We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AxelBeach Maspalomas
Ranked #9 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A really good hotel, with a fantastic pool.

The rooms had a/c and the wifi worked fairly well in my room.

I really enjoyed my stay here. The clientele is 90% gay, but it describes itself as 'heterofriendly'.

The atmosphere when I stayed there was pretty friendly. The staff were very good.

There is also a reasonably well-equipped gym and a spa offering treatments.

My room had a kitchenette area and a balcony.

It is more expensive to stay on the poolside - I stayed on the other side, but it did have some road noise. I closed the windows and put the ac on.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sceptre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and your time in giving us the opportunity to improve our services. We greatly appreciate the confidence you have placed in us as your landmark hotel in Maspalomas.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2014

The Good:
Location: very safe and secure on a quiet street and only 7 minute walk to Yumbo Centre.
Staff:Polite,helpful & also respectful of privacy.
Bed:Large double bed (not 2 beds pushed together)-comfortable & for me the pillows were fine.
Cleanliness:Room was cleaned daily. They even clean any dishes you leave in the sink which I thought was a lovely touch.
Pool: pleasant pool area,plenty of sun beds & soft chill out music.
Overnight guests are allowed,no fuss unlike other hotels here.
Free wifi: Great when it works but like most wifi in the Canary's it is patchy. OK for checking e-mails but not for streaming videos.
Bathroom: Lovely,modern & with free toiletries. There is only a shower,no bath.

The not so good:
Room: The room is not one that will take your breath away,it is just average. The kitchen & lounge area have been painted a dark charcoal that is a bit oppressive. There are no bedside tables.
Kitchen: NO Kettle despite website saying there is a kettle. The crockery,esp the glasses and cutlery, were tired-glasses had ring marks on them. No wine glasses,just tumblers. The fridge,even on a low setting,freezes anything you leave in there after a couple of days-including milk,orange juice. Be warned! Also, I had to ask for the fridge to be emptied as it was stocked as a mini bar-the staff were happy to do this.
TV: It's free but I found only one English language channel-BBC World.

I felt this hotel was very keen to sell you extra's such as Spa treatments,massage, pricey cocktails. As a budget traveler I felt a bit uncomfortable as I couldn't afford all the extra's. This is not a cheap hotel & I think for the price they could concentrate on getting some of the basics like room decor,crockery & fridge right. I got a strong sense of the pink pound being milked for all it's worth,but it's your choice to buy into that,I didn't.

In conclusion I would say that this was a perfectly serviceable & acceptable hotel but I doubt I would stay here again as it's a little overpriced & not really designed for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich_the_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Customer,

thanks for your comments about Axel Maspalomas Beach. I am pleased to read that you have been at home with us, because that's our challenge. We try to improve every day our quality and service to make you feel at home.

Looking forward to see you again in the near future and hoping that the changes we are making that will be to your liking.

Best Regards,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My first stay in an Axel-hotel. Stayed one week in april. The check-in went without any problems. The cute guy in the reception tryed to upsell to a room With view to the pool but didn't suceed ;) I liked the room facing west giving me the afternoon sunshine which is very Nice. The trafic is not that busy anyway and it was all very nicely isolated was my experience. Big room With the Things you will expect.

The best thing that I found was the pool-area. Lounge-feel, calm and quiet and having the possibility to buy drink and Food whenever you want to.

The gym at the hotel is not that big but Works for getting ready for the nightlife at the Yumbo which is like only a 3 min walk frm the hotel.

If you are looking to go by foot to the Beach be aware of a 4km walk. No problem really - but not a 15min walk as they told me in the reception.

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel but will agree With others that the exterior is more updated than the enterior of the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We are really pleased That you stayed with us During your last visit in Maspalomas. Thank you so much for your opinion, try to improve every day our quality and service to make you feel at home.
We are really near to Jumbo and your opinion acerca our location it's very helpful for us, but specially for other Trip Advisor visitors.

Our staff is at your disposal 24h to help you enjoy the island That each option can offer you.

We hope to see you very soon here again with us.

Best Regards,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had a great time staying in the axel beach appartments we had our doubts after reading a few bad revieuws, but we booked it! We did change rooms to the pool side not because of the noise of the streetthat didnt botter us at ll but the vieuw is much better.
The staff was fantastic the reception, the waiters, and the cleaning, all very very friendly!
Great swimming pool where you can chill in the sun with chill out music. The appartments where basic but good, bathroom, small kitchen to make yourself a coffee.
Great stay we will go back for sure!!!
ps dont mind to much the bad revieuws I guess they werent very happy people so very very difficult to please them ;-)

Room Tip: we prefer the pool side becuase its a better vieuw. The other side has sun in the afternoon evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitch_bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the magnificent reviews and the confidence you have placed in us as Axel Beach.
We always try to offer the best service and quality to our guests and we are delighted that you value our efforts; please we invite you to repeat with us and be part of Axel hotels at other times.
Hope to see you soon
Kind Regards,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I have previously stayed at the former liberty apartments many years and also at other axel hotels so I was very intrigued when the price of this one came up to be quite reasonable.

Firstly they have now moved the front reception to the back of the building making it more of a journey when returning at night from the yumbo, a bit of a pain but nothing to gripe about too much. Reception staff were always helpful and friendly.

The rooms have definitely had a good lick of paint and this is very refreshing indeed but the bathroom did look tired with mould gathering at the sides, also hot water was not that great in busy times.

The rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed etc but this is expected I think. There were amenities to be had but this too seemed minimal and very bare essential.

The pool and it's surrounding area looks good, service was attentive and towels given out, wifi throughout my stay was great everywhere in the hotel which for me is the redeeming factor.

Would I stay again? I guess at this price range I would but the hotel lacks basics that would really enhance the customer experience, for example after I had checked out I had to use their complimentary shower room which had no hot water.

Looking forward to my next stay very soon.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank NobleWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We have taken note of your comments and hope to remedy soon, in order to improve our quality and service.
We really appreciate your time and your opinion.

I hope to see you soon in Axel Beach Maspalomas or at one of our Axel Hotels around the world.

Yours Sincerely,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1st 3 nights on our holiday & generally impressed with the hotel. However they have strange door notice which include one to invite anyone to come into ur room. So be careful what u put out on ur door or get any Tom Dick or Harry knocking on ur door. The major fault however is there is no sound proofing between rooms, so if you have a neighbor who is viagra bunny on speed, then expect to hear every groan & banging all night! We try ask to change room but got refused. Shame because otherwise this will be a nice place & not just a knocking shop.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hidden_tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would really like to thank you for your opinion and the time you have spent on it. In Axel Beach Maspalomas, we always try to improve our services so that our customers can enjoy the hotel and its facilities.

I would also like to apologize if your room was not as your expectations, but we put the reception staff at your disposal for any issues during your stay 24h a day, they will be more than happy to find a solution for that problem and make your experience exactly as you expected.

At the same time, we will take note of your comments, that we hope to remedy soon with the aim to further improve our quality and service.

I hope you can give us a second chance and we can see you soon with us at any of our Axel Hotels.

Best regards,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We have just had our third trip to Axel Beach, following on from three when it was Liberty, obviously the staff that stayed on know us and make us feel very welcome, and the new Axel staff, i.e.Alex also made us feel welcome, the rooms are basic but more than adequate for a week's holiday, the pool is disappointing in that it is not heated, and the free wifi needs a boost, but breakfast and bar service are great, Carmelo and Javier are stars. there is a girl who works the bar in the afternoon and her name escapes me but she is a rockstar ;o) We are going back in June for a week and are looking forward to it, it is our go to place for a week in the sun not too far from the UK.

Room Tip: We like the road side rooms because you get the evening sun and it is not that noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LpoolEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comment about Axel Beach Maspalomas!!
i'm pleased that you been in our hotel. We strive to provide the best service and maintaining an enjoyable atmosphere. Nothing is more important to us than well being of our customers.

We look forward to seeing you here again in the not-too-distant future.
Thank you too for comming!!

Best Regards,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,536 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,680 reviews
2.3 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#8 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,336 reviews
0.2 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#24 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,962 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AxelBeach Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AxelBeach Maspalomas

Address: Avenida Tirajana no 32 | Entrance by C / Timple, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £64 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AxelBeach Maspalomas 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new AxelBeach Maspalomas - Apartments & Lounge Club offers the best experience and fun of the island with the best atmosphere, facilities and leisure so you can enjoy your holiday in Gran Canaria, both day and night.Located in Maspalomas, just 1.5 Km from the sea, the new AxelBeach Maspalomas has 92 modern apartments, distributed over 4 floors and perfectly equipped to provide the maximum comfort and convenience. The complex, for adults only, has also several leisure areas conceived and designed exclusively for you to find the Axel cool atmosphere and the most cospomolitan meeting.Outside we can find the Sky Bar, the most crowded space in Axel and ready to live moments of fun, with a great outdoor pool in which you can refresh, sunbathing and disconnect in the sun loungers, moreover you can attend the best events and parties we organize throughout the season. A few meters away there is the Axel Lounge Garden, located in a large and pleasant garden area surrounded by Palm trees that make it the ideal place to relax and escape from the world. If you are a fitness addicted, the hotel has an own tennis track in the same facilities, this is your place along with the Axel Wellness, a fully equipped gym with dry and wet saunas and massage cabins to shape your body and chill your mind. Axel Wellness will give you the chance to meet new people and socialize as it's usual at the Axel Hotels.AxelBeach Maspalomas offers free Wi-fi connection in the public areas as well as car and bike rental service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your AxelBeach Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AxelBeach Maspalomas Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing