We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit in 21 months, love it!”
Review of Escorial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Escorial
Ranked #19 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Third visit in 21 months, love it!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from our third visit to Escorial in 21 months. 1st visit was with partner, 2nd with partner and friends, 3rd visit with with partner on family.
On all three occasions the hotel has been amazing. The staff are the best and the food just gets better and better! Wide variety of drinks available and the rooms cleaned to a high standard every day. The solarium is stunning and the wellness centre likewise. Already considering my 4th visit! Ps hope Pepe (one of the waiters) gets well soon and health problems.
Not a great lot for kids to do if they form part of your holiday but we've not had that problem yet.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    343
    105
    28
    10
See reviews for
211
445
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This at first sight common 3 star hotel on the outside gives you value for money ( as long as you are able to find a good deal and avoid high season crowd. Most of customers are of a certain age or have smaller kids. Staff is used to work with this type of customers but are not agains new forms of life as LGBT couples. Attention NO KING SIZE beds in the entire hotel so not really for honeymooners or active couples ;-)
Extremely friendly staff at reception, restaurant, bar and wellness. The wellness is from the better ever experienced in a hotel and can be compared to facilities of the 5 * categories. Rooftop terrace available with nude zone. All meals are in buffet style bur some life cooking stand make it better when you cannot find your choice at the buffet. There's no a la carte possibility. All in costs 15 Euro/PP/Pday more than the half pension price and includes lots of international and local alcohols between 10.30 and 00hrs. Hotel located close to the beach and after a 5 Euro drive with a cab you can go into the famous dunes... Jumbo center is even closer and you do not stay in the loudly part of Playa des Ingles ;-)

Room Tip: As always the higher you go the quitter your room. choose if you want the morning sun on your terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FredETOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We recently travelled as a couple and stayed at Hotel Escorial for 1 week (half-board). The hotel has everything you need by way of facilities - there's a beautiful rooftop terrace for sunbathing which is a little quieter than the poolside and after the 3rd day we opted for the rooftop rather than the poolside. The beach is no more than a 10 min walk and the main nightlife hub is also around 7-10min walk. We requested a room on the top floor before we travelled just to ensure the noise level from the street below wouldn't bother us too much but there probably was no need as the surrounding area wasn't all that busy/noisy etc. There is a supermarket right next door and another (Spar) across the street. There's also a pharmacy around the corner. Our room was spacious and came with a balcony and one thing I really liked was it had a large fridge - the fridge was great for keeping water/drinks/foods cool and fresh. On first impressions, the room isn't anything overly speculator to look at - it's slightly old/dated but still spacious with a huge double bed and extremely clean. So no complaints there. The rooms only have soap provided, no shower gel, shampoos, facecloths etc. - might be useful to know when packing :-)

We were on a half-board stay which included breakfast and dinner every day. I think a half-board stay is more than sufficient because there's no way you could eat the huge variety of meals they offer 3 times a day, we simply wouldn't be hungry enough!! This is probably the most impressive thing about the hotel is the huge variety of food and its quality every day. We saved a lot of money by having this included and we only ate out one evening and that was just for a change of scene! Food is all presented in a buffet-style so you can eat as much as you like. They have 2 'hot food' counters every morning and evening making fresh omelettes, steaks, fish, pasta dishes etc. to your order and liking - you can add whatever ingredients you like there and then and will only take a few minutes. At the pasta counter, the pesto-fresh cream combo with your choosing of ingredients (peppers, garlic, onions and many more) was superb. There's a great choice of desserts and even a chocolate fountain!

Finally, be sure to visit the spa . Really nice pool with massage jets and also a very cool separate flotation (salt) pool. Keep an eye out for the opening times though as if you plan to use this in the evening when the sun is gone down, it closes around 7pm. Hotel guests are entitled to a complimentary 'mud bath' and use of a nice massage chair for about 30mins. Worth booking and making use of these freebies! The gym is also huge with more than enough facilitates if you fancy a work out. Definitely one of the best hotel gyms I've seen. There's also a games room with pool, bowling, table tennis etc. And two game consoles set up so all great for entertaining kids and adults!

If travelling with kids, there was a kids entertainer every evening while we were there either dancing or doing face painting so plenty to keep them occupied. Games room is def a plus for that too. The hotel had entertainment each night for adults too - karaoke, magician performances, spanish dancers and so on.

Overall, this is a great hotel in a great location with staff that are friendly and accommodating. I would recommend it to couples or to families alike.

We used the public bus transfer ('GLOBAL') from the airport to the hotel - turquoise colour buses. The bus stops right in front of the hotel and is an excellent service from the airport for about €3.50 per person. It generally leaves the airport on the hour every hour throughout the day. Not sure about a night-time transfer though…It's line 66 (Aeropuerto - Faro de Maspalomas). The bus stop is in front of the terminal of airport (upstairs from arrivals). This is the link to the timetable: http://www.globalsu.net/lineas/linea66.pdf. A taxi will cost you around €40.

Happy travelling!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dora14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Me and my boyfriend checked out trip advisor before booking this hotel. All the reviews were great so we decided to book. We weren’t disappointed.

As you walk into the spacious hotel reception your greeted by the hotels amazing staff. Check in was quick and easy and we were in our room within 5 minutes of arriving. There were issues with our room initially as we had requested a high floor, double bed, sea view or pool view. We weren’t given any of these, but when i went to reception they apologised and said it was because the holiday company we used (lowcostholidays) hadn’t made them aware of our requests. Monica on reception was outstanding. She apologised and asked that we remain in that room until the following morning and she would do her best to move us. The following day i went down to reception and she had moved us to the top floor, with a pool AND sea view, and although it still had twin beds, she arranged for the housekeeping to go straight to the room and put the beds together using a double sheet and duvet. All the staff were fantastic, especially Monica.

The food in the hotel is very much what you'd expect from and all inclusive resort in Gran Canaria. With a large amount of Germans in the hotel they food was mixed. Although there was always something on offer with a wide range of cuisines and also at the end of the buffet area there is a chef on hand who is grilling different items, steak and pork chops included. There was a lot of fish on offer if that’s your cup of tea. Breakfast was good too with everything you require for a full English, or a continental breakfast if you’d prefer. And if like us, you want to be posh, there’s champagne on offer with breakfast (and vodka if you’re that desperate)

Make sure you find the 'All Inclusive' Safari Bar menu; it’s located on the bar but is tucked away a little so we didn’t actually see this until the second from last day. This menu is a wide range of snacks available between 10.30am and 3pm and you just order at the bar and if you’re by the pool they will bring it out to you.

The best thing about the hotel was by far the spa facilities. It was fantastic down there, you have an extensive gym if you so wish but through the gym is the spa. With a steam room, Jacuzzi, solarium and tanning facilities. You also get one free use of the massage bed, and a free Turkish mud treatment. This isn’t advertised so make sure you enquire in the spa reception. Also, when using the Steam Room, make sure you read the sign on the door; otherwise you'll get a nasty shock at the end of the cycle.

Down another floor in the spa is the pool and the dead sea. The pool is a decent size but be aware of walls and ledges submerged under the water. Find the buttons on the side of the pool as each one has a different function and will offer some kind of underwater massage. The Dead Sea is AMAZING! You walk into the cave like features and dimmed lighting, get in the pool and float round to your heart’s content. The best time we found for the spa is between 12 and 2 pm, as most people are enjoying the sun and lunch, but if like us you’re not a fan of the strong midday heat, this is a great time to head down to the spa.

Also down stairs is the games room, we went down for a game of table tennis, my only criticism is there is no aircon down there so it down get hot if your playing sports.

The pool area and bar was also great. A wide range of drinks on offer and the staff were all very friendly. Some of the reviews complained about the lack of sun around the pool. There are some shady areas, but choose your sun loungers wisely and you'll be fine. Anything along the bar side of the pool is fine, but if you wanted extra sun, the raised sun loungers in the far corner are great. Although you can be seen by pedestrians on the passing road so keep your swimming costume on.

Up on the top floor was the sun terrace. Although a little breezy at times this was perfect for the late afternoon and evening sun. We also splashed out and brought some champagne and glasses in the local spar and enjoyed some champagne in the hot tub. Highly recommended as the views of the sea and the mountains are great.

All in all, this is a great hotel, with fantastic staff, lots to do locally and good food. if you shop around you can find this hotel pretty cheap. We paid £265 each for the week all inclusive which worked out great value for money. Most operators have it as a 3star... it easily deserves 4*!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have just returned from here and we had a fantastic time, food was nice hotel was always very clean and all the staff were very nice and helpful. We are a family with 2 children and there was plenty to do in the hotel and surrounding area. I would definitely go back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janejane1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maspalomas, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

When we arrived at the hotel, we were helped by Maria. She even tried to speak a little bit of dutch, which is great. We got to our room and could not believe this room was just a double room, it was spacious, shipshape, even The bathroom is bigger than ours at home. The food is excellent and you have a huge choice every morning, noon and evening. You can choose this hotel in halfboard or all inclusive.
The staff is sooooooo friendly, they even learn you a little bit of Spanish and always say Hello or goodbye when they see you.
This is defenitaly more than just a 3 star hotel, this is absolutely worth a four star...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treezebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Me and my family stayed here for week in April 2014 and what a pleasant stay!

Thanks to my wife for picking the Escorial.

Everything was great from the incredible facilities and entertainment to the amazing and smiley stuff!

I'd like to say a huge thank you to Toni at reception for dealing with all our queries and helping us out with our flight details and I huge thank you as well to the food & beverage manager for going out of her way and providing a special surprise to my little daughter.

100% recommend the Escorial and whenever we're back at Gran Canaria we will certainly stay there again.

Hospitality at it's best!

Muchas gracias y saludos desde Escocia.

Francisco Rodrigues

Room Tip: We've stayed on the second floor and it was very pleasant and quiet as well with a nice balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alottarhythmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eugenia Victoria
Hotel Eugenia Victoria
#25 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,492 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Caserio
Hotel Caserio
#27 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Labranda Playa Bonita
Labranda Playa Bonita
#15 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
998 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,488 reviews
1.1 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escorial

Property: Escorial
Address: Avda. de Italia, 6, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Escorial 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Escorial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escorial Playa Del Ingles
Escorial Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Escorial Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing