We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant can recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Escorial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Escorial
Ranked #20 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant can recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

My wife and I have just returned from staying at the Escorial in Playa del Ingles. It was our first experience of All Inclusive and we selected this hotel based on the reviews we Had read and everthing that was written was spot on. The hotel is first class, rooms spacious and clean, facilities excellent, all that has been said about the Wellness centre is true, I cant say enough about how good this facility is. The food and drink is very good, the fact you can get a bottle of wine and the spirits are named in fact the whiskey they were serving is Johnny Walker Black label. The reports about the bus ( 66 ) from the airport are good, the only thing I would add is that the bus stop is outside arrivals, but when you exit you need to turn right and the bus stop is through the doors. Yes, the hotel is mainly German guests but it was not a problem. All in all the hotel, location and all inclusive package is first class.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcfNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    328
    101
    28
    8
See reviews for
200
421
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brummie
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

was looking forward to staying at this hotel as the reviews were so good, however was very disappointed.
good points - rooms very quiet, no noisey kids or maids waking you up or neighbours noise (possibly because there were carpets on the floor(shabby).
* excellent spa - but who wants to stop inside all day? use sunbeds etc???
* good drinks system with the all inclusive, didnt have to wait long and were served drinks in glasses not plastic cups which was nice.
* beds comfy but pillows lumpy.
bad points -
* pool area dull, cold pool and by a main road. If you sunbathed on the deck the queue at the bus stop could see you. Pool in the shade by 2-00.
* Rooms were shabby and in need of a makeover.
* Food average but with little selection, poor if you are a veggie and not much for kids.
* staff did seem to favour other nationalities.
* Garden areas within the hotel were neglected and scruffy.
* Not a lot around this part of Playa del Ingles regarding shops and bars.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrummieSunnygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

Writing this review from my laptop in the escorial hotel, This hotel is amazing, my mum and dad stayed here in November 08 and came back singing its praises, we booked this hotel via Globespan on the internet and got two weeks all inclusive including flights from Edinburgh and transfers for £800 each.
The all inclusive is amazing as are the choice of foods, every day the hot buffet and salad bar changes, calamaris, lamb, steak etc on the hot grill, wiener schnitzel pastas etc. loads of choices, then we come to the drinks , its all branded stuff like smirnoff, gordons gin etc.
The hotel even allows you to take a bottle of wine etc up to your rooms to enjoy on the very spacious balconies.
Word of advise , pay the 2 Euro per day for the air con as gran canaria is hot!
The best thing about this hotel is the Spa , has to be seen to be believed, no waiting to get into salt pool, or saunas etc. Kids are allowed from 9am to 12 pm , then from miday to 8pm its adults only.
They also have a bowling alley, snooker, billiards , table football,ping pong tables, playstations and about 14 computers with free internet access.
You can spend your two weeks withoubt going out of the hotel as there is so much on offer at this hotel.
A few posts have been about this hotel being full of germans,dutch etc
This is indeed the case but they are very friendly and happy to wish you "Morgen" at breakfast etc, I personally found it so more relaxing to not hear many british accents as this was a chill out holiday for my partner and I.
the rooms are roomy enough for a couple and we were in room 418 which was nice as it was round the back of the hotel away from the pool area, overlooking our balcony was the quiet sun area where only about 14 sunbeds are located under the lush palm trees along with a giant jacuzzi that would take approx 14 people.
I would not hesitate to stay at the escorial again as this hotel is a german hotel chain, it is run with the usual german efficiency.
A great holiday at a fantastic price

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dyfed
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

stayed for 1 week with wife and 17 year old son.not the best all inclusive ive stayed in,but could not fault it.we paid £370 each which was great value for money.the hotel is clean in all areas,the staff are polite and the food is very good with plenty of choice.we didnt feel the need to eat out at all.the best thing about the place is the spa,it is outstanding.this hotel is worth 4 stars at least and i would go back anytime for that price.finally ingnore all the negative german comments,its true that the hotel is full of them but they are polite and get on with there own holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DyfedChuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19blueeyes87
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

Stayed at escorial for 1 week over the new year. Absolutely loved this hotel, it had everything you could ask for. I wont go into detail as all the previous reviews mention the amenities but I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone! I had never been all inclusive before but was surprised with the selection of food and drink on offer. Freshly cooked food each day with the chef cooking a different thing each night to your tasting. And the fact they had smirnoff vodka just made it for me!! Definitely would go back.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 19blueeyes87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

Booked for 7 Nights All Inclusive
We arrived late around 11pm, we had e mailed hotel before to advise late arrival and they prepered a light cold meal for us waiting on arrival, nice surprise did not expect this. All staff especially at reception were very polite and freindly. Never a problem getting a sunbed which makes a change.

Room- tidy clean and functional. Lots of wardrobe space, decent sized room not large but not small. Large balconly with wicker furniture, lovely and comfortable.

Food/Drinks- Food pretty average but good choice, breakfst especially nice even had Cava if you wish at beakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice at no extra charge. Drinks were 1000 til 0000, including some premium brands like smirnoff just make sure you request it. It was great unlike many other al inclusives where they do not alow you take drinks up to your room, they were fine here even allowing you to take a bottle of wine to your room if you wished. All inclusve deal very good.

Pool/Spa/Gardens- Nice sized pool, nice gardens with jacuzzi and a rooftop terrace wth amazing views and jacuzzi and hammocks. On the bottom floor was an amazing hydro massage pool, relaxation areas, salt water pool, steam room, jacuzzisonly extra cost was if you wanted treatments.

Finally another geat thing was the games room wth free apple mac computers and had a very well equiped gym also free. I would return without hesitation.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa del Sol
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

We had originally booked a week at the Riu Waikiki then realised the Escorial was rated similarly on TA, but at a saving of over 250 € for the room for the week, so we switched and were glad we did.

As for the hotel, I can't add to the previous review really, as it could have been written by myself word for word and represents a true reflection for anyone booked in at this hotel. The attitude of every single member of staff we came across towards the guests was fantastic and we couldn't praise them enough, in particular the people on reception of both the main hotel and the Wellness Spa, which alone was well worth a chunk of the money we paid for the week (462 € for the room for two all-inclusive). I'm amazed that no charge was made for this over and above what you had for the all inclusive package.

There are a few bars in the near vicinity that we tried and had a couple of good nights at the Flashback bar in particular. It's a small bar with reasonably priced drinks on a permanent happy hour, so if you order one bottle of Budweiser it will cost you 5€ but you get another one free at the same time. But it's the DJ (maybe he's the owner?) who makes the place what it is. A really nice bloke, who makes everyone feel welcome and will play any request you may have and if you want to sing he will bang the words up on the TV for an impromptu karaoke session too.

The Kasbah is a bit tacky and seedy but we enjoyed the Yumbo centre which certainly makes for interesting viewing as you stroll around the place! Ricky's Cabaret on the ground floor is a hoot and the compere is funnier than the actual cabaret. To hear him making comments about the audience and to people walking by is hilarious. A large jug of Tequila Sunrise cocktail was 12 € and there were several large glasses contained within and a pint of John Smiths was 3€ if I recall correctly, so by no means a rip off bar at all. Next door to Yumbo is a Hard Rock Cafe with an excellent resident covers band who play every Friday and Saturday nights in the restaurant downstairs.

Bus number 66 from the airport leaves at 20 past the hour and drops you right outside the hotel for just 3.20 € and its just a couple of minutes walk to the Tropical commercial centre bus station for the return trip which goes at 31 minutes past the hour and takes about half an hour. It's a comfortable coach and only stops a few times so even if there are four travellers together this is good value against the cost of a taxi.

We caught the bus to Puerto Rico from here too for a couple of euros and after a quick look round and a drink took a glass bottomed boat trip back along the coast to Arguineguin, which was about 5 € and made for an interesting afternoon.

Sioux City wasn't a place I would have normally gone to, having been to a similar set up in Almeria, however I have to say that it was much better and a brilliant way to spend four hours. Taxi was around 5 € or else you could get the bus from Tropical and have that fare discounted against the entry fee of 21 €.

From the moment you entered the complex to the time you left you felt like you were really on the set of a western with cowboys lounging on every corner. Some excellent shows and entertainment and in between you had time to have a look round the town and see Boot Hill and the like! Won't go into too much detail so as not to spoil the surprises, but suffice to say I highly recommend it.

On Fridays they do an evening show including BBQ and free bar. Our ticket publicised this on the back of it for a knock down price of 31 € at the time we were there, which has to be good value in my opinion. As we were there for the daytime between 12 noon and 4 we had a bite to eat in the Saloon which was OK and reasonable. Three chicken legs, (sounds strange doesn't it?!) chips and salad for 6 € and a beer for 2 € so again, not rip off prices at all.

I read somewhere that someone had said a sunbed was 12 € each at Playa del Ingles beach but true price is 7.50 € for two beds and an umbrella for the day. Beach and sea beautifully clean and with a nice breeze coming in off the Atlantic. All in all an excellent week at an extremely good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anchovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eugenia Victoria
Hotel Eugenia Victoria
#25 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#23 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Labranda Playa Bonita Hotel
Labranda Playa Bonita Hotel
#14 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
1.1 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escorial

Property: Escorial
Address: Avda. de Italia, 6, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Escorial 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Escorial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escorial Playa Del Ingles
Escorial Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Escorial Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing