We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly place, all inclusive brilliant!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IFA Buenaventura Hotel
Ranked #28 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
GreenLeadersGold level
staffordshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great friendly place, all inclusive brilliant!!!”
Reviewed 2 September 2009

We booked this deal on the thomas cook website 3 weeks before departure. Paying just £658 for 2 weeks all inclusive it all seemed a bit too good to be true!!..........wow,what a great hotel!! And all for that price in the summer holidays!!!.......We arrived early hours of the morning to a lovely large reception with nice friendly and informative staff. We hired a safe at 2 euros per day plus a 10 euro refundable deposit. The safe was large and digital and you have to remember a 6 digit code!! The room was very large with 2 single beds and a separate sofa area with TV. It was spotless right from the balcony through to the bathroom. The hotel itself was very large and took us a few days to get our bearings. We spent all of our time round the activity pool which was great and there was always soemthing going on. The animation team do a "good morning" walk round at 11am and then the fun starts from there really. Aqua gym, shuffleboard, darts, volleyball, water polo. The other pool seemed more appealing to the families and couples. The food was great with a good choice on the buffet. Breakfast was the usual cereals, full english, pastries and a healthy living section with gluten free bread and organic food ect. Our lunch was inlcuded on the all inclusive package and again was buffet style. Everytihng from hot and cold meats, potatoe wedges, soup, fish, and desserts too. At night the food was great. There are 3 separate sittings. Ours was at 7.30 which suited us fine. Again an excellent choice on the buffet and also a pasta corner. Some nights there was also a chef doing pancakes and spanish tortilla. Mmmmmmmm. At night, there was mini disco at around 9, followed by a professional show at 10. Everything from the Lord of the Dance to Il Divo we saw in the 2 weeks. The animation sometimes did there own shows but to be honest they just mimed and danced around to the Mama Mia or Grease soundtrack! The ozono disco in the hotel opens at twelve. I would only recommend it to over 18s though as most of the animation had a sexual orienation/theme to it!!! On one of the days we went to aqualand. We paid 1Euro on the bus one way and came back by taxi for 7 euros. The aquapark is so much fun but rememeber to wear flip flops on your way round as the floor is absolutely boiling!! They let you take them on the slides with you which is good. We had a voucher off the aqualand website giving us a 15% discount so it cost us about 21 euros for the entrance. The beach from our hotel was a ten minute walk and it was massive. Just take care with your belongings though as the tide has a mind of its own and comes in really quickly!! We saw numerous people with their stuff soaked!! All in all this was a fab holiday. The good things were the animation, the rooms, the food, and our all inlcusive package. We had eveything from water, soft drinks, peach shnapps, gin, vodka, fruit juices (despite previous reviews on here saying the all-in package was rubbish!). We added up one day that we would have spent 46 euros just in the hotel on soft drinks at the pool, and alcoholic drinks at night. The bad things are that there was no air con which we knew about beforehand but even in public areas like the restaurant they were too stingy to put it on!! This is a fantastic hotel if you like mixing with different nationalities. British people made up about 10% of the whole hotel whilst the rest were German, Italian, spanish, French. Being aged 23 and 26 we had a fab time as the hotel was mainly for younger people.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jayneb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    1,207
    659
    208
    131
See reviews for
1,002
1,155
110
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Stayed here for a week, four of us aged 19-23, loved it.
Food had a wide choice there was often a massive paella cooked, and there was always an option for me being a vegetarian, one night they were tossing pancakes for dessert.
Rooms were very spacious, had a sofa, big mirrors and lots of storage space. About a ten min walk to beach and shopping centre and main clubbing area.
Drinks quite expensive in the clubs and often watered down. Bring a bit of loo roll from your hotel - toilet attendants try to charge for it!
Lots of kiddy activities going on, lots of evening entertainment but that didn't really interest us. Quite noisy from the kids clubs but that did stop quite early, there is a nightclub under the hotel open til 7 but we didn't hear it at all, we were out late anyway. Very lively hotel, lots of people around all times of day and night.
Pool is lovely has a bridge going over and jacuzzi, hard to get a sunbed we were mainly on the beach anyway.
Had a camel ride but later felt guilty after seeing how the young camels were treated when they were being trained.
Do not recommend party boat trip - very cramped and highly illegal with no space to even hold on, let alone sit!
Went to a foam party and water park, both very good.
This hotel isnt ideal for a romantic break or elderly couple, but for people with kids and young clubbers it is an excellent venue with lots going on.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tallie_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Well T C, you've done it again! Not only by promising us air conditioning on our itinerary (which you can imagine our disappointment to find the hotel as a non-air conditioned greenhouse), but also by placing us in a hotel where the staff had little respect for the English and absolutely no respect for all-inclusive clients at all. I suppose that could have been due to the fact that the majority of the staff did not know that the hotel offered all-inclusive, however the T C rep did tell us that he is treated with hostility by manager and staff alike! What the staff appeared to have forgotten is the fact that we have paid up front for the privilege of all inclusive, the impression that they give you is that they are giving you drinks for free!!!

I would definitely warn other Brits not to venture on this holiday and stress that if they do then not to take the all-inclusive option. That is unless you like to be spoke to disrespectfully by the staff, you like a hotel like an oven, and an all-inclusive package that finishes at 10:30p.m. (not 11pm as stated as the staff avoid you) and only offers vodka, wine and beer even though all local spirits should be included!!

And be warned if you arrive early morning, you will be charged for the previous day all-inclusive and similarily if you leave very early morning (i.e. Sunday at 4a.m) your all-inclusive will finish at 10:30!! on the Friday night!! Thats a day and a half at the end of your holiday where you have to pay for everything!

What an absolute rip off!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexJ1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bromsgrove, uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We booked this holiday last minute through our travel agent after trawling the internet and local agents for a last minute deal. We were quite pleased with what we booked at the time especially after reading the positive trip advisor reviews. Having arrived at the hotel we were impressed with the repcetion area and general appearance of the place on an initial walk around. We arrived with another couple who were friends of ours at 4:30 AM and were given a welcome bag containing food. We were again quite pleased with this until opening it and finding a warm egg and tuna sandwich (a health hazard) manky crisps and an apple. It did however contain a very nice bottle of 75 cents water which was delicious! This should have been an indicator for how the rest of the holiday would fair however we remained optimitic. The rooms were well presented and spacious and we were lucky with the pool view that we had. A serious let down would be the lack of air conditioning in the rooms. we hired fans from reception at an additional cost but they were limited in number with ours having to actually be taken off the recpetion desk. The temperatures were over 50 degrees for part of our stay with the evening temp remaining at 44, not having air conditioning in a country that is regularly as hot as that is ridiuclous and meant that the rooms were less than adequate.
We had taken the all inclusive option which we soon realised (by the fact the staff kept telling us they didnt do all inclusive) was a brand new additon to the hotel with only the few english currently staying being the fist victims! The food was ok but very limited to set meal times with the all day snack bar being out of bounds for all inclusive customers (unless you dug out your euros!). Having taken an all inclusive holiday before we were a little surprised by this restriction but this did not even compare to the drinks side of the fantastic All Inclusive Option! Getting served by the majority of the staff in the main bar 'Freddy's' was virtually impossible and as this was the entertainment bar you had no choice at certain times of the day but to sit here. The staff would walk past our table avoiding not only our eyes but our frantically waving arms and then when we did manage to wrestle them to the table would hold a finger up and ask us to wait a minute! When we did get served it was very important that we didnt have more then one drink each on the table at a time as this would obviously break the bank and included the dreg ends of your drink which had to be finished before you were blessed with a second. This included water or if you wanted a shot to go along side your drink. The staff took great pleasure in giving half full glasses the evil eye and generally making you feel terrible for ordering a drink in the first place let alone when there was one member of the party with half a drink left!! The only drinks you were allowed on the all inclusive were pretty much vodka, house wine (not a good option) or beer, an the cocktails were seriously out of bounds unless you dug out your euros. We also watched the drinks prepared and the all inclusive victims definatley got short changed in the vodka stakes! At dinner time you were allowed non alcoholic drinks, beer or wine and if you dare to try and take a drink in from one of the onsite bars, god help you! I have never been served by such rude and ignorant staff but having met the manager on our last day i can safely say the hotel is being led from the top, his lack of interest in the fact that every english person in the hotel was seriously unhappy was some what shocking but not surprising. If you are english do not go to this hotel and definatley do not waste your hard earned money on the all inclusive option because it is far from it!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Me and my boyfriend arrived at this hotel around 2am, on arrival we found our balcony door broken, we reported this and it was fixed first thing in the morning.

Room - Our room was lovley, could do with a wee bit of an update but nothing that you couldn't live with, we faced on to the more livley pool in the evenings with the shows it was very loud. Some nights you couldnt get to sleep until after 1am. Even with the doors shut it was so loud. but im sure if we asked to be moved rooms the hotel would have done there best to do so. No air con though which we needed

Pools - Great, just make sure your down before 11 or you have no chance to get a bed.
as a young couple we loved the fact that there was few kids there during our stay. So if your like us and dont fancy screaming kids go before the schools stop ie start of june weather was great, last few days of our holiday where full of screaming kids and babies.

Beach- bus to the beach was great, very busy though

Shows - Great no problems

Staff - very friendly and helpful

Hotel - great always clean and has great bars three in the hotel with a disco open at night!

Location - Near everything, have a walk down to the beach frount bars at night alot cheaper for drinks compared to the centres, with great views. it gets very annoying when the pr's from the pubs ask you to go in all of the time but the soon get the message when you say no thanks and keep walking, dont shake there hands because they may then try to lead you into there bar. Also if women try to put bangles on to your arms dont let them they want money off you. My boyfriend did and they asked him for money for it and when i said no thanks i dont want one i got asked if i was racist. Was not happy after that so avoid them because they dont leave you alone!!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

this hotel is the worst hotel i have ever visited ! how anyone can rate this a good stay is beyond me! we only visited for a week and after reading all of the reveiws and ratings on this site we thought it would be great, but as soon as we got here we realised there was no air con, the lifts frequently dont work which is a nightmare if you are on the 8TH floor as we were. The all inclusive is a joke, no choice of drinks at breakfast, the waiters served all the paying customers first frequently leaving us for 30-40 mins at a time. IF YOU ARE BRITISH I ADVISE TO GO ELSEWHERE AS YOU ARE TREATED LIKE A PIECE OF [--]! If you get the option of a pool vleiw or a sea veiw take the pool as clubs around the area play loud music till 7 or 8! Which isn´t bad if your out but when the heat is reaching 39c at night it´s hard enough to sleep anyway. All in all DO NOT GO!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEZIom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Booked a last minute deal for IFA Buenaventura trough our local travel agent, after reading the reviews on trip advisor. The first impressions upon arrival were good in general, the reception area is spacious and well kept, the pools big and clean and the rooms spatious enough.

The Rooms
The rooms are in need of a refurbish. In this time of the year it is absolutely critical for us that any hotel in this type of destination has AC and a refrigerator, the Buenaventura has none. The daily cleaning of the room was also somewhat less than spotless. Our room (216) faced the street, so there was noise coming from the nearby bars until at least 5am. It would be around this time that a lot of the gests would return to the hotel, and not always with respect for those who wish a good night sleep. On 7 nights in the Buenaventura we weren't able to sleep trough the night on a single one.

The Pools
The pools are nice and clean. It's somewhat difficult to find a lounge chair after 11am, and there are no parasols in the pool areas.

The Animation
The day animation included a lot of poolside activities. During the night there's always a show near the pool. These shows aren't exacly Broadway material, but in general were entertaining.

The Food
Together with the very poor rooms, the food is the achilles' heel of the Buenaventura. The breakfast wasn't bad, but the dinner was absolutely dreadful. We've been in some spanish hotels with buffet style dinners, but this one was by far the worse we've ever been. Everyday the same exact food, and on top of it all, everything has the same overdone taste.

The Location
I'm sure the location will please a lot of people, although we felt that the area seems very dirty, and it's probably the more vulgar part of Gran Canaria. If you're into clubbing, and nightlife this is the area for you, if what you want is a relaxing break from work with the occasional night out for a drink be shure to take a look at the hotels in the Maspalomas area.

Conclusion
The Buenaventura was kind of a schizophrenic experience, great from the morning until the afternoon - the breakfast, the pools and although somewhat expensive the pollside bars were nice, and a nightmare from dinner time until the next morning. The lack of AC, is a defenitely negative point in this hotel, because you just don't have an option when you need a break from the Canarian heat.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diltiazem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.4 mi away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#23 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
2,429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#112 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,560 reviews
1.1 mi away
IFA Catarina Hotel
IFA Catarina Hotel
#26 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#45 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Buenaventura Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Buenaventura Hotel

Property: IFA Buenaventura Hotel
Address: Calle Ganigo, 6 | Plaza de Ansite, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#22 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Buenaventura Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 724
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Ebookers, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your IFA Buenaventura Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Buenaventura Resort
Hotel Ifa Buenaventura
IFA Buenaventura Hotel Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing