We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not a four star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Margaritas
Ranked #18 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Returned from a week at this hotel, first impressions - not a four star, if you dont expect a four start you wont be let down.
Room ok, nice big balcony, down side - no sun during the day, cleaned daily, towels changed daily, tip - take your own smellies. Nice big bathroom, lovely shower.
Buses to beach regular, we liked Mas Palomas beach best and the bars there with music on in the evening and day time, Irish Bar was good music.
Pool looked ok but not warm enough for me.
Food quite good
Drinks ok, didnt get drunk once
Best night out at Sparkles at the Yumbo Centre, watch out for the clown, gets a bit boring after you have seen him once, the acrobats were good (buskers)
Weather brilliant! rained once for 2 hours.
Best fun - fish spa, couldnt stop laughing
staff very friendly, hotel spotlessly clean , problem with the door key, got the hang of it on the last day, problem with the bed, so noisy every time I moved it awoke my partner, they kindly changed the bed. Came back with a bad back the beds are so hard.
Overall, good holiday, but would not return to this hotel, not near enough to the beach for us.
Entertainment ok for kids, too late for us 10:15 pm.

Room Tip: ask to be higher up, hopefully will get some sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coupleguildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,366 - 2,372 of 5,224 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

We recently spent a week at the Barcelo Margaritas. The room itself was sufficient - clean and tidy, although we were told we would have a pool view room and were placed overlooking a car park. The entertainment both during the day and at night was repetitive to say the least and we found the majority of the entertainment crew rather annoying and unnecessarily loud and screechy. The food in the restaurant and the bars was the same every day and didn't really have enough choice, nor did it change daily. We were rather entertained by the 'chinese' themed night in the restaurant which consisted of the same food we were served every other day with the addition of spare ribs and prawn crackers. Also the staff in the restaurant weren't very swift at resetting tables during breakfast and dinner and we found ourselves sat for quite some time at most meals before receiving a glass or cutlery. On a last warning... do not try the cocktails that are included in the all inclusive... worst cocktails I have ever come across in my life! The self service bar was a good touch though and we definitely got our money's worth there!

Room Tip: Make sure you request a full pool view room on arrival and not one over looking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

it was brill seven of us went the food was brill the rooms kept clean the people in hotel was nice met alot of nice people the self bar was brill and coffee machine we will go back again the afternoon entertainment was brill but we wasent keen on the night we stayed because we had a eleven year old with us but we will def go back

Room Tip: we were on the bottom floor u could hear the entertainment but that ends at eleven
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rawky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed at Hotel Barcelo Margaritas, all inclusive in the beginning of October for a week as a couple on our first holiday together. The hotel was immaculate, the cleaners came into our room every single day and tidied up (we hardly made any mess yet they still came in and dusted around and made the bed!). The room was a little dated, although a different style of bedding would have easily sorted that! We were located in the first building, all the staff were extremely polite, every time that we walked past one of them, they said 'hola' or made an effort to speak English.
It was my birthday on the second day of our holiday and a member of staff knocked on my door with a big 'happy birthday!', a big bottle of champagne, chocolates and a birthday card. It definitely made the hotel experience a little bit special and nobody had even notified them it was my birthday so the fact that it was totally unexpected was lovely- very thoughtful.
The food was outstanding, I have never seen so much food before! Everything cooked properly and some even cooked in front of you. Different kinds of food supporting different continents every day and there was always something new to try. Sometimes it was a struggle to get a table, especially at night- it was difficult to understand why they closed half of the restaurant off with 'reserved' notices, yet nobody ever sat on them. Criticism aside, the restaurant staff were always so eager to help- if something was missing from your table they'd recognise it before you could even ask!
There was plenty of entertainment throughout the day, for example yoga, water aerobics, volleyball, ping pong, free bingo! and poolside fashion shows!!! The animation team were a little rude if you didn't want to join in and looked unhappy alot of the time when they weren't performing- but when they were on stage they were very energetic and great with children! The entertainment at night was a little repetitive- especially the childrens entertainment, however the children absolutely loved it and the same children were up on that stage every night having so much fun. Something I really liked about the hotel was the animation teams theme song and dance, whenever you heard it it made you dance- everybody knew it and it made you feel welcome.
This hotel was in a fabulous location, it could not be any better! 2 minute walk to supermarkets, a free shuttle bus to the beach! and in the centre of Gran Canaria with nightlife, restaurants and bars etc!
This hotel is a 4* but 100% deserves to be a 5*. I did not want to leave, I would recommend it to families AND couples and I would definitely go back without a doubt. It was Incredible.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GemmaH90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We have just returned from a weeks all inclusive stay (24th - 31st October) at the Barcelo Las Margaritas. Plenty plus points with this hotel. These include -
* Excellent food with a good variety at all meal times.
* Self service bar area for soft drinks, alcoholic drinks, slushes, a coffee machine and a variety of cakes, ice creams, burgers, hot dogs, fries, e.t.c.
All alcoholic drinks are good quality too!
* Two pools but they are quite a way from each other. The first one was used mostly by families as there were activities going on and the second one was quieter used mostly by adults.
* Nice big room but are quite outdated.
* Good entertainment staff and activities. We always made it for the free bingo at 4pm and enjoyed a couple of baileys whilst playing!!!! Miki very funny and cheeky too!!!
* The hotel is nice and clean.
* Good times for all meals and the dining room is nice and spacious.

Negative points are:
* The beds are very hard and uncomfortable.
* Minority of staff not always helpful and quite rude at times (mostly reception staff).
* The hotel is miles away from the beach but there is a shuttle bus that's free.
* Poor Thomas Cook rep that you never saw.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
If you stay at this hotel make sure you go on the free "blanket" trip. We had such a laugh and had tapas in a cave and saw a house in a cave too. We also visited a nearby village and it was all free apart from six euros for the tapas meal and red wine that was plentiful and lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anonymousBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Got back last week after a super week at the Barcelo Margaritas. Everywhere is so clean , food excellent with lots of choice and staff were always really polite and helpful. Would recommend seeking out the pool away from the main hotel, by the second building, if you're not keen on the daytime activity programmes, sunbeds are nicer here too and could even get a poolside 4 poster bed! Free bus service to beaches is good, pick up outside the hotel, runs several times a day. Evening entertainment fairly run of the mill though have to say the team work really hard - not sure where they find their energy. One slight criticism is day of check out, we had late evening pick up and were unable to have a late checkout as hotel fully booked, there is a luggage room (free) and they offer use of a shower room but charge 3 euros per person for 10 minutes use. All inclusive meant to finish at midday on day of departure - rep told us to check out earlier than this so they couldn't take bands off us, so we had benefit of all inc, for whole of last day. Don't usually go back somewhere a 2nd time but would definitely consider going back here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

just got back after a week at this hotel it was our best holiday so far we had a good laugh met some really nice people and had lots to do during the day always somthing going on activities mikey hes a scream food was great we never left a meal plenty to drink all self service was sad to leave :+( will certainly go back again well done barcelo hotels a big thumbs up xx lynne and dave from blackpool

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.2 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,677 reviews
2.4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,877 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,612 reviews
28.3 mi away
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
NH Las Palmas Playa las Canteras
#5 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#25 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Margaritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Margaritas

Address: Avenida Gran Canaria 38-40, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Las Margaritas)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £96 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Margaritas 4*
Number of rooms: 490
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Occidental Margaritas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Barcelo Playa Del Ingles
Barcelo Hotel Las Margaritas
Barcelo Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing