slow and hardly ever works!!! The hotel will inform you that all hotels in Playa have issues with their WIFI, which is not true. We checked the WIFI at other hotels and Internet cafes in Playa without any issues.
To the management of this hotel, please get the WIFI fixed or we will not be back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room high up on the sunny side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BestHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to read that you experienced your last stay at our hotel not same compared to before. We will investigate what could have happen with the cleaning of your room, as the cleaning is very important for us. We would like to inform you that we are testing several new wifi systems to improve this service.
For us, the experience of every single guest in our hotel is very important and all our efforts are aimed to your satisfaction. Thank you again for your feedback and we sincerely hope to welcome you again in Sol Barbacan.
Kind regards,
Pedro Castro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Having stayed here many times we know how good this hotel and apartments are. We were upset on our last visit to Playa as It was fully booked. This time we were upgraded to a bungalow, which we were not really happy about knowing how good the hotel is.....what a fantastic surprise . The two bedroom bungalows are huge with a patio and a roof terrace that is totally private. It even has its own drying room! We have been totally spoiled and know that any where else we stay could not compare. Faultless stay with the usual impressive service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Hello ptpete,
First off all we would like to thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our bungalow and our services. We are very proud of our bungalow and apartments. We hope to have you as our guest again someday soon!
Kind regards,
Pedro Castro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Another lovely week spent here. Apartments are spacious and have everything to make your holiday enjoyable. Now have free wifi. Free welcome bottle wine and fruit a very nice touch. Cant complain about anything. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricardfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Hello Ricardfred,
Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to hear that you had another lovely week in Sol Barbacan. We hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Pedro Castro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Spent a week at this hotel with my wife, end of Nov13. Cant fault hotel and our room 373.with some minor faults which I will list later.
Room we had was a 1 bedroom, consisting of a large living room with TV. Separate well stocked kitchen. with 1 fault.
Large bedroom
Good bathroom with power shower over bath, plus separated WC.
Faults with this room. This room on the part of the building did not get any sun all day.WI FI was very slow even though reception gave a map showing what antenna was dedicated to your room.
Kitchen had only 1 power point. you had to keep swapping kettle for toaster, or plug the kettle in bathroom shaver socket.
But these were only minor faults.

Room Tip: Get any room number below 155,255, 355 etc to get daytime sun on balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malagabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear malagabob,

Thank you very much for taking your time to express you opinion about your stay in Barbacan. Your remarks are always useful for us, as they will help us to improve our services and facilities, we will take them into account to offer you another nice stay in our hotel.

We hope you visit us soon again.

Kind regards

Pedro Castro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,623 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,695 reviews
0.1 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#25 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,874 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Barbacan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Barbacan Hotel

Address: Avenida Tirajana 27, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £72 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Barbacan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments and bungalows. Renovated in 2015, it offers excellent facilities and services. Certified with ISO 14001 and ISO 9001, Sol Barbacan is an ideal destination to spend your holidays, accompanied by your family and friends, with its spacious gardens, is an oasis in Playa del Ingles. 500 m distance from the city center, 2 km from Playa del Ingles beach and golf courses, 6,5 km from Playa de Maspalomas beach, 15 km from the airport, 29 km from Puerto de Mogan, 30 km from Las Palmas, 77 km de Teror and 89 km from the Valle de Agaete valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , Melia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sol Barbacan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sol Barbacan
Sol Melia Playa Del Ingles
Sol Barbacan Hotel Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing