We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Riu hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos
Ranked #13 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at Riu Palmeras in March for two weeks. It is very much an oasis in the middle of a busy town, but within a few minutes of the promenade high above the beach. Playa del Ingles is not an exciting place - it is very much about the beach - and the walk along to Maspalomas on the beach was an experience not to be missed. So the hotel’s location was very suitable for that.

The bedrooms are of standard size, and the beds rather hard, but when we asked for a soft mattress, they very quickly sorted this out, as they did with any other request, such as getting a mat to help avoid accidents in the slippery bath. The toiletries in the bathroom were very limited, and we used the local supermarket to improve our range.
The bedroom selection is all important. As the entertainment is outside in the evening, you cannot avoid it - and so if your main priority is to have a dress circle view from your bedroom balcony, choose a room on a lower floor, round about the middle, say room 17. We wanted a view of the dunes, and had asked for a room on floors 5 or 6, but were initially given one on the third floor. When we asked for higher room, they agreed, but claimed that they had only received the room requests a week before, which was why I had been allocated the wrong room. A week! A black mark there, I am afraid.

The restaurant was large - two sittings, either at 6 or 8, which was not ideal. We chose 6, but it was rather early, and we would have found 8 too late. As far as the food was concerned - it was up to Riu’s high standard. There was a great range, and the meat was incredibly tender, bearing in mind the problems of mass production. We did rather agree with a previous reviwer about the underdone bacon - but that was a small point!

There were plenty of beds around the pool. There entertainment was good - sometimes excellent - sometimes not so good. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: High for the views - low for the entertainment
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oldie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here in March 2013 and enjoyed it so much that we booked again for March 2014. Have we regretted doing that? Not in the least, it was just as good as we expected. This is truly the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed at and the staff are excellent and will go the extra mile to please you. Many of them, and even some guests, remembered us from last year. The food is very good for a four star hotel, our only reservations being the undercooked bacon some days. The rooms are not over large but are ample with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. The beds, with the optional mattress toppers, were very comfortable. Some of the shows in the evening were very good and the resident trio, same as last year, played easy listening music. The swimming pool is so clean it is unbelievable and there are more than enough sunbeds so that you could find one at any time of the day. The pool attendants even bring the mattresses to you. Some people seem to object to the Riu policy of allocated times and tables for dinner but we prefer that. You get to know your waiter (and more importantly he gets to know you) and the people at the adjoining tables. It was another very relaxing stay, so much so that we have booked again for March 2015 and that says it all!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This Hotel is situated in a fantastic location for shopping, bars, public transport and access to the beach and walk to adjacent resorts. Food and variety second to none - pity about the fact that you had to either dine at 6.00 or 8.00 p.m. (I thought Riu had changed this regimented policy in their Hotels now). However, the choice and quality made up for this slight inconvenient. Rooms are a bit dated although clean - beds could be more comfortable and better toiletries would be much appreciated.

Room Tip: All room have pool views - was on 3rd floor and had not noise problems
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g_parry043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is an excellent hotel with a great swimming pool - non-slip and not too deep. Plenty of sunbeds and a pleasant garden area. Entertainment was mostly outside in the evenings and finished at the acceptable hour of 11 pm. Like other reviewers, I was not happy about the set times for dinner and the set seats and some people got very upset when 'their' seat was taken at other meal-times! There was great variety of food however and the rooms were well maintained. Staff were friendly and helpful. The lack of Wi-Fi was disappointing in view of the fact that many hotels now provide this in all areas and for free. The hotel is a walkable distance from the beach but there can be many steps to get up and down to the main area. Not much to the town itself as it is all hotels and little tatty shopping areas. This is a good hotel to stay in for relaxing by the pool and doing as little as possible!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

At first l thought things were a bit regimented, but the place grew on me. Greeted with a glass of bubbly and soon in our room, cases followed swiftly. We had a large balcony being on the lst floor with table and chairs.The room felt a bit small due to another set of table and chairs inside. Everything very clean.Nice firm beds,safe extra charge.Good lighting in bedroom and bathroom also plenty of mirrors, plenty of hangers too. Towel rail quite high at the back of the bath, so may be a bit difficult if you were 5' tall. The chairs by the pool in the lovely gardens were all set to face the sun, plenty of them, also umbrellas and small tables.Nice large pool with a non slip bottom.Very nice large beach towels.Food, well so much choice, you need to look around for a while before choosing, veggie area also diet corner.Allocated tables and two sittings,You can have 1 meal a week in the a la carte restaurant, with 4 choices of food.Staff all very good and helpful.The entertainment in the evenings was OK, it finished at 11.00, if you want anything more after this you needed to walk up to the Yumbo centre where lots went on late in the night. At the centre there were a lot of shops and restaurants. whilst we were there it was carnival time, so the evenings could be a bit noisy, but as our rooms were well away from this area, it was quiet. It was a 5 min walk to the front and the sand dunes. From here you could walk to the left to shops on the front, or to the right and walk into Maspalomas and further. There is a library with a few books.Internet is extra.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 -10 should be quietest away from the Yumbo centre
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wendygp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A good looking curved building, with elegant marble reception area, and all bedrooms facing an attractively shaped pool set in a beautiful garden with many palm trees. Good sitting areas inside and out, and plenty of suns beds and sun umbrellas around the pool. Unobtrusive bar service near the pool. There's a small gym around the back of the hotel.

Food in the restaurant was plentiful and varied, on a buffet basis. There's also a small a la carte restaurant. Entertainment every evening was mostly very good - on a small stage outside except on cool evenings.

Bedrooms have balconies and are well equipped but not very large. Ours had twin beds.

Staff throughout the hotel are exceptional; efficient, friendly and cheerful, and seem to enjoy working there. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Room cleaning was thorough and excellent.

Our wish list for future visits would include a better flat screen TV with SKY news in the bedroom; free or much less expensive wi-fi (it costs €18 a week for each gadget); several more changing rooms around the pool (we found just one unisex).

More important for us would be a single sitting for dinner instead of two: one at 6pm (too early) and 8pm (too late). Breakfast manages with one sitting because guests choose different times and there are no queues. We chose the early sitting, and from about 7pm the meal becomes quite stressful because staff were starting to prepare for the 8pm sitting, clearing starters and main courses away and inevitably creating quite a lot of noise. We didn't appreciate not being able to take our time over dinner whilst on holiday. No after dinner coffee was served in the restaurant, possibly because it would have extended the time early diners spent there. This arrangement would put us off going there again, I am sorry to say, because the hotel is excellent is so many ways.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarefulScreening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is a lovely hotel and this time, our second week, we have a large balcony overlooking the pool. We are here on full board, although missing most lunches as out all day. Sadly wifi is not available as at the Reina Isabel; in this day and age free wifi is expected, even if restricted to reception areas. My other dislike is the cruise ship style dinners, with strict seating and times. It is to avoid this type of bossiness that I avoid cruise ships, and instead come to hotels like this one. This lady certainly gets too hungry for dinner at eight, but then six is a bit early. With
self service meal arrangements in place, I fail to see why a more relaxed and flexible approach can be made. There is here simply a charge at the appointed time, rather than the spaced out demand of open dinner times. Crazy. And to be told where to sit and whom to sit with for the duration is a step too far.

Room Tip: It appears from the design that all main block hotel rooms overlook the pool area, a higher floor wo...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,651 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,936 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,548 reviews
0.6 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos

Address: Avda. Estados Unidos de America 1 | Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#16 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#19 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £122 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Palmeras/Riu Palmitos is located in Gran Canaria, Spain, and is ideal for enjoying holidays as a family, couple or with friends and soaking up the good atmosphere radiated by the island. In the calm and central resort of Playa del Ingles beach, you will find this comfortable 4 star complex that offers the service and quality that can be expected of RIU Hotels & Resorts. Everything you could need for relaxing and fun-filled holidays is within easy reach. It includes a fresh water swimming pool, a solarium-terrace and a gym as well as many water sports and two golf courses. In the surrounding area you can also rent a bike, play squash, mini golf or tennis.Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palmeras Hotel
Hotel Riu Palmeras / Bung Riu Palmitos Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing