We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of Rey Carlos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rey Carlos
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Food was good and the pool area was fantastic but the interior of the hotel and room is quite tired and dated although very clean.
Have stayed in nicer places in Playa del Ingles for cheaper prices.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank MuzznKaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Really terrible food. very little choice and really bad combinations. Service also very bad, 2 x older male waiter's were rude. Walked into the restaurant one day for our 'all inclusive' lunch at 14:30 one of the days in our 'pool wear' (although sufficiently covered for lunch) and walked in to a full on wedding function in full swing. We were then quickly banished to the conservatory and looked at in disgust by the people around us. It was embarrassing and badly planned for holiday guests. Hotel was FULL of older people i.e. - over 50's yet we went for pride.. just wouldn't recommend this hotel at all. Can tell is was 'the place to be' about 30-40 years ago but its all so outdated now.. they've not maintained this and updated this place correctly as a hotel should. No Air con until June, went to room and electric didnt work. Room was like a dull prison cell.

Room Tip: complain! My request i gave to the hotel before hand was ignored
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

It's wonderful we are on our second day our room/suite is superb 301 view is amazing because we are on the corner, food is scrummy , half board, it's so clean the staff are friendly specially Manuel?? The barman. I'll update at the end of our stay but so far spot on!! I'm glad I took no heed of previous reviews, we are pretty hard to please but we are more than satisfied , chuffed !!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This an old-fashioned hotel with old fashioned values, staff and service. If you want something fancy and modern, go somewhere else! I work in travel and I would call it a good 3* hotel. We were there during February Half Term and hotel was pretty quiet with mostly elderly German clientele. Breakfast and Dinner Buffets were not luxurious, but good and tasty. Probably not great if you are vegetarian, but you could apply that to the whole of Spain! Pool was not new or heated, but well maintained. Rooms were a good size for Gran Canaria and well cleaned. I would not hesitate to return or recommend to others as a quiet, well located and good value traditional hotel. Wifi was chargeable but reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gr00by
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Awful...awful...awful. Dated. Should be bulldozed to the ground and im being generous. Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. All incl....what a joke. Pool bar chargeable. ...main bar chargeable. All inclusive bar opens at 9pm for 2hrs. You have been warned

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights in Hotel Rey Carlos.
First of all at 16.40h it took the
30 minutes to check us in, incredible.
We had a suite, the room was quite large, but everything very old, it should have been renovated since at least 10 years, the beds were certainly very old too.
All this hotel has to be renovated completely, swimmingpool not in a good shape either.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clementineWavre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Despite advertising the "suite" we booked as having a kitchenette, there were no pans with which to cook. I spoke to the receptionist who said that that was normal as this was a hotel, not an apartment. It was indeed everything an apartment in Playa del Inglés is. It had plates, knives, forks, spoons, a fridge, 2 rings etc etc, just no pans!

We had breakfast in the 'hotel' and it was very poor. The coffee and fruit cordials (not juice) were undrinkable, many people bringing their own pots of coffee down (made in their coffee machines from their "non-kitchen").

The decor was very shabby. We had holes in the arms of the sofa and chairs with the stuffing literally coming out.

One can live with these things when one pays a relatively small amount of money, but for €850 for one week for 2 people this really sticks in the throat.

We go to Playa del Inglés 5 or 6 times a year but we will not be returning to Rey Carlos.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank BrightonBearBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
1.4 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#122 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,746 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,062 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#52 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Caserio
Hotel Caserio
#26 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,672 reviews
0.6 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rey Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rey Carlos

Address: Avenida de Tirajana 14, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £62 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rey Carlos 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rey Carlos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rey Carlos Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Rey Carlos Playa Del Ingles
Rey Carlos Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing