We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Axel @ Pride”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AxelBeach Maspalomas
Ranked #8 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
HASTINGS
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Axel @ Pride”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

After a good stay at the Axel Hotel Berlin at Easter we changed our booking to stay at the Axel Apartments in Maspalomas. These apartments used to be TUI First Choice Holidays Liberty 2 apartments. The transformation is excellent, modern decor, clean, airy and fresh. The Gym and Spa facilities are superb and after being to the area many times before, these apartments provide a sea change to the resort and will help Maspalomas modernise for the 21st Century Gay Traveller in context to other apartments that I have stayed in that are still in the 70s. The Matinee pool party was excellent and the music ensured the location stayed lively over the Pride event which one would expect. It is worth paying the extra for the pool view as good view across the resort in context to the road. As the apartments had just opened there were issues such as no international TV and the Wi Fi is very slow at peak times each web page could take 120 seconds to load, however between 6am to 9am when most people were asleep the wi fi was faster. A larger data pipe to overcome this is required as I mentioned when I was at the Berlin Axel which was slightly faster than the Axel Maspalomas. The check out was painfully slow, the staff are very friendly but they could not tell from the computer if I had paid or not and usual process was to collect payment at check in which we thought we had done. The Airport Bus 66 stops at the Playa Del Sol apartments a few minutes walk away from the back exit of the accommodation, there is also a night bus to airport that also stops at the Playa Del Sol we useful for late or early flights.

Room Tip: pool view worth paying extra for as great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RayChapmanHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us and thank you very, very much for your great opinion!!
We inform you that we are working everyday for an excellent service and your opinion are very helpfull.
Hope to see you soon with us!!
Best regards,
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    399
    167
    63
    26
See reviews for
17
688
270
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

These are very nice apartments, partly refurbished. The staff are very helpful, everything is spotlessly clean and the food/drink is good quality. The pool area is particularly nice with the high class sun loungers and parasols. There are some bad points though. When we first checked in there were no batteries for the TV remote. Two of the door handles were broken. One of the bathroom wall tiles was loose. Some of the staff don't speak good English and the bar service is very slow when ordering food. There were pool parties when we stayed because it was Pride. I didn't want to sunbathe whilst they were going on, but I would've sunbathed if part of the pool was sectioned off during the parties. The music didn't bother me, but as a paying guest I expect to sunbathe in relative comfort, something I didn't want to do. Very close to Yumbo and relatively good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drumsanton1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your opinion and for staying with us during the GayPride Maspalomas.
I would like to inform you about the restaurant service and the pool party it was exceptional, because we had a lot of public in our SKYBAR during that time.
Hope it is not an inconvinience and you can visit us again.
Thank you so much
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Music to high all day long in the garden and late in the evening. Room over poll noisy.
Very small sauna and Hammam. Very good swimming pool
Breakfast is basic.
They want to create a style not in synch with the city. Very good for princess.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AthaoParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BORJAJULIA, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your comments.
We are very sorry about the music, but it was an exception because it was Gay Pride Week and we did a lot of parties in our SKYBAR, like La Leche from Matinee Group.
Also I would like to apologize about our breakfast buffet that we are changing and doing better for you and other guest who think like you. We just open First of May and we are improving.
Hope you can give us another oportunity and see you again with us.
Thank you in advance
Borja Julia
Axel Beach Maspalomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,566 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#12 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Barbacan Hotel
Sol Barbacan Hotel
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
915 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AxelBeach Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AxelBeach Maspalomas

Property: AxelBeach Maspalomas
Address: Avda. Tirajana no 32 | Entrance by C / Timple, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — AxelBeach Maspalomas 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new AxelBeach Maspalomas - Apartments & Lounge Club offers the best experience and fun of the island with the best atmosphere, facilities and leisure so you can enjoy your holiday in Gran Canaria, both day and night.Located in Maspalomas, just 1.5 Km from the sea, the new AxelBeach Maspalomas has 92 modern apartments, distributed over 4 floors and perfectly equipped to provide the maximum comfort and convenience. The complex, for adults only, has also several leisure areas conceived and designed exclusively for you to find the Axel cool atmosphere and the most cospomolitan meeting.Outside we can find the Sky Bar, the most crowded space in Axel and ready to live moments of fun, with a great outdoor pool in which you can refresh, sunbathing and disconnect in the sun loungers, moreover you can attend the best events and parties we organize throughout the season. A few meters away there is the Axel Lounge Garden, located in a large and pleasant garden area surrounded by Palm trees that make it the ideal place to relax and escape from the world. If you are a fitness addicted, the hotel has an own tennis track in the same facilities, this is your place along with the Axel Wellness, a fully equipped gym with dry and wet saunas and massage cabins to shape your body and chill your mind. Axel Wellness will give you the chance to meet new people and socialize as it's usual at the Axel Hotels.AxelBeach Maspalomas offers free Wi-fi connection in the public areas as well as car and bike rental service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your AxelBeach Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AxelBeach Maspalomas Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing