We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Margaritas
Ranked #19 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just got back from a week at las margaritas in playa del ingles. Travelled with my husband and 9yr old daughter. First time in gran canaria and was impressed with the hotel. Very clean and all areas well kept. Food was very nice and the staff work hard to clear the tables there was only one morning when we had to wait more than ten minutes to have the table cleared. We found going down no later than 9 was fine. Weather wasn't the best but even when overcast it was very warm. We spent every day at the pool near the suites which got the sun all the day. The bars do snacks during the day toasties, burgers, hot dogs. Like the idea of self service for beer and spirits no queues at bars worked well. Always sun beds available. Enjoyed the hours free tennis every day. Massive room on 6th floor big balcony loads of wardrobe space. All in all very impressed would recommend this hotel. If the weather had of been better would have been perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shazwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,417 - 2,423 of 5,436 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stay here twice per year and have done so for the past five years for, 2/52 each time.
I find the staff highly professional and terribly polite. They have a real "can do" attitude, which obviously explains why I choose to return each March + November.
I do tend to prefer the suites over the hotel as the rooms are much bigger.
Some of the critics making snippy comments about the older grey haired man at the poolside bar perhaps should reflect on their own behaviour and ask - what themselves what way they are coming across to others!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jacob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

got there late so the reception guy sent us to eat first,
helpfull,friendly,efficient staff.
clean room comfy bed.warm enough and always fresh towels
plenty of lovley food.
no problems with anything in this hotel
the reviews before we went were pretty rough so im glad i ignored the complainers

Room Tip: we had floor4 pool view lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ozzyGomersal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Just spent two weeks at this hotel great reception brilliant friendly staff room clean and comfortable food lots of variety great stay

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeanLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We have jsut come back from a week in the Hotel and have to say how pleased we were with it. The rooms are clean and comfortable with good sized balcony. The food at all meals was very good with ample choice for all, including for the true British who just want chips! The service in the dining room was very good indeed and we never had to fight for either a table or for food. All waiting staff should be praised for how good they are.
The Bar area is pleasant for an after meal drink with ample seating.
There are two pools. One with music all day and the animation team and the one near the apartment block which is larger and is very quiet all day. Both pools have a bar which again is clean with good service if required.
I'm afraid to say that it was the British who were guilty of putting out their towels to book sunbeds and I actaully saw one person putting out their towels at 7.30 in the morning. How sad!! Ther are ample sunbeds aroubng the pools and the policy of not being allowed to book sunbeds is not followed by the pool staff. Maybe it should be in the future.
Overall this Hotel is exactly what you would expect from the Barcello Group - very well run, good food and service in all areas, and very friendly staff. Well done to you all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tommolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We arrived on 19th March 2012 to 26th March 2012. Warm reception by friendly staff with efficient check in. Room was clean & comfortable with only down side being the restricted view by a few Palm trees......but you cant have it all!! Great variety of food........dont think anyone could complain!! Good holiday,we would highly recommend Barcelo Las Margaritas.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view can be noisey due to entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WRS520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

we stayed 15-3-2012 to 22-3-2012.hotel clean room fine.we had room on top floor because some lower floor rooms have restricted views of pool due to palm trees.great variety of food which was very good,no one could go away hungary.self serve drinks including spirits available in both pool bars.staff efficient professional.animation team enthusiastic shows not great but ok.if like us you like awalk out after dinner the yumbo centre is 10 minute walk.we felt very safe there would recomend eiffel bar brillint cocktails.although hotel main pool can be noisy with entertainment in day there is a quieter pool the other side of apartments 5 minute walk.dont know why people complain about this hotel we had great time.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank g a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
2.4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,934 reviews
0.2 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,729 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
0.1 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#24 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,925 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Margaritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Margaritas

Address: Avenida Gran Canaria 38-40 | 38-40, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Las Margaritas)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#15 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £84 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Margaritas 4*
Number of rooms: 490
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island paradise with a tropical climate all year round The Occidental Margaritas Hotel is located at Playa del Inglés, one of the most popular tourist resorts in the south of the island of Gran Canaria. Its 489 modern guest rooms and spacious apartments have been designed to guarantee holidays you will always look back on with pleasure. The hotel is outstanding in terms of the variety of facilities and services it offers: 2 swimming pools, a daytime and evening entertainment programme, a tennis court and gym, not to mention the innovative, comprehensive Holiday Box high performance functional training with a personal trainer in the open air. On the All Inclusive and Premium All Inclusive options, guests can enjoy exclusive facilities and privileges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Occidental Margaritas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Barcelo Playa Del Ingles
Barcelo Hotel Las Margaritas
Barcelo Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing