We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grim”
Review of Apartments Fayna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartments Fayna
Ranked #112 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Grim”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Grim is the only word which describes this property.
Stayed for one night though had planned to stay for ten.
The public areas and staircases were drab and dreary and the steel doors leading into the individual apartments gave an almost industrial feel to the building.
The property was poorly maintained, but not only that it was also dirty.
All the crockery and glassware in the kitchen cupboards was smeary.
The glass dining table was filthy as were all the windows.
The towels in the bathroom were well worn and smelt musty.
The sheets on the beds were thin and worn and the pillows were what I can only describe as lumps of dirty foam rubber.
It just felt that it needed a thorough cleaning and a complete updating.
I have visited this resort many times and have never stayed anywhere like it.
The only redeeming feature is the receptionist Monica Dikken, an extremely pleasant lady.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    25
    22
    10
    15
See reviews for
11
38
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I'd actually like to have given 3 and a half on the rating.

First the positive. I found the apartments to be clean if a little dated. I think an estate agaent would say they contained furniture with character - i.e. old but it was solid.
I had no towels and fortunately the maid was on my floor and- after she had been through the apartment to look - she gave me towels and apologised for forgetting. The apartment was cleaned a few times during the week and i had clean towels once- but I did have two sets each time. The bed may have been changed Im not sure but it was certainly made up a few times during the week.
(Just for info- I didn't see a single cockroach the whole week - although one morning at breakfast I heard the cook yelp and then she and the waitress were chasing something with a broom in the kitchen. I didn't ask what)

The pool area was never overly busy and there was no issue with the loungers.
Some were passed their best but there had obviously been some new ones bought fairly recently.
The flat had a basic kitchen but I was half board so never really had to use it.


Monika, the receptionist was delightful and very helpful.

The negative- the bath had been painted (yes painted) and was flaking.
There is no 24 hour reception. The building is unattended apart from a few hours am and a few hours pm.
The stairs are very dark and if going down at night the switch for each flight is at the bottom. The switches in the corridors arent illuminated and are tiny and difficult to find - use the elevator in the dark and take a little torch.
The TV is free - unusal for the resort apparently but has only 1 German and 3 Spanish channels.
Booking. com site said there was a bar and i think a snack bar- not at all. You can get ice cream and water when the reception is open.
The WiFi is dreadful. €30 for the week and i spent most of that time logging in again and again. I also noticed someone else at the pool doing the exact same. I did mentionit and was told they would reset it but it made no difference. Monika did say to me to think about it first beause so many places have free wifi and to be honest if I hadn't been there on my own I would have just used McDs or some cafe.

There were damaged tiles at the bottom of the entrance steps - some of which were replaced by a bit of astrograss while I was there.

I had no hot water in my flat at all for the week- and was eventually told yes there is hot water but it just isnt reaching you- the technica will look some day ( I was leaving 2 days later). When I pointed out I was having to microwave water to shave Monika said but you have the kettle. When i said no I didn't she said yes beside the toaster. Toaster? I replied. I was then told a new kettle and toaster had been bought for every appartment and "she" was meant to put them in. A day later when I went back Monika was astounded I hadn't got them yet and she went and gave ME them to put in the apartment!
(This sounds a bit like Fawlty towers and it was but she was so nice I couldn't get worked up about it and I presume if I had made a song and dance she would have moved on things)

The Worst thing was the food - breakfast was served in the Apartment block and was edible - strange combination with usual fare and chicken croquets and peas or carrots!!

Evening meal was served in the company "restaurant" on the way to the beach- this was barely edible. Actually it was awful. every night was like the night before with a little change- roast beef had gunge over it or the stew had peas in it or the plain pasta had changed shape. Nobody came in and paid to eat in it, you wouldn't.

My overall review is- Apartments fine and clean- basic but they don't say they are 4 star. Pool was fine, reasonable clean although the surroundings were a bit grubby at time- never saw the pool being cleaned in the week I was there and I was out when the pool guy was around.

The posiiton was fine- 5/10 mins from beach, 5 mins from Yumbo Centrum. Hiperdino supermarket around the corner. Staff were pleasant.
Just don't take the half board option no matter how cheap. The standard was equally low no matter which "chef" was on.

The hotel people mentioned being built is almost complete so there wasnt that much noise.

Room Tip: I took a high room and that was reasonably quiet but they all face the pool and higher ones will hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotsguy05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Stayed at this apt for 1 night whilst i was in the area and for the price i paid, it was very good value for money. room is nice, big and nice balcony, also it has a free TV. The pool area is very empty but apts are in a great location, only 5 minutes walk to the Yumbo and the main clubs.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_D010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2012

stayed here last year what can i say the receptionist made this holiday she upgraded us on arrival, hotel was lovely spacious etc, kitchen was basic, bathroom cleaned everyday by cleaners, was 5 min walk to the beach and 5 to the main supermarket and 10 mins to the main night life which was brilliant,
weather was fantastic, sand dunes amazing etc but,
playa del ingles isnt for everyone and im 1 of these people but was an experience i wont forget lol,

Room Tip: defo stay level 3 upwards as you can see up and down the street, also over look the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aimz008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipperary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

if you want a place close to yumbo centre and cheap its a ideal place,
when you come out of the gate turn right and its straight up about 5 mins
cards were faulty when we were there didnt work all the time

Room Tip: dosent matter where you stay cause the view is just of another hotel no sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madzTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Another review of another abode.

We stayed here for 7 nights over the New Year 2011/12 and found the apartments charming and clean.

Reception.
The receptionist was great, happy, helpful and good English. We asked for a room on a high floor but we were allocated a ground floor room. I went to reception to ask to change and within 5 mins I was allocated another room on the 2nd floor. Not ideal but better and safer then the ground floor. Reception open from 9am to 1pm and again from 4pm to 8pm. Note, if arriving between 1 and 4pm email the hotel direct to let them know or put it on your special requests part of your booking.

Room.
1 bed apartment. 2 single beds in the separate bedroom along with a safe (15 E for week with a 20E deposit) and ceiling fan (didn't work but didn't need it). Large wardrobe but not enough coat hangers (ask the maid for more). 1 very thin pillow on each bed (Again ask for more). Small dressing table and mirror (no full length mirrors here). More drawer space could be given as very limited. Comfortable beds though.

Kitchen was adequate for 2 people. Although very dated, in fact the whole complex was dated with wood fa-card everywhere. Enough of everything for 3 people, good size fridge / freezer and clean.

The room was ok for a base although cold at night as the windows were single pained and the wind was howling through at all times. Maid service was sporadic but this was due to the bank holidays and new year. All very cheery though. Towels changed 3 times a week (again ask and they will do more), linen changed once a week.

All in all the place is dated and in need of a spruce, location was perfect with a 5 min walk to the beach and 5 min to Yumbo. Large HyperDino around the corner for essentials. Water can be bought from reception (excellent, no more white hands from carrying from shops).

Cheap enough for a week SC accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, Email direct if arriving when the reception is closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjohnboy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The apartment is fab the place to stay when you come to playa del ingles, my partner and my self stayed here, we havn't found any fault at all the rooms are cleaned daily the clearners always do a good job, the pool is clean and lots 9f sun bed too go around, the recepcionist wads fab she does a good job, i will be staying here again. the location is fab the yumbo is only 4mins walk the beach is 4mins walk away

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jermoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.2 mi away
Guinea Apartments
Guinea Apartments
#66 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tamaran Apartments
Tamaran Apartments
#83 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Australia Apartments
Australia Apartments
#122 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Amazonas
Apartamentos Amazonas
#59 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Los Aguacates
Los Aguacates
#99 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Arenas Apartamentos
Las Arenas Apartamentos
#82 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Fayna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Fayna

Property: Apartments Fayna
Address: Avenida De Estados Unidos,32, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartments Fayna 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartments Fayna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Fayna Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Apartments Fayna Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing