We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bungalows, No Wi Fi”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Barbacan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Barbacan Hotel
Ranked #6 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great bungalows, No Wi Fi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks in July, if travelling with teenagers the 2 bed/ 2 bath bungalows are excellent, the down side is the appalling wi fi, another issue would be the reservation of the sun beds, the hotels states its not allowed but do not enforce this, we did see beds with towels on them remain un-used all day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool (sunny side)
See more room tips
Green Features: Great to see recycling bins in the bungalow, thumbs up for that
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
First of all, I would like to thank you for rating us on tripadvisor and I am happy that you experienced our 2 bed/ 2 bath bungalows as excellent. We have installed fiber optics cables to improve the speed and connection. We are also testing various wireless systems to find the one that suits the needs of customers and the hotel. Although we try to have it as soon as possible, it is taking us time because we want to find a definitive solution to ensure the highest quality service possible. About the sunbeds: we start removing towels when there are no free sunbeds left. I hope you will visit us again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Pedro Castro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    285
    64
    10
    10
See reviews for
342
308
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We just returned from a great week here. This hotel is a real gem - from the warm welcome we received (despite arriving a day late and after midnight) we knew we were in for a great stay. We had one of the bungalows which was perfect for a couple but could be ok for a family of 3 or 4 at a push. The bedroom and living space were nicely outfitted, the bathroom spacious and very nice, and everything you need in the kitchen for basic cooking including large fridge which is great for keeping the bottled water you need in Gran Canaria. This hotel is very well kept, everything is clean and in excellent repair, both in the rooms and the common areas.

There is plenty to do for adults and children alike, whether you choose to join in with the animation programme or do your own thing, the hotel staff were also incredibly helpful in booking trips for us. Reception holds details of a wide range of trips, all seemed to us very well-priced for what you get and most included transport too. We went on a camel trek, dolphin-watching boat trip, and to the Crocodile Park. The reception staff will do all the booking for you and make sure you know where you need to be and when. We were blown away by how helpful and pleasant every member of staff was throughout our stay.

The food here is also excellent - we booked B&B but also ate a couple of dinners at the hotel and we loved the variety and quality of everything we ate. Drinks are also very reasonably priced.

Frankly what else can I say but that we loved this place and would recommend without hesitation, so book and enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Libby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
First of all I would like to thank you for your fantastic rating! It is good to have feedback from our clients because the satisfaction of our guest is our main priority. I am glad to read that the bungalow with the big living room and bathroom, the well-kept common areas, the animation, the reception and our staff in general were satisfying. It is also good to hear that your experienced our restaurant as excellent. I really hope to have you as our guest again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Pedro Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Wouldn't visit again!

Visited as a group of 5 girl friends for 5 nights in July. Check in was easy and efficient. We were given rooms with joining doors which were nice. Rooms were very basic. Shower ridiculously small. Little balcony was nice.

Other than the average room there's not too much more to add. The hotel seems to lack any kind of atmosphere. There animation team don't seem fully engaged and other than the occasional game of water polo or Aqua Gym there wasn't very much happening.

Breakfast was possibly one of the worst breakfasts I've had abroad. Not a great deal of choice and I ended up just having a croissant every morning. Very repetitive.


Hotel location isn't fantastic either. Near a few restaurants but most seemed to be closed until august for some reason? Head to the beach for some decent restaurants. Beach is about a 30 minute walk.


Transfers from airport took about 1hr 15.

Booked an excursion camel trip approx €35 each. Nice day out. Hour camel ride and a BBQ.

Limited sunbeds and some days there weren't enough for all the guests. Pool cold.


This is the first negative review I have written. Hotel was average but I would most definitely not visit again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Cammy_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadviser. I am glad that the joining rooms and het balcony were satisfying. Our daily animation program consists activities for adults, teenagers, maxi and mini club during the day and evening. Our breakfast buffet contains various sandwich fillings, daily fresh bread, fruits, sweets, English breakfast, pancakes, various hot items, various products without sugar or without gluten, yoghurts, café and tea, juices and more. We are located in the touristic center of Playa del Ingles, 15 minutes’ walk distance from the beach.
Kind Regards,
Pedro Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We picked this hotel, as it seemed good value for money, and got good reviews on TA.
I stand by this as being accurate!
Rooms; good size, clean, comfy beds, good aircon, large balconies, good self catering facilities (although no oven)
Pools; very clean, sunbeds comfy, larger pool is saltwater though.
Location; not most scenic of areas, but handy for yumbo centre and local restaurants. Beach is 15min walk

All in all fab hotel, we would stay again. Surprised by how nice self catering rooms can be!

Few niggles; pool doesn't open til 9am. Ridiculous if u want an early swim, or if you have lively young kids wanting to be in it asap each day. Management claim this is down to cleaning of pool although every other hotel ive stayed in manages to get their pools cleaned long before 9am! (You can't even use the sunbeds by the pool til 9am either! And I don't mean "reserve" I mean actually even use them!

Wifi; hotel claims it offers Wifi but it is rubbish. Slow and we needed new usernames and passwords nearly every day. Reception staff were rude when we had to keep asking. Management claim they are installing new system, although from reviews on TA, they have been claiming this for some time.

We did really enjoy our stay here, and the niggles are simply just that, but they could be easily resolved.

Would recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crasher_lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
I would like to thank you for leaving a review about Sol Barbacan on Tripadviser. I am happy to read that our rooms, cleaning, comfy beds, good AC, large balconies and the self-catering facilities were satisfying. The reason that our swimming pool opens at 09:00h is because of the cleaning system. During the night the system is cleaning the pool until 09:00h. Regarding to the wifi: We have installed fiber optics cables to improve the speed and connection. We are also testing various wireless systems to find the one that suits the needs of customers and the hotel. Although we try to have it as soon as possible, it is taking us time because we want to find a definitive solution to ensure the highest quality service possible. I hope you will visit us again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Pedro Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Our room was spacious and extremely clean. The cleaners were in everyday and the staff were really friendly. The food was more expensive than other places nearby but it was of a high standard so it was worth the extra few euro. The beach/clubs are around 10/15 min walk but taxis are really cheap so it's not really an issue. Would recommend it to my friends.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura89C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Laura,
I would like to thank you for your excellent rating! I am pleased to read that our staff, the cleaning and the quality of our restaurant where satisfying . I hope to see you back in Sol Barbacan with your friends.
Kind Regards,
Pedro Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed there for 10 days, 23rd June -04 July.
The hotel was very clean, check in was easy and the staff at the hotel very helpful.
We went self catering, but rarely used the room for cooking etc, eating out was very reasonable and the hotel food was of very good standard.
Our room was spacious, and cleaned daily.
Pool was of a good size and sun beds readily available.
The bar staff were always friendly especially Oscar !!!!!!!!
Our transfer on departure was not till 4.30 Pm we were able to keep our room until 2pm. Our cases were put away safely and the hotel offered showering facilities if required.
Overall and excellent hotel and one that I would definitely recommend and will use again.
Thank you to all the staff at the Sol Barbacan

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 66spikeiom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
I would like to thank you for writing a review about your stay in Sol Barbacan. Thank you for mentioning the clean hotel, the restaurant and the pool. We always try to leave the room longer for our clients who have the flight back later in the day, if occupancy permits. We have also, as you said, shower facilities for our clients after the check out. I hope we see you again someday soon in Sol Barbacan.
Kind Regards,
Pedro Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Kerry, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Firstly, I could not fault anything . The apartments were spacious and clean. The cleaning staff came every day and couldn't do enough. All towels were changed if needed and pool towels provided and changed every day. Choice for food was excellent. Animation team very friendly and helpful. Reception staff v helpful Also. Lounge bar and restaurants had beautiful setting and seating v comfortable. Great holiday and would go again. Thanks Mandy McKenzieVass

Room Tip: We were in apartment 367, great as we had the sun on balcony till 8pm. Also chairs and sun loungers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Mandy McKenzieVass,
Firstly, I would like to thank you for your excellent rating and that you could not fault anything! I am very pleased that the apartments, the cleaning staff, the towel service, the restaurant, the animation and the reception staff were satisfying. I hope to welcome you again soon in Sol Barbacan.
Kind Regards,
Pedro Castro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#10 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
0.1 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#13 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Barbacan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Barbacan Hotel

Property: Sol Barbacan Hotel
Address: Avenida de Tirajana 27, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Barbacan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments and bungalows. Renovated in 2015, it offers excellent facilities and services. Certified with ISO 14001 and ISO 9001, Sol Barbacan is an ideal destination to spend your holidays, accompanied by your family and friends, with its spacious gardens, is an oasis in Playa del Ingles. 500 m distance from the city center, 2 km from Playa del Ingles beach and golf courses, 6,5 km from Playa de Maspalomas beach, 15 km from the airport, 29 km from Puerto de Mogan, 30 km from Las Palmas, 77 km de Teror and 89 km from the Valle de Agaete valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Melia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Barbacan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sol Barbacan
Sol Melia Playa Del Ingles
Sol Barbacan Hotel Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing