We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IFA Continental Hotel
Ranked #23 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel back in September and can honestly say its one of the best hotels I have
stayed in, I have nothing to complain about whatsoever. Food is an excellent and everything about the hotel is stop on. This hotel deserves more than a 3 star rating. I don't no why some people moan, they have to remember its not a 5 star hotel. I would defo return!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,434 - 1,440 of 2,612 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

We have just been notifed today, 22nd November, 2013 at 12.06 via Truly Travel (owners of Beat the Brochure who we booked with) that our hotel booking for the IFA Continental commencing on Monday, 25th November has been overbooked and offering us an alternative at the IFA Buenaventura. We chose the IFA Continental because we have stayed there before and because of all the wonderful reviews it always gets. In my opinion the Buenaventura is not as good as the Continental. At this late stage, transfers have already been booked, trips arranged from this hotel and it was a "special" holiday for my husband's 65th birthday. I am extremely distraught at the change as the Buenaventura is NOT comparable, although also a 3*. Truly Travel have now come up with the Jardin del Atlantico ranked 113 out of 136 hotels, whereas the IFA Continental is ranked 18 out of 136 AND they are asking us to pay another £150.
Truly Travel blame their suppliers but I still don't know where we are staying as I am not very happy with the alternatives offered and I would like to know exactly WHO is to blame!!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Director de Relaciones Públicas at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear customer,

After reading your commentaries thoroughly we would like to apologize for those details which have caused your holidays not to be as pleasant as they should have and that in some way we have not been able to come up to your expectations.
We always try to solve problems in the fastest possible way even if it is only a small one.
Please be assured that we have taken notice of all your commentaries and opinions, since our aim is to improve our services day after day in order to reach the complete satisfaction of all our customers.


Yours sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Had a great stay here in October half Term. Hotel was lovely and clean and the rooms recently refurbished, were nice, clean comfortable with a lovely sea view. Food was excellent every day with plenty of choice, from salad, pasta, joints of meat, prawns, fish, chicken and veal. Fresh veg daily and nice cheeses and deserts. Breakfast choice was full English or continual with loads and loads of choice. Pool are was nice and clean with plenty of beds and umbrellas. Beach was a 5 min walk away and cost just 2.50 euro for bed for the whole day. Lovely little town with plenty of shops bars and restaurants.
On the downside, this hotel has no air conditioning which made it sometimes very uncomfortable and impossible to sleep. If you are going to stay here be aware that even in October the hotel is sometimes too hot.
The only other thing to mention is that the hotel really isn't that child friendly with few activities and a couple of very grumpy miserable life guards intent on trying to keep the kids quiet in the pool. I would however stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th or 7th floor as you can then sleep withbyour door open. There are plenty o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scramell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Gerente at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent holidays and also for your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are very happy that you had such a good time with us and we are especially glad about your positive valuation of our installations and particularly about your satisfaction with our employees and services. These qualities, as well as the mentioned care for details, are of great importance for us and we are delighted that we met your expectations.

As we have also explained in this way to another of our clients that coincide with your comment about no air conditioning in the hotel, this service is not reflected in neither of the different marketing channels (for example; corporate website, agencies, etc.)

Referring the part of your post about the children’s entertainment, and as a point of reference both to you and to any other possible future guest, we would like to clarify that the hotel have special entertainment program and activities for children from 4 to 12 years old - with a kid’s club called Panchi Club - available during school holiday seasons (Easter, July, August and Christmas time).

Once again we would like to thank you for your confidence in choosing our hotel and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With best regards,
Carlos Martínez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a great hotel and had a brilliant time very clean and staff was nice but there was a couple of things that niggled me 1st got told off by security for having a pool ball in the pool which was brought from the shop in there hotel but wasnt aloud a ball or inflatable lilo in the pool then 10 mins after they had a water polo match that they did as hotel entertainment evey day which made me think was weird and 2nd there simply wasn't enough sun beds for the size of the hotel felt the pool area was way to small for the amount of room the hotel had think I managed to get a sun bed one in the whole week I was there but eveything els was really nice and gran caneria is an amazing place to go :)

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank jay030688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Gerente at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing Gran Canaria and our hotel for your recent holidays and we for posting your opinion about your stay on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your detailed recapitulation and would like to thank you very much for letting us know the aspects of your stay, all which helps us to improve our services and provide the perfect holiday experience.
As we have also explained in this way to another of our clients that coincide with your comment about our norms in the pool area, there is not allowed to play with balls and lilos in the pools and the only target that this hotel pursues is to create an atmosphere of harmony and respect for the good cohabitation of the entire hotel’s guest. If any client doesn’t respect other guest's rest we always try to find a suitable solution for any kind of guest problem.
Once again, we thank you very much for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back at our hotel on a future holiday.
With kind regards,
Carlos Martínez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 11 night stay at this hotel, we had a lovely stay.

We arrived to a very warm welcoming from a guy called oct he was very nice and called me by my first name throughout the whole holiday. All staff are very friendly and always want to keep you happy. The guys at the bar at night are so lovely and chat away to you. The guys in the restaurant did not speak much, but we understood they were always busy.

The food was outstanding it would start at 7.30 you can have any type of breakfast you like right up to 10.30. At 11am the pool bar would open with more food and drinks open throughout the day. You can just ask at the bar if you don't want plastic. 1.30 the lunch would be served. The pool bar re open with more food. At 6.30 dinner you would be served. Then at 11pm more food. We felt like all we did was eat and drink lots to choose from.

The rooms do need updating but we only sleeped in them. We know there is no air con and we kept our balcony door open all day and every day our rooms were made up. Clean towels clean sheets a very clean hotel

The entertainment throughout the day is ok and Olga peter and Tim do a great job. The only downside is it takes a while to kick in during the evening so we just sat in bar area in reception which is really comfy.

The pool area is lovely and very relaxing. Just beware of the towel reserving after 30 mins it gets taken off. Which I think is fair as a lot of people leave them all day

The hotel is located right near a massive shopping center called tropical and bus station which we would recommend you take a trip to puteo Rico and puteo Morgan. Also a vist to the animal park is a yes.

The beach has a lot steps to get too but if you don't like steps there is a ramp for wheelchairs, which is ideal for people who don't like steps

If you want a good night out we would recommend sparkles at yumbo center cheap drinks and 3 euros in taxi

Over all hotel is ideal on location and would highly recommend it to couples as there is not much for kids


  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zoe2530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Gerente at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear guest,
Our customers’ happiness and satisfaction during their stay at our hotel motivate us to work every day with major enthusiasm trying to fulfill all our guests’ expectations and needs.
Thank you for having chosen our hotel for your holidays. We do hope that we will be able to welcome you again very soon.
Cordially yours,
Carlos Martínez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Booked this holiday last minute...it didn't disappoint us...Hotel lovely and clean, staff very helpful and couldn't do enough for you.Our room was on the 6th floor with a sea view which was nice.Room plenty big enough and food was very tasty and you had a lot of choice also.The hotels position was good 5 mins to the bus station and 10 mins to the beach only problem was all the steps down to the beach.The entertainment let itself down not good at all.Pool area and the pool was clean and relaxing.Also would like to say the Thomas Cook Rep was really good, very helpful and gave us loads of information about the place and what to do.We really enjoyed our visit and would come and visit again ......Well done.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view face the road so can be noisy..pool view quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Gerente at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your praise and for recommending our hotel to other travelers all over the world.
It has been a pleasure for us being your host and we would be delighted if you would choose our hotel for future holidays.
Best regards,
Carlos Martínez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Had a great 9 day holiday. Had a 6th floor room,which i would recommend.Brilliant view also room fantastically clean.Food variety was brilliant better than 4 and 5 stars iv,e stayed in.My only criticism was the entertainment.If they want people up dancing they should keep the 'entertainment' crew well away.It didn,t spoil a great trip.Would defo recommend.ps all staff lovely

Room Tip: High floors. I had room 610,which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnchisholm62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Gerente at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for evaluating your recent holidays at our hotel on Tripadvisor.
It was a real pleasure for us having you with us and we instantly hope to welcome you back on future holidays.
With best regards

With kind regards,
Carlos Martínez
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.2 mi away
Labranda Playa Bonita
Labranda Playa Bonita
#17 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,150 reviews
1.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,239 reviews
1.5 mi away
IFA Catarina Hotel
IFA Catarina Hotel
#28 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#20 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
816 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parque Tropical
Hotel Parque Tropical
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Continental Hotel

Address: Avenida de Italia 2, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#23 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £54 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Continental Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IFA Continental Hotel is situated very near to the centre of Playa del Ingles, a few minutes walk from Playa del Ingles beach, the promenade and numerous leisure and shopping centres. The magnificent Playa del Ingles, with its famous sand dunes and its 6 kilometers in length, offers a perfect setting to have long and pleasant walks next to the sea, besides being located next to one of the most enjoyable and entertaining tourist zones of Gran Canaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Hotel Playa Del Ingles
IFA Continental Hotel Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing