We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and staff but restaurant could be better”
Review of HL Hotel Rondo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
HL Hotel Rondo
Ranked #42 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great room and staff but restaurant could be better”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I wanted to give a 5 but we felt so ripped off in the restaurant every night as they didn't supply even a basic soft drink meaning that our paid for HB meals costs again what we would have spent if we self-catered. We didn't expect alcohol or posh drinks, just water or squash or anything. We also had regular problems finding a table for 5 and the only solution we were given was to come back later, we got no help. Given getting 3 youngsters to dinner was a mammoth task we didn't appreciate having to have several goes at it.

The rooms were perfect for a family of young kids (though had to keep the balcony closed off) as they were spacious and not too posh to be scared of them touching the walls. The restaurant staff at busy times sometimes got a bit curt, but the rest of the time were lovely.

The pools were great, the reception staff and cleaners friendly. We'd go back if we could figure out the drink issue. We would consider self-catering/bb if they do it but their kitchens aren't really equipped for cooking much.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StarlightMcKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    141
    38
    11
    9
See reviews for
74
121
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Spent a week here in January 2014. Our first family holiday abroad so a lot of apprehension about whether we picked the right hotel etc! we need not have worried.
We had a room overlooking the pool. Room spacious and clean. Very little English channels available on TV but we never in room long enough to watch so was no issue for us.
We were all inclusive and had no complaints about the food, always plenty of variety. All inclusive stops at 10.30pm so have to pay for drinks after this time. As a smaller hotel, the bar staff tend to pick up on your favorite tipple and never needed to ask when we went to bar. Staff always friendly and paid attention to guests regardless of their nationality. The hotel had few British guests but this was not an issue for us either. Our kids still managed to make friends with other children from other countries (mainly due to the excellent animation team who would help translate). My kids 12, 10 and 8 loved the animation team who tried hard at all times to get both the kids and parents involved. Activities during the day were held across the road at the Miraflor apartments. We spent most of our time during the day at the miraflor as was enclosed (accessed using room card) so us parents could relax while kids were in the pool or being entertained by the animation team! We felt that it was more child friendly at the miraflor as appeared to be a lot of older guests by the pool at the hotel. At night, a mini disco was held in the hotel. Entertainment definitely geared around the children and there some acts (mainly animals, dancing) brought in! We never ventured far, however there is plenty of nightlife, pubs, clubs and shopping complexes close by at the Mumba (only a 5 minute walk away).
Overall was a brilliant first holiday abroad and we would return!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emmhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Manager at HL Hotel Rondo, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Emma,

we wish to thank you for your positive feedback posted on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that you and your family had a fantastic time on your first holiday abroad and that your kids enjoyed so much with our entertainers and you as parents enjoyed our lovely garden at the Miraflor Suites.

Once again we would like to thank you for your nice words and hope to welcome you back on a future holiday with friends and family!

Warmest regards,

the Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hjorring, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

First impressions were nice and clean all around. The hotel is family friendly, and we enjoyed our vacation. We were all inclusive costumers, and we felt we came in second place instead of paying costumers. Everytime we needed something paying costumers came first instead of us. Breakfast is very nice, and dinner is also okay. But lunch was boring, and looked like leftovers from yesterdays dinner. The pool bar was not always with staff, and we often had to wait for the drinks, the coffee was really poor, and cold at the pool.
At Pub Rondo all inclusive costumers had to stand at the not-paying end of the bar, and we had to wait to be served at last. The Pub Rondo staff doubed our requestment when we ordered someting. It is not possible to buy stamps in the reception, if you did not buy the postcard at the place. The WIFI internet costed money, 20 euros for one week, and the signal was very poor in quality even if there were so many hotspots.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

First impressions were good, a nice large room and overlooking the pool. No balcony but that was not a problem for us as we knew that we would be at the beach each day.

The food in the restaurant was suffice, the evening buffet offered a good choice, and excellent salad bar.

Staff generally very pleasant and accommodating when requesting advice or help.

Very disappointed in that when I booked the hotel, the only availability was all inclusive, I understood this to mean all meals and drinks included. When we arrived at the hotel we realised soon that the drinks at the bar were restricted to certain times throughout the day and only up until 1030pm.

Our daily routine was to have get up have breakfast and return from the beach in time for evening meal, have a couple of drinks before going out to the local bars fro the rest of the evening. By being out all day we were not really taking advantage of the full facilities, but we were really fine with that and it was our choice.

However, I have to strongly highlight our disappointment when enjoying 1 or 2 drinks from the bar in the evening prior to going out. One evening, we decided to have a cocktail for a change, and in particular a Pino Colado. The first drink was very nice, but after having the second drink, it was evident that it was not the drink we asked for in fact it tasted like pineapple and lemonade. I obviously thought this was a mistake, so returned it to the bar to ask for a replacement.

The bar manager became irate with me and said that it was the drink I asked for and stated ' that if I wanted something better, I should need to pay for it', and he pointed to my All inclusive band. I spoke to my partner, and we felt that he was indicating that All Inclusive clients don't get treated the same ??

I felt that the bar manager was treating me with respect and dismissed my request for a replacement drink. I asked at the reception to speak to a manager, but was informed that no one was on duty until Monday (two days later) but the reception person spoke to the bar man and said that he will pour us fresh drinks. When I returned to the bar he asked why I needed to speak to the reception and not him. I informed him that I tried but he did not listed.

The point I am making (sorry, its long winded) be careful about choosing your drinks, Obviously this scenario could have been a genuine mistake, but the attitude of the bar staff was unacceptable and I was made to feel that I was actually in the wrong.

Our stay was overall pleasant, but tarnished by the attitude of the bar manager when complaining about our drinks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mister20132014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My partner and I stayed here in October 2013, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The staff were exceptional, the location was ideal (close to yumbo and the beach/dunes) and the food was excellent. Our only complaint was there was no air conditioning and it was always warm in the room. The room itself was a little tired and could do with upgrading but it was fine. We would stay here again.This is a gay friendly hotel with a great atmosphere. Any questions just give me a shout.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms have fab views. 4th floor was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommyinayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Hotel Rondo, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are very happy to see that you spent a lovely holiday in our Hotel.
Regarding the air condition we just want to inform you that the Hotel will be renovated in 2014 and the rooms will have air condition.
We wish you a happy new year & all the best for 2014!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff. Very relaxed and layed back - We stayed all week all inclusive - which was really good value for money. Reserve BBQ restaurant as the steaks and pork in here are always fresh and tasty , and the chef is quite hot tooo !
Jose is an excelent friendly barman and waiter - he pops up everywhere.
Alex is hot waiter and barman too - he makes an excellent sangria.
we have really good fun with the Animation team Yael and Jana - who worked really hard to ensure every one had fun. Jana will make a good hotel manager one day !
Food was good, could of been hotter at times.
Rooms are large and cleaned daily with fresh towels and bed linen.
Overall we have had a fab time with our friends and would definately recommend this friendly hotel.
Also it is 5 minute walk to the Yumbo !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Hotel Rondo, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are very happy that you had a nice holiday in our hotel and would love to welcome you again.
We wish you all the best & remain with

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Arrived at this hotel on 16th Oct 2013 for a weeks stay after booking it on an all-inclusive basis only 12 days previously through alpharooms. The hotel was good overall for the price we paid.
The room we were allocated was on the third floor (324), a corner room which overlooked the main road and surrounding area. The traffic was noisy but didn't really stop us from getting to sleep, especially after we'd had a few drinks down town! The room was large with a sofa, twin beds, fridge, some cooking utensils and hob, loads of cupboard space and tv. We rarely switched the tv on as we only had BBCnews24 and no other British channels, plenty for German guests, obviously which is unfair on other nationalities. The beds had firm mattresses and were comfortable enough. Another minus point is that we didn't have aircon in the room, it was quite warm through the night so we had to sleep with the balcony door open making traffic noise louder, I really wouldn't want to be here mid-summer. The room was kept pretty clean by the maid. The bathroom was supplied with shower/hair gel attached to the wall of the shower/bath and hand washing gel by the sink, also attached to the wall.
The restaurant isn't the biggest so there are limited choices at food stations but there is the Chinese buffet in the adjoining room, again it's limited to only a couple of choices and the same dishes repeated regularly. Having said that, the food was well cooked and always hot and tasty so you wouldn't starve. Surprised there was no croissants at breakfast, especially as this hotel caters mainly for German guests. Lunch meals were pretty much the same every day though and you can easily get bored of the same things. Pizza was always available lunch and evening, they never changed the topping so it was mince pizza every day, it was nice but a change would've been good. You also had use of the grill restaurant over in the Miraflor bungalows, you book to use it at reception. We were a bit disappointed with this restaurant, being a "grill" restaurant we went over expecting steaks, kebabs and such like but there was only chicken breast, sausages and fish, the rest of the food you chose from was the same as the main restaurant but apart from the choice on offer, it was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of the main restaurant I suppose.
The pool area was kept clean and they don't allow you to place towels down on the sunloungers and go away for hours at a time. There is only about 50 sunloungers at most but any time we went to use them there was never any more than 12 or so people using them so plenty space around the pool. It's also quiet and relaxing which was great, the animacion team are over the back of the Rondo at the Miraflor bungalows (which you can use with your all-inclusive card) so there was no poolside games etc you had to go there if you wanted take part. There is no evening stage entertainment either, again this is over in the Miraflor so apart from the bar terrace (where you could also eat your breakfast and evening meals, not lunch) it was very quiet. The bar was not really tended to as the member of staff in there was back and forward between the bar and restaurant so you had to catch him when he appeared. The poolside bar in the afternoons were similar, if the staff member wasn't there you had to ring a bell to get someone to come through to serve you. We did feel there was a lack of staff around the hotel but the ones that were there were very courteous and friendly, a special mention must go to Jose in the restaurant and poolside bar, we've never seen such a happy member of staff in any hotel we've used previously, he was always winding people up, chatting/laughing and good with all the guests, he brightened the place up.
The all-inclusive at this hotel is slightly limited, it stops at 10:30pm, the earliest A.I. we've ever encountered anywhere. There is no snackbar/snacks available during the day although you could help yourself to tea/coffee all day with pastries after 4pm for an hour or so.
Overall, we enjoyed the hotel for it's peace and quiet, room comfort and space, well cooked (even though limited) food, clean pool and comfortable sunbed area, happy Jose and friendliness of all staff, even if they were stretched at times. I'd happily use the Il Rondo again if we were offered it at a good price. We had friends staying down the road at another hotel so we were with them most nights, downtown having a laugh. There are better around but we were happy with our choice and for what we paid.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jambonian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.0 mi away
HL Miraflor Suites
HL Miraflor Suites
#38 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
252 reviews
1.3 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#109 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Barbacan Hotel
Sol Barbacan Hotel
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
891 reviews
0.2 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#16 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,499 reviews
0.6 mi away
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
eo Suite Hotel Jardin Dorado
#56 of 216 in Maspalomas
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Hotel Rondo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Hotel Rondo

Property: HL Hotel Rondo
Address: C/ Timple, 4, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Hotel Rondo)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — HL Hotel Rondo 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your HL Hotel Rondo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Il Rondo Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Aparthotel Rondo Playa Del Ingles
Aparthotel Rondo Hotel
HL Hotel Rondo Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing