We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excillent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IFA Continental Hotel
Ranked #22 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Having arrived on the hotel was a nice welcome and staff at reception was nice, all in all the hotel is nice just odd bits that let it down like middle swimming pool was salty and lack of sun beds! And is hard to get a tablet and chairs outside a night. Exillent food!! You will not go hungry theres tons of food and a good range to choose from including diserts!. Rooms were nice and clean, bedroom and bathroom cleaned every day Also was my birthday when I was there and got a lovly knock on door from staff with a bottle of champaign 2 glasses and a card :). Walking down the sea front is nice just watch out for reps and africans selling totaly rubbish and grabbing your arms trying to put wrist bands on!. If your visiting you must go to holiday world 5 mins away in a taxi and yumbo centre I think its called also! ENJOY!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear guests,

We appreciate that you have left your review of our hotel in Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel. We will pass your comments to our staff to continue working with efficiency and enthusiasm.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations.
IFA Continental Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,238 - 1,244 of 2,564 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

No complaints what so ever..food was excellent the room was nice one minor criticism was no air con..pool was lovely staff were friendly..shopping centre 2 mins walk beach 5 mins walk away..Burger King & mcdonalds too..would deffo go back..julieann & rob from Doncaster

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank julieann w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

just returned from here and we thought everything was spot on..food 10/10 pool area 10/10 room 9/10 would of been 10 if it had had air con..shops 2 mins away..beach 5 mins walk..staff very friendly..plenty of pool activities aqua gym volleyball etc..no complaints what so ever got checked in very quick..we arrived at 9pm so they provided us with a buffet meal which was nice of them..nothing was too much trouble for anyone..loved it and would deffo go back..julieann & rob Doncaster

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank 'Julieann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I would rate this hotel as average, and its only a 3 star hotel so i suppose that's not bad!


We were given a room on the 6th floor with a lovely sea view, was not expecting this so this was a nice bonus and a good start to our holiday.

The room was nice enough, decorative and size was good, couldn't get used to having carpets in the room tho, thought this was a little odd, also there was no fridge or air conditioning and it did get a bit warm, I found it quite difficult to sleep for long in the humid temperature, but saying that i knew there was no air conditioning before we arrived but i thought it wouldn't be an issue. The pillows we had were like rocks, ive never experienced anything quite like it. Still, we didnt spend much time in the room so we were willing to overlook this.

The food was ok, we were all inclusive, i found something to eat every day but the quality was not the best, ive stayed in 2 other all inclusive s in Gran Canaria and i felt that this one was my least favorite. But like i said you will always find something to eat.

If you want a sunbed at the pool be up by 8am, They open the doors to the pool area at 8am and at 7.45 people are already waiting to run out and get the best spots, ive never noticed anything like this before.

The all inclusive drinks were good, you could help yourself to the beer and soft drinks and just ask the bar man for anything else you want and they were happy to help.

Location is great, 5 mins walk to the beach.

I have stayed in better hotels on the island, i doubt I would come back to this hotel.

There was nothing massively wrong with the hotel, just i think i want more quality when I go away and better food. I will definitely be booking a hotel with air conditioning a fridge and wifi, I like my comforts :)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for taking your time in leaving your review of our hotel in Tripadvisor.

We regret to know that your expectations of our services and facilities were not satisfied 100%.
It is really important for us the customers´ opinion, because it help us to improve our services. We will pass your comments to our different departments to let them know where we have to act.

We would appreciate your visit in our hotel in your next holiday.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations.
IFA Continental Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Before I start i just want to state that this review is purely on the hotel itself and reflects on nothing that I did or experienced outside of the hotel.

For ease I will also split each point of the hotel down in sections, ok here we go:

1. Presentation Of Hotel 3 out of 5

From the outside the hotel looked like a bunch of prison blocks but to be fair inside it was very nice and clean. The pool area was beautiful as it had plenty of plants, trees, and fountains e.t.c

2. Food 0 out of 5

This was a huge disappointed and I'm glad that as a family we opted for the BNB option rather than all inclusive because apart from the great range of variety that the hotel offered the food quality was shocking. And I'm not over exaggerating here when I say that this was one of the worst breakfasts that I have ever had anywhere, there was no English sausage, the bacon was greasy, the egg was way over done, the pancakes looked as if they were swimming in urine, it was poor. My partner also complained that the cereal was consistently stale.

Another problem was if you wernt all inclusive and you payed to have dinner there (only did a couple of times for convenience) you were badgered by the staff for not having a band on, even though we payed!!!!!! One night I was harrassed five times!!! Was not impressed.

3. Rooms 3 out of 5

The rooms were quite nice, although the bed was a little hard. The shower was the best shower that I have ever seen in a hotel, it was really powerful. Unfortunately the rooms did not have air con or even a ceiling fan so some nights were pretty uncomfortable. There is also no hairdryer

Other than that for a 3 star it was pretty good.

4. Swimming pools 3 out of 5

The pools were lovely and clean and they also look nice however there were a bit cold.

I hated the fact that you could not use balls and lilos which was a bit miserable to be honest.

Another major annoyance was how hard it was to get a sunbed you had to camp out by the sunbeds by around 8ish otherwhise they would remove your towels.

CONCLUSION

Overall I really enjoyed my holiday and we all had a great two weeks, there's a lot of great excursions to go on and the hotel is round the corner from the beach and plenty of shops, bars and restaurants but I would not particularly recommend the hotel to anyone it was mediocre at best with a few nice bits but I have stayed in a lot nicier, for a 3 star I suppose I shouldn't complain too Much but I feel with a few slights tweaks and adjustments the hotel could easily achieve a four star rating.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for having left your review of our hotel.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your holiday.
Although we have so many good reviews about the food in our hotel, we regret that you did not find it as you have expected and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay.
In order to improve our services, we will pass your comments to the departments involve.

We would like to welcome you again in our hotel if you decide to visit Gran Canaria.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations.
IFA Continental Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

me and my partner have just returned and it was perfect..the choice of food was immense..pool area spot on hotel room was what you expect from a room just one minor criticism was no air con in room..so just had the patio door open alot..but on the whole we loved it and would deffo go back..julieann & rob from doncaster

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 'Julieann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel the food is fab with so much choice. Rooms very clean and cleaned e every day. Lovely pools and great location for the beach about 2 mins walk. If you wanna go yumbo centre its bit 9f a walk so best to get a cab which only costs 3 euros. Am going back in October for second visit and would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you for having left your review of our hotel in Tripadvisor.

We appreciate a lot your comments and we are pleased to know that you have had a fantastic holiday in our hotel.

We are looking forward to your next visit in October.

Yours sincerely,

Public Relations.
IFA Continental Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
1.5 mi away
IFA Catarina Hotel
IFA Catarina Hotel
#28 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Labranda Playa Bonita
Labranda Playa Bonita
#17 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#122 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#19 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
802 reviews
1.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parque Tropical
Hotel Parque Tropical
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Continental Hotel

Address: Avenida de Italia 2, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#23 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £52 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Continental Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IFA Continental Hotel is situated very near to the centre of Playa del Ingles, a few minutes walk from Playa del Ingles beach, the promenade and numerous leisure and shopping centres. The magnificent Playa del Ingles, with its famous sand dunes and its 6 kilometers in length, offers a perfect setting to have long and pleasant walks next to the sea, besides being located next to one of the most enjoyable and entertaining tourist zones of Gran Canaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Hotel Playa Del Ingles
IFA Continental Hotel Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing