We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Ranked #3 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My husband and I have just spent 10 days in this hotel. We were greeted on arrival by Antonio who was so pleasant and helpful. Our room was a junior suite - very modern and quirky. We had booked half board which we do not usually do as we prefer to eat in different places in the evening but the food was excellent and there would not have been anything of similar standard in the surrounding area. It was so relaxing in the evening to sit and be served. Our son and daughter-in-law joined us for 7 days and were upgraded to a junior suite beside ours. Our son had a birthday when he was there and unknown to us the hotel presented him with a birthday cake at breakfast which was a nice touch. (we ate it in the evening). The hotel staff are so helpful and friendly. This was our first visit to Gran Canaria and this hotel certainly made us want to return.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite facing the sea
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,419)
There are newer reviews for Bohemia Suites & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

We've just spent 10 days here, on half board, in a junior suite with sea view and had a great time.
The hotel is very impressive, with its funky colours and furniture. The bed was huge and very comfortable and the suite was spacious, light and airy. The furniture in the suite was modern rather than comfy - no sinking into the settee or armchair! The rooms had air conditioning, but it had a minimum of 22C, which could have been lowered for us as it was still quite warm at night. The suite didn't have a bathtub, but the shower was a large cubicle, with an optional rain shower, and there was always plentiful hot water, as well as beautifully fluffy towels and bathrobes.
There is free Wi-Fi in the rooms, as well as a mini i-Mac in the suite. As a Windows user, this took a bit of getting used to, but it was high speed broadband and very useful. This uses the television as the screen. There are NO English channels , other than the main three news channels, which is disappointing, as there were many Brits staying there. There is a free film channel, though, which had a fair choice available. Unfortunately, this had a tendency to freeze often and you had to start from the beginning to fast forward if you wanted to view the rest of the film. In fact, this didn't always work, so you watched about three quarters of the film only!! The suite and the hotel in general was extremely clean. The coffee machine in the suite is an espresso machine, so you get very small, very strong coffee. We prefer tea, so they provided a kettle for us to use with our own teabags. Be aware, though, that they only have the one kettle available, so do take a travel kettle if you want tea! The hotel provides two 500ml bottles of water free every day, so you'll need to buy extra water.
Extras are expensive. For example, 500ml of water with your evening meal will put you back 4Euros, whereas at the local supermarket you can buy EIGHT litres of water for 1.12Euros. A Club sandwich at the pool bar was 14Euros, but it was big enough for two!
As we were on half board, we had the evening meal as part of the deal. Now, if you have wide tastes and enjoy Nouvelle Cuisine, you will love the food. Granted, the choice is limited to two for each course, but the food is well cooked and beautifully presented. For two retired Brits, who prefer their food plain and plentiful, this wasn't the best! Rather sloppy pureed potato (Smash, we'd call it!) doesn't really inspire us. It was a clear case of style over taste, but I wish to emphasise that this was due to our preferences only! The breakfast was superb!! Lots of choice, plenty of hot food cooked freshly for you and a vast array of cheeses, meats, etc. the serving staff are all fantastic and can't do enough to make sure you enjoy your meals. The views from the rooftop restaurant are superb too! Milda is extremely pleasant and will discuss and advise you on local attractions.
Without exception, the staff at the Bohemia are fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble and they respond immediately to any problems or queries. They even valet park your hired car for you!
We were pleased to have hired a car. This was inexpensive, costing us 134euros for 7 days, delivered to and collected from the hotel itself, from Cicar, online. The hotel's position is deceptively near the sea. It is on raised ground, so that you have to climb down (then UP of the way back) the equivalent of five hotel storeys of steps to get to the beach!! Although we didn't use them, the hotel pools did look rather small, if you imagined a full hotel in the height of summer.
We would recommend that you do hire a car and get out to see the island. The roads are not overcrowded and in excellent condition, even up in the mountains, where the views are spectacular! An added bonus is that petrol is just 1.05Euros a litre, i.e. less that £1!!
We had a very enjoyable holiday at the Bohemia and would like to thank the staff in general for their welcome and help. They cannot be faulted!

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and the views are great! The balcony gets the sun from sunrise until about...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I have just returned from a weeks stay in the Bohemia Suites and Spa with my husband and cannot speak highly enough about this hotel - everything is first class and I can only confirm all that previous guests have said. On arrival, we were greeted most warmly by Antonio and offered a very welcome drink of our choice while we were being booked in. We were then shown to our room which was actually an upgrade to a Junior Suite which was a lovely surprise. It was beautifully decorated in a modern style with a large comfortable bed with crisp white linen and large white fluffy towels. The large balcony with double sunbed was great and the moveable shutters to place the sun where you wanted it was a great idea..The breakfasts are amazing consisting of everything that any one could want all freshly prepared including cafetiere coffee which is what I prefer but is seldom on offer. Dinner in the lovely circular dining room at the top of the hotel is a delight and although someone has commented on the fact that there are only 2 choices of starter, main and desert, this suited me perfectly and whatever I had was imaginatively prepared,beautifully presented and tasted great. Although the resort was not what I would normally choose, I prefer something smaller, but the hotel will certainly draw me back there and I have sung its praises to friends and family.

Room Tip: Probably the best rooms for a view would be on the 6th and 7th floors
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lymington1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have just returned from La Bohemia after a week's break. After a flight from Bournemouth we arrived to be greeted warmly by the reception staff. We were offered a welcome drink whilst completing the registration formalities and then taken on a personal tour of all the facilities.

Finally we were taken to our room (408) which in fact was a junior suite. This was a very pleasant surprise as we had expected a double room.

The decor is all very "designer" with good quality fittings; wifi available, and all the technology one could wish for.

The general friendliness and professionalism of all the staff made the whole stay relaxing and enjoyable.

The food in the 360 restaurant was delicious and the cocktails from the bar were very drinkable. The barman even made me a special cocktail on the last evening - again, a lovely, personal touch.

The only shame is that the surrounding area does not quite match the 5* hotel ambience. The dunes nearby are amazing. Just a note that there were quite a few nudists wandering around!!!

We hired a car to drive inland over the mountains to Teror - well worth it, to see the diverse countryside.

All in all a perfect hotel - if we go back to Gran Canaria we would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank millgood0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Lovely hotel great reception and wonderful staff. Food very nice, good selection at breakfast ,two choice three course eve meal, dessert really only one as plate of cheese offered which was bit tasteless .Restaurant beautiful with great views but found some of seats too low, they looked good but winch needed to get up! 4€ small bottle of water bit excessive! Room was fine if bit cramped no drawers to put things in just one shared wardrobe,bed comfy and nice linen.No comfy seats except rock hard light up ones on balcony very odd! All in all nice winter break but resort on the whole not to our liking.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank angieWirral_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at the Bohemia for 6 days at the beginning of January. We simply loved it and enjoyed returing to the hotel every single day when we had been out.
The view from the restaurant, where breakfast is also served, is stunning, the food was excellent (had dinner there once), and the whole place lives and breathes a relaxed luxurious atmosphere.
Because winds outside were quite chilly during 2 days, we used the sauna, which was clean, empty, and felt like the perfect way to combine it with long walks on the windy beach.
Everybody at the hotel has a big smile on their face and is super nice, we have rarely ever experienced such friendly staff.
The one and only thing we would like to mention is that the cleaning and evening zservice as well as filling up the mini bar and coffee machine were slightly sloppy. We had to remind them to refill or of some other minor things, which again was always immediately done in a very fast and friendly way. It felt like this team might need some clearer guidance.
In summary, we had a hyper relaxing time in a beatiful setting, enjoying the sunrise from our terrace every morning. We will definitely return!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank estherdee1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I had the enormous privilege of staying in this hotel over the Xmas period (2013) and I have to say from the moment I arrived (drink of your choice on arrival at reception) to the time I had to leave, the experience was nothing short of 5 star luxury all the way! I felt like a film star! I really don't know where to start with the praise for this new boutique hotel. I was advised that it is only 14 months old but it really has made the other hotels in Playa Del Ingles sit up and take notice!
The food is prepared by a Michelin trained chef and as I had the full board package, I really didn't need to leave the hotel for anything. I am no serious foodie but once again, I have to say, I have never ever tasted food prepared, presented and eaten in such an amazing restaurant which was The Sky Bar. The views from up there alone sell the place!
The plunge pools, the outdoor jacuzzi, the pool service, mixed with towels all laid out for your arrival were really nice touches.
The room I had was amazing with full size apple TV. Complimentary fruit basket as well. The rain shower is also something of superior quality.
Going up on the glass lift to the 8th floor to The Sky Bar at night time with all of Playa Del Ingles shimmering and glistening below was some spectacle.
To finish, I would like to say that the staff at this hotel really were first class. Nothing was ever a problem.
Can you tell I enjoyed myself? You bet I did! I will be returning to this beautiful hotel as soon as possible as I have never ever had such an experience like this in Gran Canaria.

Room Tip: Best views from floors 2 and above
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.1 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,551 reviews
2.0 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
2.0 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohemia Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohemia Suites & Spa

Address: Avda. Estados Unidos, 28, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £181 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bohemia Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bohemia Suites & Spa, a sophisticated lifestyle oasis for adults surrounded by the volcanic beauty of Gran Canaria, combines luxury with multifunctional surroundings and offers a secluded setting for guests to get pampered in total peace and privacy. By transforming what was once a run-down building into a modern, ocean-front hotel, Bohemia Suites &Spa has created a place where friends can meet, share ideas and belong. At Bohemia's rooftop restaurant, a spacious indoor-outdoor space, guests mingle with one another while soaking up panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean and the softly undulating dunes of Maspalomas. Lime-infused cocktails are sipped next to huge panoramic windows that open widely, while diverse Mediterranean and Asian flavors are fused flawlessly on the plates of local diners. In the sultry Siam Thai Spa, Mandala-inspired treatment marquees and rooms provide a tranquil setting for original Thai massages by Thai therapists. Meanwhile, fragrant aromatherapy baths of jasmine, mint and lemon let guests revel in complete secluded luxury. Outside, waves and warm breezes provide the perfect conditions for kite surfing and other water sports. Bohemia's 67 rooms and suites are fully integrated living spaces, where balconies and bedrooms merge seamlessly into one. Rich mahogany floors, native olive-wood furnishings and shades of yellow, purple and terracotta harmonize with the natural environment, rooting guests firmly in the heart of this sun-scorched volcanic island. Bohemia Suites & Spa is an adults-only retreat combining sensory spa experiences with a native design concept that allows its guests the freedom to connect with the jagged volcanic landscape of the Canary Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bohemia Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohemia Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Bohemia Suites And Spa
Apolo Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Bohemia Suites & Spa Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing