We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value for money”
Review of Veril Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Veril Playa
Ranked #104 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“excellent value for money”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

booked a last minute All inclusive break for myself and husband and was not really expecting too much for the price we paid. How surprised I was when we got there. Our room was spotless and we had maid service 6 times in a week. The food was excellent. You would have to be very very fussy if you could not find anything to eat. And the bar staff could not have been any nicer. it is in a quieter spot in the middle between playa del ingles and san Augustin so not the best if you are looking for the high life but suited us fine as we could walk to either resort and choose a quiet night or something a bit livlier. Beach is on your doorstep. To all those moaning minis;- if you want 5* treatment then go to 5* hotel .

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    50
    49
    32
    21
See reviews for
30
94
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

the hotel it self is not bad. but is not really all inclusive when we booked it it say the all inclusive is on till 10.30pm but when we got there was told that is 9.30pm then that changed to 9.00pm. you can only get one drink at a time you have to take your glass back to show you have finished. so can not get a few before it finish is so from 9.00pm you have to buy your drinks. most of the staff where friendly and helpful but there was one a young one who needs to be taught some manners
.it all says there is entertainment on there was a singer on Christmas day and one on another night but he was there from 6pm till a few hours later waste of time should be on later. all this changes because it is the winter but as far as i know gran canaria is all round season that's why people go there in our winter. so if you want all inclusive don't use this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Ingles hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I booked a week in GC for Nov'12 as it was my partners birthday, at the time of booking I made a mistake by booking the correct flights and wrong hotel. When I realised what I'd done, we logged on to Trip Advisor to check the reviews! We read through them, some quite positive and some quite negative. We decided, hey ho......... we'll just make up our minds when we get there and hope for the best. The negative reviews that I read were on the back of my mind, I have to be 100% honest and say that I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We checked into the hotel, the receptionist was very nice and swiftly booked us into our room and gave us our all-inclusive card. We proceeded to our room, as we entered the room my heart kinda sank but I was judging this on my first impression. The room/apartment was quite dated but it was spotlessly clean. Our apt had a sitting room, bedroom, kitchen and all importantly a loo!! We were on the 4th floor with a view overlooking the pool and out towards the sea. Later that evening we went to the dining room to the buffet dinner, there was a good selection of food, starters, mains (fish, meat, vegetarian) and puddings. The bar/dining room staff were friendly, they regularly checked to make sure everything was ok and asked if we were wanting another drink.The pool area was clean but the only issue was that people were going to the pool at 7am-7.30am to 'book' sun loungers by placing their towels on them, this is probably the only negative comment that I could honestly make about this hotel. We were about a 1 minute walk away from the beach/promenade. The all-inclusive drinks at this hotel are between 10am & 9pm, for those who do like to get bladdered into the small hours of the morning, they definitely wouldn't appreciate the restrictions.

If your booking this hotel and reading reviews my advice would be to remain open-minded, its pretty inexpensive and realistically........ you get what you pay for. Hope this helps future travellers. :)

Room Tip: Ask for sea-view floors 4 & 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UK_Traveller_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

While booking this hotel in August, I decided not to pay attention to unsatisfied reviews. Well, we are all so different and have different needs. However, I was wrong.
But let's start with nice things:
- Hotel is at the great location. Just minute away from the beach
-Nice view
-When we arrived at night, nice lady at the reception provided us with water and a salad.
-Staff was as nice as they could be, cause there were 3 guys only working morning till night.
-Reception guys did help when questions rises.

Things that I didn't like:
- There were no air condition in our room and on the balcony door there was a sign that for our safety it's better not to leave it open. Well, quite a dilemma:) but we figured out that without open door we cannot survive.
- Beds were separated. Generally, normal thing, but not for a couple.
- Bathroom was old. Old equipment, old shower. Hot water was only for the first 3 minutes, then it was turned into nearly warm.
- However, the biggest issue for me was FOOD. Let's mention that I am not picky one at all. First of all, breakfasts were everyday the same: eggs, sausages, cheese, salami, bacon, musli, bread. All this looked not fresh and was not tasty.
Dinner were different but salad and veggies were not always fresh, a lot of fried things. It could be better if they could serve it in a better way. For me it was disgusting, I couldn't eat much. The water where the ice-cream scoop lied wasn't changed for around 3 days.
I will never book this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irinav599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rushden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We have just got back from a week staying at the VERIL PLAYA and feel we need to advise you of our problems

On check in we were told that the All Inclusive times were 10.00 to 21.00 not 22.30 as we were told when booking. And when asked why, we were told it was winter? It was 29c while we were there, winter what winter. So after dinner we walked into town, which is about 500m along the prom and up the steeps all 70 of them, but there is a slope as well.

The disappointment continued when we got to our room [304]. The bathroom was dirty with black mould around the floor edges and between the tiles. The worse bit of all was the smell of other guests BAD BODY ODOUR , on the pillows and bed linen. We asked 3 times for these to be changed but the hotel did nothing. We made pillows from the towels and put the pillows outside. The smell from the pillows was that bad you could smell them outside on the balcony when you went out there.

The hotel has no air conditioning in the rooms and this meant we had to sleep with the balcony door open, and the Hotel being next to a main road junction, it made it very noisy from about 5am, which is not good when your on holiday and trying to sleep on a hard smelly bed with a towel for a pillow.

The good points, yes there are a few. The food was basic but we could always find something to eat.
The waiters and waitresses were very friendly and professional, although they had to ask you every time if you were all inclusive, as the hotel doesn’t adopt wrist band policy for their all inclusive guests.

The hotel is only 30m from the beach and the prom and about 500m from the town, but on a main road junction.

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR, but no excuse for being dirty so 3/10

Would we go back? NO NEVER

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keith s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We didn't pay a huge amount for our all inclusive holiday and after reading previous reviews were expecting to use the hotel as a base for exploring the island without taking advantage of the all inclusive facilities. As it happens everything about the place was absolutely bang on.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the three guys behind the bar were a delight to deal with. The food was exactly what you would expect from a hotel with a lower star rating and we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of what was on offer.I have read the reviews from previous customers and remain baffled by some of the negativity. Believe me this hotel offers absolutely outstanding value for money and I can not recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room overlooking the pool if you want to get to sleep early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Padscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Brilliant hotel, great staff,facilities, stayed there for a week all inclusive, great selections of food,supermarket on site, the room was spotless with a fantastic sea view, shame it was single beds but we coped, came with a lovely little kitchen and good sized bathroom, there was an issue with the hot water but to be honest it was that lovely weather we barely used the hot, room cleaned every day and sheets/towels etc replenished. The only thing about the food was the chef couldnt cook an egg very well but not complaining. the pool was always clean and kept on top of throughout the day, but if you are wanting a place by the pool then you have to get there early as there are some people who reserve a seat and not use it all day, we saw that a few times. The entertainment they put on wasnt overly great but was bearable, Brilliant location for the seaside and not too far from Maspalomas! Overall i would definately recommend this hotel, you get what you pay for and maybe more than you expect.

Definately Go Again!!

Room Tip: we were in room 303 and it was perfect, caught the sun all day and there were shady areas, anything...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.1 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#105 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
1.3 mi away
Walkirias Resort
Walkirias Resort
#45 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Don Quijote
Don Quijote
#93 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Montemar
Apartamentos Montemar
#94 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Folias
Hotel Folias
#10 of 19 in San Agustin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.0 mi away
Las Gondolas Apartments
Las Gondolas Apartments
#30 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veril Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veril Playa

Property: Veril Playa
Address: C/ Hannover, 4; esquina Hamburgo 8, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Veril Playa 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veril Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veril Playa Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Veril Playa Del Ingles
Veril Playa Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing