We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff and ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AxelBeach Maspalomas
Ranked #8 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here in 2012 when it was liberty and enjoyed it then! And enjoyed it even more this time, the reception staff were warm and welcoming. The restaurant staff were gr at nothing was too much trouble and they made our holiday. The sauna, steam room and gym are great additions. We will definitely be back! So please don't change the staff because they work hard to make people feel welcome.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Winsome P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great opinion!!
We really appreciate your time to give us your opinion, for us is always welcomed our guests help to improve our services.
We are pleased to have had you with us and hope to see you soon at any of our worldwide Axel Hotels.

Million thanks,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 1,692 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very clean and a good standard. Thw price we paid was ok but varied amongst what other guests had paid. Some got pool view and breakfast for same price as others without. If you are gay and don't stay here, don't think you are missing out because you are not. If you get a reasonable rate its worth staying but do NOT pay over the odds. Bathrooms would benefit from an update but not if it would raise the price. Air con effective and much needed! Nice hotel overall with great jacuzzi area.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Shaunap999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the magnificent reviews and the confidence you have placed in us as Axel Beach.
We always try to offer the best service and quality to our guests and we are delighted that you value our efforts; please we invite you to repeat with us and be part of Axel hotels.
Hope to see you soon
Kind Regards,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Axel beach hotel

Very friendly staff on reception very clean apartment. air conditioning very good.Had to pay 2 euros a day for the safe. And there is a toaster coffee maker and some cutlery in the room and we just had a light breakfast.Pool area very clean just a bit expensive for drinks. there is a supermarket just round the corner from the apartment that sells lots of fresh pastries and breakfast items. And alcohol.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the magnificent reviews and the confidence you have placed in us as Axel Beach.
We always try to offer the best service and quality to our guests and we are delighted that you value our efforts; please we invite you to repeat with us and be part of Axel hotels.
Hope to see you soon
Kind Regards,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of mates to celebrate a big birthday. The room was really nice, the food good and the location was great for getting home from the Yumbo. I especially liked the gardens and pool area which were very clean and well maintained. Also a special mention to the staff who were really friendly and helpful.

I found it to be more stylish and less party orientated than I imagined...I didn't see any 'please disturb' signs on the door (not that I was especially looking). I think the hotel might therefore suit a wide range of people.

Only complaint would be that the cleaners were a bit too keen to clean the room and sometimes I needed a lie in to cope with hangovers.

All in all a great hotel.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank 1cosmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us during your last visit in Maspalomas. Also thank you for your opinion and for sharing it with all travelers on Trip Advisor. Your opinion it´s very helpful for us and we really appreciate you take your time and give us your point of view about us.

We hope to see you very soon,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 8 nights at this hotel and would have left after 1 night had I not prepaid. On arrival the apartment smelt of sewerage. The staff sprayed deodorants in the room to try to hide the smell. After 3 days and two more complaints I insisted on a new room. I was moved immediately. The worst thing about this is the staff know there is a problem and blame the shift in prevailing winds. They still use the rooms even when the hotel is not fully occupied.
There was also a problem with the lack of hot water.
Guests place towels on pool sunloungers even though there is signage asking not to. The staff ignore this situation and do nothing about it even when chairs are reserved for a whole day and not used. Some guests threaten others when their towels have been moved.
This would not happen if staff did their job properly and policed the situation.
Staff just don't care what happens at this hotel. I could say more about what happened whilst I stayed at the hotel but it would not be allowed by trip advisor as it would be outside their guidlines. Would I ever stay in a Axel Hotel again or ever recommend them to my friends? NEVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank collib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would really like to thank you for your opinion and the time you have spent on it. In Axel Beach Maspalomas, we always try to improve our services so that our customers can enjoy the hotel and its facilities.

I would also like to apologize if your room was not as your expectations, but we put the reception staff at your disposal for any issues during your stay 24h a day, they will be more than happy to find a solution for that problem and make your experience exactly as you expected.

At the same time, we will take note of your comments regarding the breakfast, that we hope to remedy soon with the aim to further improve our quality and service.

I hope I can give a second chance and we can see you soon with us at any of our Axel Hotels.

Best regards,

Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

First time and won't return, but that's not bacause of Axel...

The rooms are spaceous; seperate bedroom with large bed, storage and safe, large sitting area/living room with TV (with little on it, but we didn't come to watch Eurosports or CNN anyway), kitchenette and fridge allowing you to keep and prepare food and drinks. Bathroom somewhat dated, but all clean and fresh towels every day. Housekeeping quality was excellent; clean, flexible when sleeping in late and very friendly!
The pool side was pleasant; OK music and food (though a matter of taste obviously), friendly staff and good quality of drinks. Unfortunately the jacuzzi was broken for the large part of our stay, which was a pity as this was a very cozy corner (...). Wifi quality can be improved: Especially when the boys were looking at their screens rather than of who was in front of them, bandwith was insufficient.

The beaches are nice, the walk through the dunes is a stunning one. Also when you do not enjoy cruising. Tip; avoid the first 25 minute walk through the concrete jungle with its screaming signs and advertising and take a taxi to the Riu beach front hotel for about 2,75EUR.

The reason we won't be coming back as said is definitely not Axel, but GC itself; the Yumbo Centre is indeed at a 5 minute walk, but what a nightmare this place is.... Loud in a bad way, expensive but poor food, exclusively caterering for those who enjoy food as it is prepared at home, regardless if you're from Germany, UK, Sweden etc etc... Kebab and bratwurst galore! Unfortunately, other commercial centres are as horrible and loud. We did not realize we would be traveling in low season in June, but cannot imagine that this would have improved things, other than that some tourist shops and pizza-huts might not be closed for their own holidays.We really made an effort to get away from it; if there is a hidden gem somewhere, we did not manage to find it.

With a rental car, we explored the island some more; other towns were as touristic as the Maspalomas area. DO head into the mountains though; stunning views and rough terrain.

So, Axel is a safe little haven in between the shouting lads and lasses - nice hotel but unfortunately on the wrong island.

Room Tip: Don't book pool view; BE the pool view! (non-pool view also gets you the afternoon sun on you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iPieterbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,
We greatly appreciate the magnificent reviews and the confidence you have placed in us as Axel Beach.
We always try to offer the best service and quality to our guests and we are delighted that you value our efforts; please we invite you to repeat your trip and be part of Axel hotels.
Hope to see you soon
Kind Regards,
Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed here for a week in June and was very impressed with the quality of the accommodation. I stayed on both the road side and the pool side and enjoyed both. Whilst you do get some noise from the road, it isn't that loud and plus you get the afternoon/evening sun. The pool side has a nice view admittedly and you can hear the music at the pool.

The rooms are clean and modern looking. A big step up from the quality of the rooms in other hotels. A small kitchenette provides basic untensils, cutlery etc. Adequate enough to make a light meal/snack. The fridge also contained the mini bar. Whilst I only had a few bits in the fridge I would have preferred not to have had it stocked with mini bar items. I guess reception would have emptied this had I requested.

Breakfast was good. A good selection of continental items and a small selection for scrambled egg, bacon and beans. Breakfast was served until 11.00 and it was nice being able to sit outside next to the pool.

The pool area is large and clean. The sun loungers are comfortable and not your standard plastic ones. The gardens are well kept. The pool bar is great; the staff are friendly and offer lounger service during the day. You can also get a towel from the bar for use at the pool.

There is a gym, sauna and spa on site however I didn't use these facilities.

The location of the of the hotel is perfect for the Yumbo, approx 5 minutes walk.

All staff I came across were very friendly and helpful. Reception staff were great when we had various questions or requested recommendations. Cleaners were thorough and always offered a smile and 'ola.

I have been to Playa Del Ingles many times and have stayed in a variety of standards of accommodation. I was very impressed with what the Axel chain have created here. I think they really have upped the bar when it comes to the standard of self-catering apartments in the gay friendly/gay exclusive accommodation, not only in the quality of the rooms but also in the atmosphere in the communal areas of the hotel.

My only gripe is that the price seems to have increased however even this hasn't stopped be from booking the Axel Beach for my next trip to GC in October.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LovetheSun82London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AXELBEACH M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great comment about Axel Beach Maspalomas!!
I'm pleased that you been in our hotel. We strive to provide the best service and maintaining an enjoyable atmosphere. Nothing is more important to us than well being of our customers.
We look forward to seeing you here again in the not-too-distant future.
Thank you too for coming!!
Best Regards,
Cristina Cañas
General Manager
Axel Beach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,903 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,307 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 218 in Maspalomas
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AxelBeach Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AxelBeach Maspalomas

Address: Avda. Tirajana no 32 | Entrance by C / Timple, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £61 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — AxelBeach Maspalomas 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new AxelBeach Maspalomas - Apartments & Lounge Club offers the best experience and fun of the island with the best atmosphere, facilities and leisure so you can enjoy your holiday in Gran Canaria, both day and night.Located in Maspalomas, just 1.5 Km from the sea, the new AxelBeach Maspalomas has 92 modern apartments, distributed over 4 floors and perfectly equipped to provide the maximum comfort and convenience. The complex, for adults only, has also several leisure areas conceived and designed exclusively for you to find the Axel cool atmosphere and the most cospomolitan meeting.Outside we can find the Sky Bar, the most crowded space in Axel and ready to live moments of fun, with a great outdoor pool in which you can refresh, sunbathing and disconnect in the sun loungers, moreover you can attend the best events and parties we organize throughout the season. A few meters away there is the Axel Lounge Garden, located in a large and pleasant garden area surrounded by Palm trees that make it the ideal place to relax and escape from the world. If you are a fitness addicted, the hotel has an own tennis track in the same facilities, this is your place along with the Axel Wellness, a fully equipped gym with dry and wet saunas and massage cabins to shape your body and chill your mind. Axel Wellness will give you the chance to meet new people and socialize as it's usual at the Axel Hotels.AxelBeach Maspalomas offers free Wi-fi connection in the public areas as well as car and bike rental service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AxelBeach Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AxelBeach Maspalomas Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing