We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of IFA Continental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
IFA Continental Hotel
Ranked #24 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a week at this hotel. I travelled with my husband and sister. The food is really excellent and there is a great selection. All the staff from the cleaners to the reception staff were all very friendly and always had a smile and all said hello when they saw you. The animation team were fab and worked really hard. Whatever they are paid it is not enough.
Everything is extremely clean. I do agree that the pool rules are very strict. With 2 pools couldn't ball games be allowed in one of them? We used to go down about 9 for breakfast and had no problem getting a sun bed. We did see towels being folded up in the morning by staff if people had reserved beds for a length of time and did not return, which we totally agreed with. Hotel would be a 4 star if they provided fans in rooms or a fridge. We were on 5th floor so had door open all night and noise from the road was not. Really a problem. Definately looking at going back with friends next year. Fantastic holiday. One of the best we have been on.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawnscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Gerente at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of all the workers and employees of the hotel we would like to thank you for your sincere commentaries which we are sure will help other customers to get to know our hotel a little better.

May we also thank you for your public appreciation of our hotel through TripAdvisor and we do hope that we will be able to welcome you again very soon.

We also hope that on the occasion of your next holidays on the island of Gran Canaria we will get the opportunity to show you again that we are doing a good job.

Cordially yours,
Carlos Martínez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    1,017
    347
    112
    62
See reviews for
474
1,146
54
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed at the hotel 17/8/13 for 1 week. Definitely not a 3 start hotel, at best it is a 2 star. Any thing you want which you expect to find in a hotel, you actually have to pay for. No air conditioning at all unless you pay for the fans which keep breaking down. The food is at the best nearly average and if you go half board they switch the drinks machines off at night so you have to pay for drinks, even water! Usually one member of staff at the reception desk so long waiting times and if you want any information then do not go at night as every single time you get told to go back in the morning. We were totally frustrated that despite signs saying they stop people putting towels on sunbeds to 'keep them' until they actually arrive for the day, this clearly does not happen. Every single day we failed to get a sunbed due to our European friends putting towels there at the early hours of the morning. The excursions/boat trips kept us going as they were excellent but we will never stay at this hotel again. Extremely poor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Gerente at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Canaria and our hotel for your recent holidays and we for posting your opinion about your stay on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your detailed recapitulation and would like to thank you very much for letting us know the aspects of your stay, all which helps us to improve our services and provide the perfect holiday experience.
As we have also explained in this way to another of our clients that coincide with your comment, we would like to clarify you once more that the hotel does not have air conditioning.
The All Inclusive services start at 11.00 am and finish at 11.00 pm and this service is reflected in the different marketing channels (for example; corporate website, agencies, etc.) At the same time, we would like to inform that there are vending machines on each floor available to our customers.
After reading your commentaries thoroughly, concerning the hotel staff, we would like to apologize for those small details which have caused your holidays not to be as pleasant as they should have and that in some way we have not been able to come up to your expectations. Human capital is undoubtedly the most important value for our company, for that reason the commentaries has surprised us mostly.
We are always eager to inform our guests that the reservation of the sun loungers is not permitted. By informing our guests personally and including the information in our welcome cards, we trust that our guests heed this policy.
We are very sorry that the inconveniences that you have experienced have leaded to your decision in not coming back to our hotel, although we would be very happy if you would give us a second chance in order to correct the received image.
Once again, we thank you very much for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back at our hotel on a future holiday.
With kind regards,
Carlos Martínez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed at the continental from 5th August to the 19th August, wow it was hot, the hotel is fantastic, Food excellent, we normally eat out 3 or 4 times but didn't bother as the food really was great, Pool well relaxing in fact the most relaxing holiday I have ever had,
Air conditioning No problems we hired x 2 units one for each room for 2 weeks at a cost of 100 euro per room, The animation Team was have to say brilliant, they always try to get you involved with activity's, evening entertainment was ok,

My wife and I are nearly both 50, we travelled with youngest son 11, eldest son 15 and his mate also 15, we all had a fabulous time, thank you to all the staff at the IFA continental for making our 2 week holiday brilliant

Please do not listen to negative views on this hotel, personally this hotel is a 4 star, we will not return to the IFA as we never go the same place 2 but would highly recommend this TOP CLASS HOTEL

Room Tip: The trouble is all rooms are nice, its a case of they may be to warm if an evening, budget for a mob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul46o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Gerente at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our Hotel. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your vacation.
We will pass on your compliments to all of our staff and management, and look forward to your next visit.

Sunny regards,
Carlos Martínez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

When I booked here, I was a little worried about not having air con, but decided to give it a whirl anyway,

My partner and I holidayed here for 1 week, 17th-24th Aug.

We chose it mainly due to cost, it was our first holiday together, we wanted somewhere warm, and where we didn;t have to worry about the pennies, so all inc seemed ideal.

I am normally a self cater girl, but have to say the food on offer was as good, if not better, than a lot that I have tried in eateries abroad. Fresh fish daily, seafood, a choice of meats. And the desserts...well...

The rooms were of a good standard a fan for around 2 euro a day, and even in temps of 36' that kept us ample cool.

Cleaners came in daily, and worked around you time wise.

There were always activities going on, personally I loved the aqua aerobics!!! The other half also tried Thia Chi.

Drinks were good - ok so the cocktails arent dressed up, but how many times do you curse at paying excessive prices for a sparkler and paper bird, only to chuck it on the ashtray? Soft drinks were very good - pepsi cola, diet pepsi, 7 up, swheppes, juices, soda and still water.

Also on tap were wines and sangria, plus Amstell beer.

I personally couldnt fault the place, all I can say is give it a whirl.

Room Tip: room 154 leads onto the sun terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BiddyEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Gerente at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel again for your stay in Gran Canaria and also for sharing your opinion on the web.
We are happy that once again you had a good time with us and we are especially glad about your comments regarding the food quality, services and facilities.
We are looking forward to your next stay and remain
With best regards
Carlos Martínez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

If you do not smoke do not go to this hotel. The theatre area in this hotel is partially enclosed and almost 90% of the foreign clientele smoke making the passive smoking in this area horrendous. the atmosphere is so bad that you can hardly breathe.
Secondly there is no air conditioning in the rooms and although previous people have commented that it is not a problem - it definitely is. it was so humid on an evening that we had difficulty sleeping. We left the doors open but as the rooms are mostly on the main road it was very noisy. The reception rented fans but they were expensive and according to the people we spoke to that had obtained them were small and useless.
The corridors/ rooms were carpeted and in need of replacing and the rooms were in desperate need of updating.
The pool area was lovely and as the doors to the pool area were locked until 8 we did not need to get up too early to get good sun beds which we did like to do as there was lovely decked area over the large pool. The pool attendant checked the reserved beds each morning and folded the towels over on the unoccupied sunbeds.They checked again 15mins later and any still unoccupied beds had the towels removed. This was a good thing in a way as it meant that people could not reserve beds and they go back to there room. It also however caused arguments between people as they had gone to breakfast and came back to fine some one else on there sun beds.On 2 occasions we witnessed nasty confrontations between people that this had happened to.
The wifi in the hotel is so slow it is mostly non existent. I feel that this is a gimmick on the part of the hotel to buy wifi in the room.As we had 2 teenagers who liked to access Facebook regularly they did not want to sit in the room all night. We found a lovely internet cafe just up the road with free wifi that we attended on several occasions- Amigos Cafe
There is a plentiful supply of food throughout the day. Breakfast 07.30-10.00, snacks 11-12, lunch 13.00-14.30, snacks 15.30-16.30 , dinner 18.30-21.30 and sandwiches 22.00-23.00. the food was mostly nice although by the end of the 2 weeks was getting a bit monotonous.
The entertainment staff were tireless especially Olga she was hilarious especially doing the gangnam style.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lowessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Gerente at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Canaria and our hotel for your recent holidays and we for posting your opinion about your stay on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your detailed recapitulation and would like to thank you very much for letting us know the aspects of your stay, all which helps us to improve our services and provide the perfect holiday experience.
According to the Spanish Law, we are always eager to inform our guests that there are smoking and no smoking area in the hotel. By informing our guests personally and including the information in the differences posters around the hotel, we trust that our guests heed this policy.
As we have also explained in this way to another of our clients that coincide with your comment about no air conditioning in the hotel, this service is not reflected in neither of the different marketing channels (for example; corporate website, agencies, etc.)
Once again, we thank you very much for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back at our hotel on a future holiday.
With kind regards,
Carlos Martínez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Excellent holiday, lovely clean hotel, food varied on the AI and drinks readily available and checked regularly to keep flowing. Entertainment very cheesey/holiday camp style but made it even better - Olga and Atila worked hard to get everyone involved and generally enjoyed most days/nights as a result. Rules in the pool were a bit overboard but it is a large hotel with relatively small pools so it worked overall. Kids club was good for my 10 year old daughter, so thanks to Elise and Gros also!
Overall, a nice relaxing couple of weeks of sunshine. Worth a walk to San Agustin to see the beach, visit the bookshop and just break things up.
Only complaint would be that the room was really hot and took a while to get to sleep - but we were in The Canaries in the middle of the summer, so we just got on with it really!

Room Tip: Sea view was quiet and apparently higher up was also cooler at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Gerente at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear family,

It is good to hear that you have a good time with us and we are especially happy that your daughter also had fun.

We are happy that you had a good experience with us and we are especially glad about your comments about our staff, especially about Olga and Attila, which is of enormous importance for us.

We are looking forward to your next stay and remain
With best regards
Carlos Martínez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks with my wife and 13 month baby plus 4 more adults
Keep it short and sweet
Staff -fantastic couldnt help us more and always made and effort with my baby always had a smile on there faces amd maids were excellent so again I couldnt of asked for more

Rooms - stayed in room 531 and it was spotless on arrival and even thiugh we kept it tidy the maids would do a great job
Tv had a few english channels e.g news but to channels that played movies tv shows wwe wrestling so kept us entertained when lil one was sleep the cot thwy gave us was also great
Only negative aspects were no air con so had to rent a fan and no fridge so in middle of night was very hot so had to drink warm water but was ok as I knew hotel was cheaper than the others in the area just a note if I have babies u will need to bring a steriliser and kettle dondo your bottles but the restaurant does have a microwave

Pool was great and refreshing just i think a bit ott on the rules with lilos balls etc and it was embarrasing for all concerned with the race to get sunbeds in the morning so we stopped that after day 1
Plenty of activities to do round pool during day
What I will say when I arrived it was mainly german and dutch guest and the pool was relaxing but after week one the british arrived and all I say was( You could tell) and im english myself
Estaban on front desk was a wonderful guy and nothing was too much trouble so thank you estiban (from ben in room 531)
Food was plentiful and great but I love fresh meat and salad so it was perfect for me and my family my babie ate loads of fresh fruit that was on offer so that was defo a plus from this hotel
Only negative was the drinks if u like pop ur laughing as its self serve and of good taste (we brought pint size plastic beakers with us so didnt need to use tiny pladtic cups) but the beers was not good and if like me you look forward to a cocktail on holiday the ready mixed in the machine were truly truly awful so neednto pay €7 at the bar which i was dissapointed about there but this was a family holiday for us so not much drinking anyway also wifi in lobby is great in the morning but at night it clearly doesnt work
Btw palmitos park was a very poor day out with not many animals but I have visited the jungle park and lora park on other islands so had alot to live up to
so in all a lovely lovely hotel with great staff and pool and if price was right I would defo come back
Thank you to all the staff and hope you have a wonderful summer

Ben ward room 531 3rd aug-17aug


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Gerente at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear guest,

We highly appreciate your comments posted on Trip Advisor and we would like to thank you for your confidence in us by choosing our hotel for your vacation.

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was to your full satisfaction and that you enjoyed both – our installations and our services. Be assured that we will pass on your praise to all our staff, and especially to Esteban Peña or Front desk Manager.

It has been a pleasure for us having you as guest and we hope to welcome you back on future holidays.

With best regards
Carlos Martínez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
1.4 mi away
IFA Catarina Hotel
IFA Catarina Hotel
#26 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
1.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,978 reviews
0.2 mi away
Labranda Playa Bonita Hotel
Labranda Playa Bonita Hotel
#13 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Escorial
Escorial
#19 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.6 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Continental Hotel

Property: IFA Continental Hotel
Address: Avenida de Italia 2, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Continental Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IFA Continental Hotel is situated very near to the centre of Playa del Ingles, a few minutes walk from Playa del Ingles beach, the promenade and numerous leisure and shopping centres. The magnificent Playa del Ingles, with its famous sand dunes and its 6 kilometers in length, offers a perfect setting to have long and pleasant walks next to the sea, besides being located next to one of the most enjoyable and entertaining tourist zones of Gran Canaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your IFA Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Hotel Playa Del Ingles
IFA Continental Hotel Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing