We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiete complex but in the heart of playa fabulous!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Santa Barbara Apartments
Ranked #115 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed 25 January 2011

for the last 12years i have had my holidays in playa del ingles, and for the last 3 years i have stayed in the santa barbara bungalows , i stay there 4 times a year! the staff in reception are very friendly and very helpful, i love this complex as it"sjust off the main road but very central to everything ie supermarkets, loads of places to eat,( if you don"t want to cook ) and near to the bars, the beach is about 20mins walk or 5mins in a taxi, which are good value, you do get sunloungers with your room,or you can go to 1 of the 5 pools,which are cleaned daily, will be there again march 2011.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glendaharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2010

Had to pick up keys elsewhere as reception closed when we arrived, later than expected.
Reception staff all very helpful and attended to requests immediately. We were given the use of an empty bungalow for a couple of hours before we left as we had to give up our own bungalow at midday.
The bungalow was spacious for two people and was basic but comfortable. Towels pretty old, but clean and adequate. Kitchen area clean and plenty of hot water. However, utensils were thin on the ground, eg. no scissors, sharp knife or corkscrew. Bought our own corkscrew - essential!
No insects to be seen either inside or out, although the weather was very warm. Our only visitor was a fat, black cat who was very friendly and greedy.
Great location, quiet and peaceful, yet near Yumbo centre and bus stops. We used these buses to go everywhere, including to and from the airport. (no.66)
We wished we could have stayed longer and hope to return to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moderation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Bungalows are basic but good value for money. We stayed for 14 nights. Brilliant location and very quiet. Had to clean the bungalow when we arrived. Sprayed with cockroach killer and still got two in the bungalow (they were massive). Reception manned for a couple of hours daily. Very helpful. Supplied us with kettle, toaster and loungers free of charge. Good value but very basic. If you don't like cockroaches avoid gran canaria.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadWummin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

My friend and I spent a week here, just relaxing and getting some sun. Unfortunately the sun wasn't being cooperative; we had dreadful weather for 4 out of 7 days with strong winds and heavy rain. The bungalow was clean, well-equipped and the location was very quiet and peaceful. Getting in and out of the compound wasn't a problem although the lock on the gate needed oiling. The Maspalomas dunes were a splendid sight but not a comfortable place to be; my friend, who is a nude sunbather, got alot of hassle from the men wandering about the nudist section of the beach. It was quite intimidating. Overall we enjoyed our stay here, and would happily go back to the Santa Barbara bungalows, but sadly not to this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christineroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2010

unkempt, dirty and old.
You needed a key to get into the complex, and if you lost it you were out for the night as nobody stays in the reception it only runs for a few hours a day.We were moved to this complex as the Rebecca park was so bad
The bungalow we were in had had both doors forced open, the handle on the outer shutter fell off each time you touched it and the gardens were a mess, the sprinkler system that went on at 5 am each day has seen better days and was so loud it woke us up every day.
Each day you would have a choice you could A)have one shower (for 5 of us this was extremely hard) B)wash your clothes or C)wash your pots as the water was only hot for 10 minutes, when I reported this I was told it was because the tanks are so small.
For a family of 5 the bungalows are not big enough, and we only had outside seating for 3.
The bathroom was very smelly even the hole in the roof did nothing to get rid of the smell, there is no bath only a shower that runs hot for 10 minutes then its stone cold. The shower curtain was mouldy as was the shower stall and it had mildew in there, the towels were threadbare as was the bathmat. There was stains all over the roof and paint peeling off.
In the both bedrooms paint was peeling off the walls, the beds were damp and old and the bedding was past its best. There was graffiti in the draws and the lights did not work.
In the living room the walls were dirty and marked and seating was stained and old, the tv was a pay per view but with NO ENGLISH CHANNELS at all.
The 5 pools which were all unmanned and dirty were not heated and stone cold, so cold you could not use them even if you dared.
The maids only came in a couple of times and it was 11nights to change the beds!
The on site bar/restaurant was not open and looked like it closed down about 2 years before.
The complex only has about 20% holiday makers, the rest live there and can be rude as they make you feel like you do not belong there.
The only good thing I can say is that the staff were lovely, any help she could give us when she was there she would.
PS Mark you did help a lot but learn when the markets are on, we missed 2 and went on the wrong days!
If you are thinking of going to Grand Canaria DON’T !!! Go to Tenerife Peurto De La Cruz and stay at the Casablanca, we pay less to stay there and its like a different world to this place, just read the reviews for yourself!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jemram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Moved here because we refused to stay where first choice had booked us into, had to wait for this rep(Mark) to vist us because our rep was on day off even after leaving urgent message for her .When Mark came to see us he told us no one would accept anyone after mid day we said we couldn't stay where we were he then told us there would be a charge to move us, (this was dropped). After many phone calls Mark managed to find us space on his complex. Key for entrance to complex, restaurant and bar closed down, reception only open limited times helpful when there, lucky for us they were open when we had to call doctor for grandson after visit to aqua park. No information about site / area, man came around on Thurdays selling water. No life guards with five pools. Most people seemed to live there. both doors looked as if they had been broken/ forced into. paint peeling from wall because of damp, drawers in kitchen had all dropped so you had to lift them to close. could hear next door walking around and talking. Towels stained and only fit for dog/dusters, shower curtain mouldy and tiles missing from floor. five of us but only one could have a shower no more hot water for hours, beds not great but ok, pillows stained and very flat, itchy blanket on each bed. sheets changed after 11 days. front of draw missing in one bedroom, pay to view tv with no english channels. garden unkept sprinklers came on very early they sounded like a plane taking off! Only really nice things I can say are - lady on reception very helpful and Mark our rep was excellent he came to see us every day.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Karden_Manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

I have to say after reading reviews i was abit put off coming here but on arrival with partner and 2 young kids i was surprised how nice this complex is you have a locked gate to get you onto complex which has residential ,holiday home and tour operator bungalows the complex also has 5 pools which are dotted around and lucky for us we had one leading from our patio area at back of the bungalow which my children loved.
The rooms were very clean and tidy and had 2 good sized bedrooms a nice bathroom and kitchen come living area .
The complex is in a good location nice and peacefull but only 5 minutes from yumbo centre and a 15 minute walk would take you to the beach and dunes the kasbah is a 5 minute taxi ride but with a 2 year old a nice walk would take a good 20 minutes ! thats why a taxi ride was better for us.In all would stay here again no problem but does need abit of paint here and there but complex is very safe and staff are very helpfull and mark our first choice rep was brilliant and good with kids nothing was to much trouble for him a big thank you for a good holiday 26th dec to 3rd jan xxxx

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiverpoolMumoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.4 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,452 reviews
0.4 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,733 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,326 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,542 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#8 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Barbara Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Barbara Apartments

Address: Calle Barcelona 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Barbara Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Alpha Holidays Limited and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Santa Barbara Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Barbara Apartments Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Santa Barbara Apartments Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing