We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't bother”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Margaritas
Ranked #21 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Don't bother with this hotel unless you enjoy cold food ,poor choice of food, poorly labelled food, over cooked and dried up food
Also don't bother unless you want drinks in plastic cups, low quality entertainment and everything shut at 11pm including balcony lights turned off centrally
However lovely grounds comfortable rooms nice pools and good quality sunbedw

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Xxx Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,587
    1,521
    723
    249
    155
See reviews for
1,430
1,747
184
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Myself and my 12 yr old son stayed at this hotel for one week during the Easter Holidays. When we arrived we spoke to several guest who have been coming back to this hotel for years. Within a couple of hours at the hotel we could see why. The hotel is fabulous, the food is amazing, the entertainment was fantastic and the staff could not do enough for you. As a woman travelling alone with my son this Hotel has a lovely safe environment. And yes, I am going to be one of those guest who will be coming back year after year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
5 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I came to the hotel on 21.4.14 and I played for all inclusive for me and my partner wish I never did poor service and under cooked food I was I'll throughout the whole trip in the end I had to pay for food outside hotel due to uncooked food and dirty dishes .
Hotel balcony door had no lock on which we was placed on the eighth floor which I did tell them I sleep walk but they said they can't do much about that and in the evening I was charged for a bottle of water which was unfair as I played for all inclusive never again.

Quality of the hotel should be 3 star not 4 star due to hotel needs a revamp !!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bradley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This review is NOT intended to be negative. On the whole this hotel is a great place to stay, but there are definitely some areas for improvement. I've categorised my review by what's important to me and I have fed back my thoughts to the hotel management team;

LOCATION: Very good indeed. Centrally located with good access to shops, bars and restaurants. A mere 20 minute walk (or 5 minutes in a taxi) to Playa del Ingles Beach, and a 10 minute taxi ride to Maspalomas beach; although a free bus-shuttle is provided to both beaches daily. Top tip: if you need to shop for day to day items (bread, water, milk, groceries, etc.) go the Euromar Supermarket (out of the hotel, turn left and cross the road). The prices are much much cheaper that the Spar shops and the owners there are really friendly and helpful.

ROOM: Clean, tastefully decorated, well laid out. Good bathroom with a lovely powerful shower. The rooms are cleaned daily, and you can have as many clean towels as you need if you request them. There's a (very) small fridge, sufficient to hold a couple of 1.5 litre bottles of water and a few small cans of drink. The only downside to the room was that there was NO crockery or cutlery. So if you fancy a cup of tea in the morning, or a glass of something in the afternoon / evening, you'll need to provide your own (either that or use plastic disposable cups, of the type you get in water coolers, from the bar or reception).

FOOD: Simply AWFUL. The selections and variety were poor, contrary to what other reviewers say, although I guess it's a subjective matter and expectations differ in people. If all you want to do is refuel and eat, then it's OK. The food was cooked, but never hot (they even have a microwave in the restaurant so that you can heat your food through), it was bland, unimaginative and very "samey" with the same old selections appearing day after day under different guises. I have to say though that the fresh fish was good. The restaurant itself has a maximum cover of up to 580 people, so you can imagine the size of the place, and it's constantly busy, so quite like eating in a cattle-market (or a railway station as some other reviewers have described it). The waiting staff struggle to keep up with cleaning and laying new covers and tables as the constant flow of guests pushes through. They also struggle to replenish and replace some food items as and when they run out.

I don't really understand how Barcelo Margaritas can get the food SO SO wrong. I've stayed in other Barcelo hotels in other parts of the world on all-inclusive / half-board basis and the food has been amazing, and probably the best aspect of the stay. Not here though. Quite the opposite.

STAFF: On the whole very friendly and helpful. Although one or two could possibly do with some customer-service training and lessons in how to smile and greet guests.

WIFI: Seriously .................. DON'T BOTHER. If you're a saddo, like me, who feels the need to be connected to the rest of the world regularly, then you'll end up disappointed. You will need to pay for WiFi access. There are various tarriffs (hourly / daily / weekly), we paid €50.00 (roughly £40.00) for a week (that's for 2 devices, as you have to buy separate access for separate devices) and it was terrible. Don't get me wrong, I understand that it's an all-inclusive hotel and that they have to make some money somewhere, and I don't have a problem with paying for something I want, as long as I get what I'm paying for. The download speeds were variable, but generally VERY VERY slow, sometimes non-existent. When I complained about this all I was met with was a shoulder shrug an an explanation that "probably too many guests are using at the same time." I don't really care how many people are using it ..................... I've PAID for it, and I expect it to work.

FACILITIES: Good. There are 2 good sized pools, which are clean and well attended by a lifeguard between 10:00 and 18:00, plenty of sunbeds on the sun decks, again which are clean and well attended by staff. There's a gym, shop, bars, snacks etc.

ENTERTAINMENT: We don't normally bother with in-hotel entertainment, with good reason. But you seriously can NOT get away from it in this place, it's so loud. And it's the SAME bloody trash every night. Agga Doo, Hokey Cokey, I am the Music Man, to name but 3. Do people still listen to this rubbish post 1990? Clearly they do. Personally, if I'd purposefully gone to watch the entertainment, I'd have felt quite embarrassed and insulted to think that people assume that this absolute drivel would be "entertaining" to me.

SUMMARY: Barcelo needs to do better here. It's a great hotel in a great location. Get the food right, ditch the dated and embarrassing entertainment, improve the WiFi, give one or two of the staff (and they really are in the minority) a kick up the backside and some "smiling lessons" and you've got it nailed.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool get VERY hot in the late afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveyLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Cant praise this hotel enough, from when we first arrived to leaving everything was perfect. The food was excellent with a huge variety catering for all tastes, drinks were all inclusive which you can ask the bar staff to prepare or help yourself (only till 11pm). Animation team were always smiling considering the long hours they worked. We were in a big group for a 60th birthday (40+) and had informed the management prior to our arrival who then made the every effort to make sure the stay was memorable, they had also prepared a birthday cake (for a small fee) for the birthday girl. A lovely hotel not far from beaches and bars (10 mins walk), the grounds were well kept, clean pools and dining/snack areas. The modern rooms were kept spotless by maids every day, didnt need the TV but if you did channels 52 and up are for english speaking (sky news, kids channels and music channels). Must also thank the manager and his staff for the great time we all had, try it..........you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: 8th floor may sound high when your given it but the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PipDai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I was amazed at the facilities and services offered by the hotel. The variety of food and drinks for all inclusive was freshly prepared and served.
I loved the complimentry ride to the beaches everyday either to playa del ingles or maspalomas.
The room was modern furnished with room cleaned every day.
The entertainment was mainly for families which was good for fun. Also for life on the lively side there were bar near by for night life.
I would highly recommend this hotel for quality service and fun times for those not looking for a wild party night life but for relaxing holiday.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed at this great hotel for a week with my big family and friends (42) nothing too much trouble for any of the staff or management team All ages from 6 to late 60's enjoyed every minute! Food good, Drink good,snacks by the 2 pools good, top pool bigger and quieter. Don,t be shy to join in with the animation team they are great people who work hard and have a laugh.A polite no is all they need if you just want to relax.Room and shower lovely and clean ,tv with a lot of Spanish ,hey we are on a Spanish speaking island,use the remote and change to English if you need tv!DO NOT be put off by any negative reviews this hotel does not deserve them,enjoy yourself!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the small pool from floor 6 up have late sun if you enjoy a pre dinner drink on the val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L_J_SouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.2 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
2.4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Barbacan Hotel
Sol Barbacan Hotel
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#12 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Margaritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Margaritas

Property: Occidental Margaritas
Address: Avenida Gran Canaria 38-40, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Las Margaritas)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#26 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Margaritas 4*
Number of rooms: 490
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Barcelo, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Margaritas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Las Margaritas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Barcelo Playa Del Ingles
Barcelo Hotel Las Margaritas
Barcelo Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing