We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IFA Continental Hotel
Ranked #25 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 August 2014

very clean hotel lovely food lovely pool area there was a sunbed war as there isnt enough for the size of the hotal be up at 7.30 if you want a bed tho they do go round after a few hours and remove towels if you havent been back within that time which is good.room we had was at front on 4th floor was a lot of noice from pub/bar below but this didnt bother us all in all lovely weeks holiday

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,289 - 1,295 of 2,689 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just back from this hotel with my boyfriend, stayed for a week. The staff were friendly and helpful and the meals were good for all inclusive with a variety of different things to eat. The only problem I had with all inclusive was the alcohol. I felt it wasn't nice and didn't have a lot to choose from plus there own cocktails were horrible therefore we never drank alcohol in the hotel and just waited till we went out at night. Another thing is that if you are not up and down for the doors openings at the pool for 8 you will not get a sunbed that full day, there was a girl trying to reserve 8 sunbeds. The hotel is best for family's or couples. The maid that cleaned my room I could not fault, the place was spotless and nothing was stolen which I have experienced before. Our room was a low floor, our balcony faced out the entrance and exit of a motorway plus the delivery bit of the hotel was underneath us. There is no air conditioning in any of the rooms which we struggled with therefore we had to keep the doors open at night and would be woken up throughout the night from the noise of vehicles and early morning bin men and deliveries. We also had to pay for a safe which you don't get your money back. The location of the hotel is good apart from being next to motorway, its a 5min walk to beach and there is some shops and supermarkets nearby. We got a taxi to the Yumbo Centre most nights where we felt there's more nightlife. I think that this hotel could go to 4 stars if they got air conditioning put in each room and refurbished them and sort out some minor problems. I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Scots101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Director de Relaciones Públicas at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear customer,

It is one of the most important tasks for all the IFA Continental Hotel’s staff members to receive and analyse the opinions of our hotel guests. We do regret that in your case it seems that we have not been able to come up to your expectations and we are really thankful that you have sent us your commentaries.

We accept your opinion without discussing it and we would really like to welcome you again at our hotel in order to be able to show you that day after day we are working on our improvement. In any case, if you come back to Gran Canaria again, please do not hesitate to contact me so that I can greet you personally.

Yours cordially,
Public Relatios

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks 24th July. Family of 4, two teenagers aged 17 and 13 plenty for them to do and take part in. Entertainment team Yenia,Szymom and Yanani covered both day and evening entertainment which were both excellent. Buffet restaurant was of 4 or even 5 star quality. Plenty of choice and delicious and freshly cooked in front of you. Pool and jacqcuzis were lovely and refreshing after seating in the beautiful weather. Only disappointment was there was not enough lidos to go round, unless u were there at 8.30am every day waiting for the door to open. So had to settle for chairs around the bar area. Staff were always polite, rooms cleaned daily. Overall excellent holiday had by all the family.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernadette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is very well located if you don't want to take taxis to the beach, shops of local nightlife.
The staff are very friendly. And the Restaurant offers a wonderful buffet for breakfast, freshly prepaired bakery, fruit, continental and English breakfast.

The hotel is clean. And it has a nice poolarea with it's own bar.

I would recommend this hotel for winter holidays.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank GWebbFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

stayed here for the week 26 july very nice clean tidy hotel pleasent and helpfull
staff the food was great the pool was great and also the locatiopn for the beach
just a short walk awayThe only downside`s were the fact that there was no aircon in the room left the balcony door open but that alowed all the noise from the bin lorrys and the coach drop offs at 5am most days! The evening entertainment was poor the beds were hard as rock so were the pillows, internet was poor unless you paid 2euro`s a day we all say the germans were bad for sunbeds but the brit`s here were worse the staff were trying to overcome this problem but still more work to do i`m afraid!best tip we found was unless your prepaired to get up realy early(like you do for work every day) then just go to the beach in the morning and the pool late afternoon and you`l find they`l be sunbeds available.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Rik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Good Points - Food/drinks were good, rooms were always spotless (tipped cleaner Josephine)

Bad Points - Could only have half a pint unless buying a pint (partner was not impressed), stamped for sunbeds at 08.00 am people literally run for these, no balls games or lilos in pool (I find this outrageous), Dress code in resturant for men at dinner (t-shirts only NO vest) baring in mind this is only a 3 star, Wifi in bar hall not good loses connection.

Overall there were more bad points then good, honest review, would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LopesanHotelGroup, Director de Relaciones Públicas at IFA Continental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Dear Leanne H,

Thank you very much for having chosen the IFA Continental Hotel for your holidays and for the time you have taken to inform us about your opinion. After reading your commentaries we would like to say that we really feel sorry for not having fulfilled your expectations.

We are working day by day to be able to offer our guests the best service quality and efficiency, so that they may enjoy pleasant and unforgettable holidays.

It would be a pleasure for us if you decided to trust in our hotel again and to come back and visit us in the future so that you can see yourself that our services have improved and that satisfaction is guaranteed.

Thank you again for sending us your opinion.
Yours sincerely,
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

the hotel is very clean. The restaurant is kept to an equally high standard and there is a good choice of food. the pool area is good maybe could do with a bit more space this is borne out by the 8 o'clock stampede for sunbeds. The animation team are fun bubbly and have great personalities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
1.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,536 reviews
0.2 mi away
LABRANDA Playa Bonita
LABRANDA Playa Bonita
#17 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#125 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parque Tropical
Hotel Parque Tropical
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
485 reviews
1.1 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,754 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bull Eugenia Victoria & Spa
Bull Eugenia Victoria & Spa
#28 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Continental Hotel

Address: Avenida de Italia 2, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#24 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £70 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Continental Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IFA Continental Hotel is situated very near to the centre of Playa del Ingles, a few minutes walk from Playa del Ingles beach, the promenade and numerous leisure and shopping centres. The magnificent Playa del Ingles, with its famous sand dunes and its 6 kilometers in length, offers a perfect setting to have long and pleasant walks next to the sea, besides being located next to one of the most enjoyable and entertaining tourist zones of Gran Canaria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your IFA Continental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Hotel Playa Del Ingles
IFA Continental Hotel Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing