We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and good budget accommodation”
Review of Las Tartanas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Las Tartanas
Ranked #106 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Having stayed in Playa Del Ingles a few times this is definitely one of the better budget accommodation providers. Although the apartments are basic they are clean and well maintained, it is obvious a lot of work has been done recently, even all the bedding was brand new as it was dated.

From arrival to departure the staff were great. Reception were welcoming on arrival and always friendly and helpful, even the housekeeping staff were bubbly. Other local accommodation providers could learn from them.

The pool area is a real sun trap and very quiet with enough free loungers for everyone, again something that has been a problem with other places we have stayed at in the past. The grounds were well maintained and a gardener in everyday cutting the apartment grass and watering the plants.

The only minor improvements could be longer opening times for reception as it is limited to 10-1 and 4.30-7, however I emailed prior to arrival and was given instructions what to do when I arrived when it was closed. There are no staff on site after 7pm if you have a problem.

I would recommend this place if you want no frills, good, clean, basic and friendly accommodation at a good price, I am looking to stay again next year.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Dev0nTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

Having read a number of the reviews on here I was somewhat hesitant about staying here. However I can honestly say how pleasantly surprised I was and could find none of the previously reviewed faults. On arrival at the accommodation we were greeted by a lovely lady (Pina), who showed us to our accommodation and checked we were happy with our allocated bungalow. The bungalows are a little on the basic side, however for the money offer excellent value for money compared to other accommodation in the area (Las Tartanas is owned by the same company that also own Santa Clara). The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was very clean. There were two regular cleaners during our stay who again were very pleasant and our beds were always made daily, with the bedding being changed twice during our stay, fresh towels were provided every other day. There are approximate 50 bungalows on the resort, some are privately owned (approx 8), and these did not cause any problem during our stay. The pool area was very clean, and there are plenty of sun beds for guests. Maintenance is very good here with the gardens being cut between the bungalows being occupied by guests, on one day a bulb had blown in our apartment and within ten minutes of the maid noticing it we had a maintenance man fitting a new bulb (many places would not bother!). If you are looking for a place to stay which is a 2 minute walk to Yumbo then do read between the lines with some of the other reviews here, I'm glad I did and will have no hesitation in staying again.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Having stayed here before had no reservations about stopping again, the complex had always been well maintained and cared for, but this time we went it was very different..........................
The gardens and grounds were unkept the rooms were smelly, on our first night we were allocated in room 101 we had a private resident next to us and he owned a dog which was barking when we arrived and never stopped barking the entire 24 hours we were in the room, We were re located to room 118 at the rear of the complex bacause of the dog, this sempt an easy move as though it was expected, the room we moved into was just as dirty and smelly but even worse was over run with cockroaches, we complained and were told the maid would spray something. that night we were in bed quite early and around 1am i awoke for the bathroom i put on the light and they were everywhere and even one on me layed in my bed, as most people would i screamed and screamed, the following morning by 9am the receptionist was banging on the door to have a go at us about the noise i had made and wasnt interested in my ezperience, all she was interested in was i had upset " A very special guest" in the room next door who always stays with them and pays his holiday in full !! ??? to which i could not understand what made him special, she tried to move us to a room near the road and reception enterence to make sure it would never happen again but i was not interester,
The complex didnt supply FREE sun beds they had to be purchased nt reception for 6 euros,
on trying to purchase them we were told none was available until saturday 27th october this been only tuesdat 23 oct, the visit just went from bad to worse and on wednesday we Checked out after 3 nights of a 14 night holiday, the place wasnt fit to keep farm animals in and the receptionist even though only been there 4 weeks had no more charm or skill than a traffic warden. I will NEVER NEVER stay there again, we found alternative accomadation which was 100 times better than that place and cheaper...

Room Tip: I used to be able to recommend 127 and simular around the pool but i think any would be a gamble try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

3rd visit so obviously we have no aversion to staying here, and previous comments remain unchanged-considering its position in the centre of Playa del Ingles its certainly very quiet (except for the peripheral bungalows near the main road), the pool and pool area is clean and well maintained, all the staff very friendly, cleaning was of a good standard.
The continuing problem as mentioned previously, and dont know if they have any plans to sort this out, is the lack of air conditioning. The bungalows pretty much bake throughout the day and in the evening into the night the temperatures inside become unbearable. We had a thermometer within a travel clock and at one point the temperature in the bedroom was 38 degrees centigrade!
Apparently there are fans to hire but they had none left when we requested them.
All in all the bungalows are great for budget,central accomodation-would be much improved with air-con.

Room Tip: Bungalow 127 faces pool with big garden and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tommo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We spent 2 weeks here over the Easter holidays and had a great time. These bungalows are in the perfect location, 5 mins walk to the Yumbo, and Kasbah 5 mins the other way, yet the place is blissfully quiet for chilling out by the pool during the day and for getting a good night’s sleep.

The bungalow itself was great for our needs and the cleaners did a great job. The bedroom was spacious and the beds were comfy (despite the plastic mattress protectors). As for other reviewers’ comments, the beds may be basic but they are very sturdy (I’m 6’2 and 20st and had no issues!).

The pool area was great and very well kept, though it’s a shame the sunbeds are linked together by wire so you can’t rotate them as the sun moves! The gardens were really tidy and well looked after, though as many of the bungalows are privately owned they put up fences which feels less open and welcoming (another one went up during our stay). The gardens do attract some bugs and while we were there they did the pre-summer spray/smoke of the gardens for cockroaches so the roaches flee inside! We had a horrible day as they were in our roofspace and came down into the kitchen light fitting. This really was disgusting, but the staff were excellent and worked to get it sorted, returning several times during the day to make sure all traces were gone. We didn’t see another cockroach for the rest of our stay.

The bungalows have seen better days, the paintwork was a bit tired and grubby in places and had been badly touched up with mis-matched shades, but they were nonetheless spotlessly clean and had all the facilities you could need. For the price we paid, you couldn’t beat this place.

Room Tip: Be sure to go to Ricky's Cabaret Bar in the Yumbo, a simply fantastic night out! Also visit Bell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris1978uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This is a resort of bungalows mainly round a swimming pool. It is very family orientated, with lots of Spanish families staying here. They are located about 5 minutes walk from the Yumbo centre and about a 15 minute walk to the beach. So perfectly located and the reason I chose this complex. The bungalows are very basic, but clean and are cleaned daily.

If you want a day out in Las Palmas, the local bus (No 30) goes every 20 mins from outside the "Koka" - you cant miss it as it is next door with a large sign on the roof. and returns directly outside the complex. You need to ask for "Parc del San Telmo" - the main bus station in Las Palmas. This will take you into the shopping area & old city (cobbled streets, catherdral and street cafes). Well worth it if you need a day out off the beach or away from the joy of the concrete metropolis that is Playa Del Ingles.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the bungalows that don't look directly onto the pool as it seemed that they di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardClough_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I can only be completely honest here and I certainly am not a person to complain about budget accommodation I am usually a big fan of low cost apartments etc.

These bungalows are unbelievably well located they are 3 minutes from the Yumbo centre, 2 minutes from the Kasbah centre and 7 minutes walk from the beach, although down hill, so its a slightly longer uphill walk. Amazing location and yet it is unbelievably quiet. Together with this, it is completely locked and you need a key to get in and out, so it is very safe.

When I arrived I was delighted with the appearance etc, we had a broken shower head in our bungalow and it was repaired first thing the next day. To be honest the good points end here.

The cleaning staff were terrible even for budget accommodation, on a number of days they didn't even dress the bed, just threw the sheets that were on top over the pillows. We went 4 days without getting clean towels and we only had clean sheets once during a two week stay. We had not one bit of cleaning equipment like a floor brush, dish scrub etc, and the cleaners made no attempt to clean anything from what we seen.

Having the garden is brilliant but it did lead to allot of bugs in the bungalow, which I am not a fan of. We had 2 geckos, 2 giant cockroaches and 2 other huge flying things that i couldn't identify. The beds were the kind of beds that you get for very young children, they were not strong enough for an adult full stop. The mattresses were wrapped in plastic which made and turn you made sound like a train was heading for the bedroom, very uncomfortable and almost impossible to get a good nights sleep.

Overall I have to say I would not go back here, I have stayed in many other places in a similar price that were far far better than here

Room Tip: You are either near the reception and a possible noisy gate, the road or the pool. I had room 134...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoopsbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.3 mi away
Cordial Biarritz Bungalows
Cordial Biarritz Bungalows
#32 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,240 reviews
0.3 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Tartanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Tartanas

Address: Avenida Tenerife 21, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Las Tartanas 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Las Tartanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Tartanas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Las Tartanas Grand Canary
Las Tartanas Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing