We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, ideal location, repetitive food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IFA Buenaventura Hotel
Ranked #30 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We were led to believe hotel was a 4* when we booked it is indeed a 3*. We Recently spent a week at this hotel. Hotel on arrival looked a bit dated from outside. It is however in an ideal location 10min walk gets you to the local beach and shops beware though half way along the beach its a nudist beach. The hotel itself is very big and the pool areas are nice and clean they offer plenty of choice from jacuzzi to swimming pools there's two sides to the hotel that offer both pool areas one more quiet than the other. Hotel offers free wifi in the bar meeting area only although we could only access for maybe 5min and then it cuts you off. We were all inclusive this was in operation during the hours of midday- midnight and found the food a bit to repetitive breakfast offered plenty choice from continental to cooked, lunch was the same every day small snack bar downstairs only offering hotdogs, pizza, chips, hamburgers, salad and ice cream it was literally the same choice daily so some days we couldn't face it. Dinner was very repetitive and there was never any chicken on the menu I am a fussy eater and only ever eat chicken I always found something I could eat though was never stuck basically ate same thing every night - salad, pizza, veg and chips wasn't much choice pudding wise. Entertainment was good at the hotel and on every day/night only downside our room was facing out into this area so if you wanted to nap during the day or have an early night you were out of luck as music is very loud we did have a lovely view though. (Can request room on other side of the hotel that's quiet with a pool view also) the hotel room was very spacious and clean beds not the most comfy although we had Germans next door who were very noisy and liked to party in the hotel corridor at 4am-6am shouting and chopping doors the reception were good at dealing with these issues if phoned down. We needed to make a phone call at reception and ask a few questions a man named Jose was on that day he was very unhelpful and when asked if he could confirm on phone to an excursion we were trying to book to verify we were staying at the hotels or a pick up he just put phone to his ear heard they were speaking English and shouted at us "English speaking what's problem" and banged phone down at us only member of staff we found very unhelpful and ignorant. On another occasion we asked to borrow a pen from him he said "move need to wait" he wasn't busy with anyone else at the time witnessed him treating other guests in this manner he has no patience rest of the staff were lovely at the hotel. We did several excursions in gran canaria - MHT - a drag show is highly recommended was fab, water park, jeep safari, camel ride, boat trip to sea dolphins, markets, submarine and water sports. I wouldn't come back only because I've been to Tenerife last year and for us it's a lot better there in a multitude of ways. Every excursion we went on in gran canaria involved a very long bus journey before reaching the excursions ranging from 1hr - 2hrs bus journey one way then same to return back to drop off point. Only other negative we found with this hotel was when we had been out down the Yumbo centre for drinks at night on way back to hotel in early hours literally outside hotel and also down the next few streets there were prostitutes in operation and we got followed up the street one night by 3 of them we then witnessed them praying on other holiday makers - men walking back to the hotel alone pinning them up to the wall and demanding 50euro for sex that was quite scary. Apart from that hotel is lovely, plenty entertainment and good location overall.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view in quiet area of the hotel not the same side as the entertainment as can be very l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank littlemissclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear customer,


Thank you very much for having chosen the IFA Buenaventura Hotel for your holidays and for the time you have taken to inform us about your opinion. After reading your commentaries we would like to say that we really feel sorry for not having fulfilled your expectations.

We are working day by day to be able to offer our guests the best service quality and efficiency, so that they may enjoy pleasant and unforgettable holidays.

It would be a pleasure for us if you decided to trust in our hotel again and to come back and visit us in the future so that you can see yourself that our services have improved and that satisfaction is guaranteed.

Thank you again for sending us your opinion.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,310 - 1,316 of 3,262 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very good stay overall

Afordable price (~500 per person all inclusive with planes for 9 days)
Beach ~10mn walk
Lots of bars/clubs downtown
Friendly staff
Comfortable rooms

2 cons :
- Beach is a bit far
- No AC in rooms

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank French S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed at the IFA Buenaventura for my first holiday abroad with friends and loved it! The hotel is about a 10 minute walk away from the beach and about a 5 minute walk away from the Kasbah center. We flew with Jet2 and had Aqualand water park included with our holiday, the park is about a 5 minute drive away and costs just under 6 euro in a taxi, although there is a bus service which is cheaper.
I was a little bit worried after reading some negative reviews about the all inclusive service and the restaurant but I honestly have no idea how anyone can complain! The hotel has 6 bars (including the British pub) and the AI service is offered at 4 (Banana Bar, Honolulu Bar, Freddys Bar and the Picnic bar) out of the 6, however the meeting bar and the British pub are not busy because they are both inside away from the pools and the entertainment. All soft and fizzy drinks are included and also hot drinks. As for alcoholic drinks, there is a wide range of spirits and liqueurs as well as a selection of cocktails. The food was amazing, plenty to choose from although there could be more variety at dinner, the snack bar is open almost all day too. If you're looking for a relaxing day around the pool, the pool with the Banana bar would be better, there is music playing but it isn't very loud, however if you want to get involved in the many activities offered during the day by the animation team then the pool by the Honolulu pool would be best, there is so much to do you will not get bored! They provide activities for both children and adults so no one gets left out, they also provide entertainment at night which made our stay even more enjoyable. I got home yesterday and if I had the money I would book my next stay tomorrow! Definitely returning next year!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have absolutely amazing views!! And rooms which over look the small childrens pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jennilee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here 28th June - 8th July 2014 as a couple- aged 17 and 19.
The first room which we had we weren't the happiest about.. Room 676.we had two single beds which were separated and were not even together as a double, we got told they didn't have any double beds (although I did email asking for a pool view with double bed).
My boyfriend wanted to use the sofa bed as we had no air-conditioning and the sofa bed was right by the balcony (I think this room must have been one of the hottest rooms). He came to pull it out to find out that it was all broken into pieces underneath. We went downstairs to complain to be told we don't need the sofa bed because we're a couple and there were only two of us so we can use the beds. He then changed our room to 666(I know, what a room!!!!) this room was much cooler than 676 although this one didn't have air conditioning either (we knew you could hire them). Again we had two single beds which were separated so we pushed them together. The sofa bed wasn't broken this time. We did sleep in the sofa bed the one night as it was closer to the balony. We had the entertainment pool so of a night you would hear the entertainment till about 1130 and then there would be people sitting around talking. Most nights we heard them singing happy birthday and then they would jump in the pool. Some nights around 3am-5am you get the odd drunken people jumping in the pool. If you're a party person this shouldn't be a problem as you don't hear the entertainment of a night because you will be out and then will be fast asleep when you're back.
I wouldn't say there is anything to complain about its a lovely hotel and the staff are lovely. You win a bottle of champagne if you win a full house on bingo ;-) not that it tastes very nice haha.

We had one day where it started to rain and was cloudy all day. But that's only one out of ten.
The kasbah centre is the one to visit. 2 drinks for the price of one in all bars plus a free shot and cocktail. You do get dragged in but in some cases this may be what you want then you get the free shots and cocktails.

the pool with the entertainment everyone gets the beds around half 7ish. The quite pool with the bridge everyone gets them about 830ish when it's finished being cleaned. Although to get the beds that you want you have to be there quite early as everyone stands in their place to put their beds.
I think this hotel can be for couples and families as there were a lot of both when we were out there.
We were out there as a couple but we met two lovely families out there.
This was a lovely holiday for a couple on their first holiday together.
Very enjoyable. Few places to go out for a drink.

Would definitely recommend the mono shisha bar. So relaxing. We visited 3 times on our holiday.

Also would definitely recommend el rancho steak house. Absolutely beautiful food. Was spot on. Perfect!!!!! We visited here on our last night if only we had of tried before.

Serious holiday blues now!!!
Wonderful time out here in gran canaria.

Room Tip: Ask for room 666.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Danni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Danni,

After reading your commentaries thoroughly we would like to apologize for those small details which have caused your holidays not to be as pleasant as they should have and that in some way we have not been able to come up to your expectations.
We always try to solve problems in the fastest possible way even if it is only a small one.
Please be assured that we have taken notice of all your commentaries and opinions, since our aim is to improve our services day after day in order to reach the complete satisfaction of all our customers.

We would be pleased to be able to welcome you again at our hotel, so that you may see in person how we are working to improve and reach service excellence.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Location of the hotel is literally a few minutes away from the strip and about 10mins from the beach. Entertainment in the hotel is endless, there was always something to do, and waking up the poolside music was a bonus. Can not fault this hotel for its hospitality, the staff were all so friendly and really approachable if there was ever a problem. The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis to the highest standard.

Thinking of going back there and i would book this hotel over and over again.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side view. You will not regret it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dimple160990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just come back from this hotel what can i say had such a brilliant time. Staff very friendly. Very clean hotel. Downside i found bed was hard and evening dinner needs more varity. Other then that brill

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Mrs Rachel R,

On behalf of all the workers and employees of the IFA Buenaventura Hotel we would like to thank you for your sincere commentaries which we are sure will help other customers to get to know our hotel a little better.

May we also thank you for your public appreciation of our hotel through TripAdvisor and we do hope that we will be able to welcome you again very soon.

We also hope that on the occasion of your next holidays on the island of Gran Canaria we will get the opportunity to show you again that we are doing a good job.

Cordially yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I've just returned from a four night stay and I loved it. We had a standard double room, which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The poolside entertainment was fun and lasted all day, perfect for couples and families. Didn't eat at the hotel so couldn't comment on the food. Check in was quick and easy and I will definitely return hopefully not to far in the future.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 426Lindylou75426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for trust on the Hotel IFA Buenaventura. We’re so proud to have had you in Playa del Inglés. We hope that you really had enjoyed your stay with us.

All our staff works hard every day for offer our guests the best holiday experience they ever had, and comments like yours are the proof that we’re doing good job and that’s what make us happy. We will be waiting for you and your family with open arms, for give you another great stay in Gran Canaria.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.5 mi away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#22 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
2,565 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#52 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,007 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#122 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,750 reviews
0.6 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,641 reviews
1.1 mi away
IFA Catarina Hotel
IFA Catarina Hotel
#28 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Buenaventura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Buenaventura Hotel

Address: Calle Ganigo, 6 | Plaza de Ansite, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £59 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Buenaventura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 724
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Buenaventura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Buenaventura Resort
Hotel Ifa Buenaventura
IFA Buenaventura Hotel Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing