We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2* hotel 5* staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Servatur Barbados Apartments
Ranked #89 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two weeks and really enjoyed it. Rooms basic but clean , no air con in room which is my only fault. The location is great and lots of restaurants and shops nearby. The best thing about the hotel is the staff, all so friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank LiverpoolJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilarderada, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Servatur Barbados Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear LiverpoolJ,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback about your stay in Servatur Barbados Apartments. We are glad to know you had a great time. Also thank you for your comments regarding our staff. All they work very hard to try to satisfy our guests' requests.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here a few times now, mainly because its handy, spacious apartments and 2 bedroomed. As usual the apartments are cleaned to a high standard and their are a choice of 2 pools (noisy one and quiet one). On this occasion the manager welcomed me with a bottle of red wine to say thank you for choosing them again and we were given an end apartment which has a huge balcony and great views over maspalomas.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilarderada, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Servatur Barbados Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Michael L,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Servatur Barbados Apartments for your recent holidays and also for sharing your opinion with other travelers.

We appreciate so much the loyalty of our guests.

We hope to welcome you soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just wonderful the staff were just amazing very helpful with every thing I cud not of asked for any thing else. The rooms were clean sheets were always done not Sunday or Thursday we were there for ten days . The pool was lovely . There are some bit might need a bit of painting other wise it was great xx

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank malc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilarderada, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Servatur Barbados Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear malc4,

We are glad to read you had a great experience at Servatur Barbados Apartments! Thank you for chosing us for your vacation.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Once again a warm welcome from the Reception staff...a lovely bottle of wine awaited us in the apartment...requested a corner room as they have larger balcony's...can't wait for my next visit in November

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Les T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilarderada, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Servatur Barbados Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Les T,

We would like to thank you for having chosen Servatur Barbados Apartments for your holidays.

Thank you very much for your loyalty and confidence in us.

We will see you in November!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After some poor reviews I had worries, but all concerns evaporated. Lovely apartment, roomy, clean, and we asked for quiet and were put in room 232 - very quiet. No sun on that balcony but did not mind that. No air conditioning which was a matter I was very worried about, but as no sun on this side of the block it remained mostly cool and pleasant.

Wifi is expensive at 24 Euros for a week, for EACH device. So that was 48 Euros between us. My tablet worked fine, but my friend's laptop was intermittent. In the end he logged onto the neighbouring Las Camelias and paid another 20 Euros for that (he likes his internet access on holiday!).

The maids were friendly and we chatted to them a little. They came just after 11am each day except Thursday and Sunday.

The apartment had its own toaster, kettle, microwave and TV. TV not much cop, but not bothered about that. Good crockery and cuttlery selection.

Beds were medium hard - just right for me. Plenty of storage space and hangers.

Pool area around Barbados 2 pool was quiet and relaxing. There was a bar playing music by the pool, but it was not too loud. I did not go to the Barbados 1 pool area.

Of course the resort is very popular with gay people especially gay men. I was there during Gay Pride week, and it was very very gay all over - especially at hotel and apartments, like the Barbados which are located very near to the gay nightlife at the Yumbo centre. In fact there was a gay club 2 floors below my apartment called Reds and also a Gay gym called Biceps Gym located between Barbados 1 and 2. IF you have a problem about gay people walking hand in hand in the street or around the pool, then quite honestly this is NOT the resort for you. The locals are very friendly and accepting, and all the local hotels and apartment complexes accept gay people. If only the rest of the world were as tolerant.

We visited the Yumbo, Cita and Kazbah shopping centres. Kazbah has seen better days, and is the main centre for non gay nightlife, with many slot machine arcades and tacky shops, and many bars. The best place for shopping was the Cita shopping centre. There are signs saying that you can browse around at leisure without being interrupted by the shopkeepers and their staff. This was a definite plus, as we English love to browse without being constantly interrupted by people trying to sell their wares. In fact, in all 3 shopping centres we were never interrupted in our browsing. This was like a breath of fresh air. So much better than on previous visits to the shops. I even bought a few things which I have never done before! So rest assured your shopping is now pleasant.

Eating out is relatively inexpensive. Best value, for us, was eat as much as you like Chinese restaurants. There are several around, and the dishes are plentiful and varied. One in the Yumbo centre has over 60 dishes to choose from. That one was 7.50 Euros to eat as much as you like. There are more exclusive restaurants with higher prices which provide a better ambience, but if saving your money for other expenditures is important, then 7 - to 10 Euros for eat as much as you like establishments is great.

I was worried that being Gay Pride week that the alcohol prices in the bars would be expensive.
I was pleasantly surprised. The 4 bars I attended ranged from 2.50 euros for a small beer, to 4 or 5 euros for a large beer. Draft beer rather than bottled beer was the cheaper option. I drank bottled San Miguel and paid 3-4.50 Euros for each one. There are expensive bars, but if you feel yourself ripped off anywhere - there are about 50 gay bars on the Yumbo centre to take your custom to.

The Yumbo centre is extremely gay in the evening and if you are sensitive about seeing gay men together - often in very little attire, then avoid this place when the sun sets. For gay people it is a mecca. There is one lesbian bar called Xanadu and several mixed lesbian and gay men bars. The Yumbo is, I suppose the San Antonio Ibiza gay equivalent, but without the violence. I saw no violence, no trouble, and remarkably on this holiday no time share touts.

For gay people - the bars are varied. All tastes are provided for. Drag acts and drag bars such as Showtime, Rickys and others. For youngsters liking to dance the night away try Mykonos, Tubos and the Six Pack Zone. For men in their 30s and over try Construction, Box Bar, Cruise and Glory Hole(this later one is closing but being taken over by French guys and may be renamed as The Backroom. For Bears and their admirers try Barenhole run by Paul from Germany for the last 22 years. The gay sauna (yes I know a sauna on a holiday!!) is clean, very modern and has a foam party three times a week. The lockers are very big.

Personally I will not return to Gran Canaria during Gay Pride week, as I found it extremely crowded in the evenings in the Yumbo centre. Apparently Mardi Gras in March is also even more crowded as it is very popular with straights and gays. Even though I am gay - I did find it too gay....so if i return it will be at a quieter time of year. Old age creeping up on me I guess.

So overall, Barbados, although 2 star rated is all you need. Expensive wifi the downside. We managed to keep our room til 6pm for an extra 25 Euros as our flight home was in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in Barbados 2 for a quieter place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 171Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilarderada, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Servatur Barbados Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear 171Steve,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen Servatur Barbados Apartments for your recent holidays and also for sharing your opinion with other travelers. Your comments are very important for us, even the critical ones, which help us to improve.

Thank you very much for your confidence in us.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Nice apartments
Me and my best mate been going there every year for the past 3 years - twice we stayed in Barbados . Very good customer service , stuff very helpful . Our place was cleaned every day . Very close to Yumbo Centrum (2min walk ). If u are looking for great value for money and place close to all the night life , Barbados is the one to choose :) ps : we going there in June for two weeks :) can't wait !!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shubashek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilarderada, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Servatur Barbados Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Shubashek,

Thank you very much for letting us know your opinion about your stay at Servatur Barbados Apartments. It is very important for us.

We are especially happy to know you had a good time with us.

We are glad to see you soon!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

When we first arrived at the apartments, we knew straight away that we were walking into a nightmare. If your looking for a apartment that is infested with bugs, cockroaches and filth, then this is the place to stay. We first arrived during the middle of the night to a rather rude receptionist. We were given our room key and then traveled up to the 3rd floor using a dodgy lift which felt very unsafe this. It also wasn't wheelchair friendly. We then entered the room putting the lights on to find bugs & cockroaches crawling everywhere. Inside the fridge, freezer cupboards, taps, plug holes, towel, wardrobes, balcony, the floor. Pretty much everywhere you looked.

We quickly exited the front door and down to reception and was confronted with a rather rude man who handled us a bug spray to which we refused to stay here any longer than need be. We quickly left the place and went to a hotel just down the road from it called Sol Barbacan which was fabulous!! If your wanting to stay in Gran Canaria, stay in the Sol Barbacan. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilarderada, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Servatur Barbados Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Carol W,

We deeply regret your did not enjoy your stay with us. Because our main goal is to satisfy our guests, we work daily to improve and change the different matters our clients are not happy with.

We are also sorry to hear that you found some bugs... Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you might have experienced.

We really hope that you will change your mind, giving us the opportunity to convince you of our services.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.7 mi away
Las Gondolas Apartments
Las Gondolas Apartments
#33 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Amazonas
Apartamentos Amazonas
#65 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Walkirias Resort
Walkirias Resort
#63 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
La Aldea Suites Hotel
La Aldea Suites Hotel
#1 of 1 in San Nicolas
107 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tamaran Apartments
Tamaran Apartments
#86 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Servatur Barbados Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Servatur Barbados Apartments

Address: Av de Tirajana 17 - 19, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £62 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Servatur Barbados Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The establishment has 91 apartments, all with two separate twin bedrooms (1-5 persons), lounge with sofa-bed. Fully equipped American kitchen and balconies overlooking the gardens.Located in the heart of Playa del Inglés, a few meters from shopping centres, restaurants, bars and discos. Thanks to its location, this complex offers the possibility to enjoy a great variety of services and activities taking place in Playa del Inglés. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Servatur Barbados Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Servatur Barbados Apartments Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Barbados Apartments Playa Del Ingles
Barbados Apartments Hotel
Servatur Barbados Apartments Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing