We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable good”

Restaurante Calma Chicha
Reserve with
Restaurante Calma Chicha is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Contemporary spanish cuisine in a pleasant atmosphere, cozy inside dinning room and panoramic terrace. We do not have children menu.
Frechen, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable good”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This is the best i ever eat in gram canaria. Take the menue and every plate was amazing. Fresh good food. Very nice combinations and good friendly service in mice clean athmosphere. Try it,... Should be the nr.1 in g.c.

Helpful?
1 Thank Marcoseypelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    180
    45
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not sure on this one...”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We like our food, and was really excited to visit the second best rated restaurant in Playa del Ingles. My boyfriend liked it but I wasn't too sure.

The guy serving our food was friendly enough (even though we were corrected on our pronunciation on drinks)

My starter of Duck confit salad was quite oily but nice. My main was Pork tenderloin and it was surprisingly tough! And the desert of chocolate brownie was quite dry (although the ice cream was nice!)

When we asked for two coffees at the end of the meal, we were told "if that's what you want" ?!?!?!

There was a table of 9 or 10 Spaniards next to us, so I guess they took the attention of the staff.

Meal was nice, setting was nice, but I don't think we'd go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bradleyjames1285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best place we ate (twice in 10days). Brilliant.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Service is very good. Intimate setting. Superbly presented food which tasted very, very good. Hard to fault it. A lot of seafood on the menu (which suited me fine). I would definitely come back here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philip h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaumont-Gistoux, Belgium
Level Contributor
187 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Exceptionnal menu”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had dinner at Calma Chicha for the second time beginning of the week and took the menu degustation, this is 5 courses at Eur 35.
The quality of the food is really excellent, very good and friendly service,
Bottle of Rioja wine under Eur 25.
All in all very good and we ´ ll go back there for sure

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clementineWavre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maspalomas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous...”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

A friend suggested that this restaurant was worth a try and it certainly was. We had one of the best meals ever on the island.
The restaurant was easy to find, just across the road from the Catalina Hotel and there is a very pleasant street-level terrace, tastefully furnished and with plenty of shade. We chose the "Tasting Menu" and it was delicious. We ordered a glass of red wine each and sparkling water. The amuse-bouche was a small dish of houmous and it was very good. The first course was a Strawberry Gazpacho with a large scallop and salmon caviar. It was a delight to eat, the perfect combination of flavours. The second course, the rice with cuttlefish and prawns served with alioli sauce was perfectly cooked and very tasty. The Tangerine sorbet was a nice touch and the crystalised ginger pieces very tangy. The next course, the Tuna Tartare was my favourite dish. Beautifully prepared, nicely presented and the flavour was exquisite. The next course, the Beef Tenderloin was cooked to our liking and came with a wonderful sauce and vegetables. The dessert was Tiramisu which was served with coffee ice cream, it was the perfect end to the meal. When we asked for the bill the waiter came with a small tray containing two small glasses of Homey Rum and a little dish of Jelly Bears! The cost including a tip was under 90 Euros.
The service was excellent throughout the meal, the waiter knew exactly what each of the courses was and I noticed that their english was very good. The linen napkin, the candle, the beautiful white crockery and high quality cutlery made this restaurant stand out from the majority of nearby restaurants.
We will certainly return, this restaurant is a "breathe of fresh air" for Playa del Ingles, a real change from the "international restaurants" with their standardised, thirty year old, and very boring menus. Excellent food, service and decor.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank grankan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Calma Chicha also viewed

Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
San Agustin, Maspalomas
 
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 

Been to Restaurante Calma Chicha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing