We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel spoilt by savage youngsters”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IFA Buenaventura Hotel
Ranked #28 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
GreenLeadersGold level
Brussels
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel spoilt by savage youngsters”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel is nice, clean, very well maintained. Large and beautiful relaxation area. The food was impeccable. The service was good, too, except once at the check-in when the staff member who served us did not speak English and was not bothered by his clients too much; he was unable to concentrate on what he had to do: we had to address the reception again next morning when another receptionist kindly provided all the information we needed. Wi-fi, though, is at a regrettable state: available only at one bar and even there, extremely slow, particularly when there are many users connected. No air-conditioning, but as nights are not too hot, it is possible to survive without it. The main problem for me was noise at night: several nights we could hardly sleep because of a bunch of loud youngsters creating a total mess inside and outside the hotel. The administration seemed to be incapable to calm them down.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    863
    1,208
    661
    208
    131
See reviews for
1,004
1,155
111
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Great hotel, clean tidy good sized rooms with good daily maid service ,pool and grounds area beautifully laid out, food varied fresh and well cooked in front of you and the all-inclusive package very good also the best entertainment staff ever. Games all day if you want to participate and also their own theme on shows at night very well done 100%+ to all of them!
Very multi national (i think one day there were12 countries named in the evening show )however the German and French younger guests seem self obsessed and seem to revel in making noise talking throughout the evening shows also coming and going all night thru till 4-5-6in the morning With the beeping of reversing Bin lorries at 3/4 in the morning and also the roar of the water cannon cleaning the pavement outside the front this makes sleeping difficult for the other 1100 guests
We stayed for 10 nights 3/8 till 13/8 and I can honestly say we never got more than 3 hours sleep in one go.(we made up for this by the pool during the day and have the sunburn to show for it )there was only the 2 of us we felt very sorry for people with small children who must have been woken as well
Groups mainly of lads but some girls Singing chanting ,taxi doors slamming ,foot steps up and down corridors, music at 2.00 in the morning from rooms and around pool areas.
When we left at 4.00am on the last day 9 taxis turned up with guests coming back in the 15minutes while we waited for our transfers.
This is a brilliant hotel All staff are great and will go out of their way to make your stay special
I would recommend it as one if not the best we have stayed at
Definitely worth a visit but take ear muffs if you want to get any sleep at night

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Honolulu pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2wacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear 2wacky,

On behalf of all the workers and employees of the IFA Buenaventura Hotel we would like to thank you for your sincere commentaries which we are sure will help other customers to get to know our hotel a little better.

May we also thank you for your public appreciation of our hotel through TripAdvisor and we do hope that we will be able to welcome you again very soon.

We also hope that on the occasion of your next holidays on the island of Gran Canaria we will get the opportunity to show you again that we are doing a good job.

Cordially yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great hotel great staff excellent facilities just be careful where your room is as although advertised in Britain as a family destination i dont think some other countries advertise the same.I was lucky and was situated in a peaceful room some other i met weren't so lucky.We had a great holiday luckily and enjoyed ourselves a lot but was that down the positioning of our room?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Sthepen,

Our customers’ happiness and satisfaction during their stay at the IFA Buenaventura Hotel motivate us to work every day with major enthusiasm trying to fulfil all our guests’ expectations and needs. We see you really like our staff and facilities

Thank you for having chosen our IFA Buenaventura Hotel for your holidays. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you again very soon.

Cordially yours,

Begoña San José//
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south shields
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I have just came back from this hotel after staying for 2 weeks all inclusive, however the hotel its self is nice and clean but the sofa beds in the rooms are a nightmare my partner cut his leg open on a sharp metal pole pointing outside the bed we did tell reception and they did change the bed but weren't interested in the fact my partner cut open his leg on it. There's no air con in the rooms and the hotel was full of noisey daft Germans who didn't know when to shut up! we had our 2 year old son with us and our room was 359 which faces the pool with the animation stage not that you could see much with all the huge trees, most nights we had Germans shouting and singing even whistling at stupid hours in the morning and they would carry on till 4/5 in the morning! as for sunbathing its pointless even trying to get a sunbed you carnt move around pools its that pact lucky enough for us with having the little one with us there was a little pool through the side of the hotel were the kids bouncy castle is so we had no choice but to spend the full 2 weeks around it. on the 4th night we were sitting having a few drinks in the hotel near the animation stage when it got to about 11.30 loads of French started kicking off and jumping in the pool throwing things off people my son was nearly hit with a bowling pin! there was one hotel staff member trying to calm them down which was a joke they have one security guard on and he was no were to be seen there should have been police there to chuck all the smelly French out ! there was a family there asking the French to stop chucking water off there kids which lead to the wife getting slapped twice! we did complain at the reception and all we got back was there French and going home tomorrow?? that helps no one! they still let them stay at the hotel total disgrace they weren't kids either one big wife looked in her early 50s jumping n the pool drunken idiots, as for the food it was the same every day\night they might change pork chops to chicken that's if your lucky they seem to have a thing for pickles to they put them in everything ! (rank) if you want wifi in your room you have to 2 euros for 24hours but it doesn't work so I wouldn't bother. if you go around the corner from the hotel there's a bar called Mulligans the food is lovely from there and the staff are friendly to. I will defiantly not be returning ever again 2 weeks was long enough!

Room Tip: 5th floor has quieter rooms don't choose the 3rd they are the worst
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stacy b b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Stacey b,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for having chosen the IFA Buenaventura Hotel for your recent stay in the south of Gran Canaria and also for your participation in our online Tripadvisior site

We are concerned about the differences in quality that you have experienced during your recent stay with us and we hope that you will excuse us for any inconvenience during your holidays.

We are very sorry that you are Unsatisfied with thw noisy room you received in the Hotel. I have already informed the hotel manager about your comments and criticism in order to take a close look into the mentioned matters. Next time, as soon as you have the confirmation of your reservation, I invite you to send me an email with your special location wish & I will try to do my best to asign you a quiter room. We also really sorry the inconvenience about the group from France who disturbed the pool that day and we promise to you that we informed the travel agency to check a little bit better the quality of the guests they are sending to our hotel.
We sincerely hope that you will chose the IFA Buenaventura Hotel again for your next stay on the island, also to give us the chance to correct the image you have received this time.

With best regards,

Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Pools clean. Rooms clean. Entertainment excellent. Food a bit repetitive but always stuff cooked in front of you. If you want a quiet room ask for next to the banana pool. If you want a good pint get to the British pub - daisy & drac very welcoming and lovely people.
faults- saw a young girl collapse in the restaurant, she was obviously in need of emergency treatment, an old fella came with a wheelchair (not enough) luckily an off duty fireman helped her, she was on floor of restaurant for at least 30mins before anyone from the hotel cane to help. Another 15mins before ambulance arrived. Public relations manager said this was because the hotel needed to be sure it was a matter for ambulance.....obviously was, & if hotel staff had bothered to come and see, then they would have known.
my advice - don't go here if you feeling poorly.
if your fit & well its a cracking hotel.
I was unfortunate enough to hurt my back while here, i had treatment from the onsite Thai massage & i cant recommended that enough. Very relaxing, very professional.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamster83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Been to GC many times but this was the worst hotel I have every stayed in. You think it's all inclusive but there are so many things that you have to pay for. The rooms don't have air con so you have to leave the balcony doors open but it is so loud as all the rooms face the pool and stage which runs until very late. It's very multicultural here which I enjoy, although it was spot the English person. We are few and far between. There are a lot of German people so if you want to sit/lay by the pool you'll need to get up very early as most of it is taken by 7:30am. The food is ok, not great, but no variety. You'll get bored pretty quickly. The entertainments, like most hotels in GC is pretty lame but this hotel was shockingly bad. Don't pay for wifi as it's so stupidly slow it's not worth it. It's hard to connect to it, if at all. Our cleaning lady was amazing through. Isabel Diaz thank you for looking after us. It's close enough to the yumbo centre and kasbar though. We won't be staying here. Very disappointed

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Manager at IFA Buenaventura Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Mike ,

Thank you very much for your sincere commentaries.

We do regret that your experience at our hotel has not been completely satisfactory for you. At the IFA Buenaventura Hotel it is our intention to meet all the needs of our customers and we feel really sorry that in your case we have not been successful.

It would be a pleasure for us to be able to welcome you again at our hotel so that you can see yourself that we are doing all our best to reach service excellence.

If you have the opportunity to come back to our island and although you may not be staying in our hotel, I would still like to greet you and give you my apologies personally.

Yours cordially,


Begoña San José//Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here bang in the middle of the World Cup so good atmosphere with German and Dutch guests in high spirits. Nice spacious rooms and wardrobes with clean 24 hours reception area. Staff all pleasant and friendly, nice bars with option in the restaurant to eat al fresco which I did most days as no air conditioning in hotel with temperatures hitting 28 degrees daily. Hotel is a couple of mins walk from the main road so quiet in the evenings. Taxis pick up and drop off from outside the hotel. 5 mins walk to nearest supermarket and 10 mins walk to Irish Centre and Kazbar for straight nightlife. Yumbo centre where all the gay bars and clubs were was a 20 mins walk away or 5 Euros (which included tip) in taxi. Sun loungers can only be used from 8am, but be warned, the sun lounger police will have you if you're away for longer than an hour (lol). Shop in hotel was handy for newspapers. Good selection of food daily in the restaurant with plenty to choose from. Desserts not upto much though. You can choose your evening meal time on your arrival and are expected to stick to it, however most evenings there was often long queues for the main courses on the buffet. Towels changed daily. Ask for a room overlooking the restaurant pool otherwise you'll hear the noise from the kids pools and showbar all day, handy though to sit and watch from your balcony before heading out later. 3 fast modern lifts in the lobby and free wifi in the main bar area. Late check in for your room is 5 euros an hour. Worth hiring a safe aswell, 10 euros deposit and if I remember its 2 euros a day. Well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NICHOLAS042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.4 mi away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#23 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
2,429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,568 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#111 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,564 reviews
1.1 mi away
IFA Catarina Hotel
IFA Catarina Hotel
#26 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,804 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#43 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Buenaventura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Buenaventura Hotel

Property: IFA Buenaventura Hotel
Address: Calle Ganigo, 6 | Plaza de Ansite, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Buenaventura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 724
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Onthebeach, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your IFA Buenaventura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Buenaventura Resort
Hotel Ifa Buenaventura
IFA Buenaventura Hotel Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing