We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has a good potential but ends up overall poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
Ranked #22 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Has a good potential but ends up overall poor”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We are a family from Norway with two kids who travelled with Apollo and we stayed at the hotel for one week this February. The Bungalows are nice and spacious and a practical place to stay with small kids as they are situated on the ground floor. Cleaning is good and the staff is working hard and they are friendly except from the personnel in the front desk. Unfortunately this is the only positive thing to say about this hotel.

Especially one woman in the front desk is exceptionally grumpy and rude and totally destroys the experience. It gives a terrible creepy feeling just to pass this woman even though you are not going to talk to her.

We had All Inclusive but it is the worse All Inclusive we have been to. The impression is that this is a "cheap" All Inclusive and the hotel doesn´t really want to give the customers this service.

Food is little varied, poorly prepared and tasteless. The juice is not a juice but rather a bad soft drink (the kids refused to drink it and asked for water). Liquids also have to be enjoyed from tiny tiny tiny plastic cups (beer, soda, water ect.) and gives the felling that the hotel by just offering these cups can save money. The result is that you have to fill up a lot of cups or/and run back and forth all the time to get enough to drink. Really annoying...After a few days I actually didn´t want any of this food. This was a big minus as the food is an important part of the holiday for us.

Activities at the hotel are mainly for German tourists and was not an alternative for our kids (3 and 11). Except from slots which costs money there is little to do at this resort. Some evenings there was a show- in German and it was just really, really, really bad.

There are two pools. One of them is a little heated, but to cold to stay in for a long time. The other pool (for the kids) is not heated and useless. No guests used this pool and nor did our kids. We are from Norway and are used to cold waters. Our daughter is quite tough when it comes to temperatures, but she hated this pool.

If you seek a place with tasteful food, a well assorted All Inclusive, fun activities for the kids, warm water in the pool and a smiling staff in the front desk- Try something else!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 112Gatsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    489
    175
    57
    36
See reviews for
1,131
178
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a week's holiday at Parque Cristobal and had to leave a review. We went in half term and wanted some winter sun and we got it, despite a stormy first day or so. Food was great, not sure what some of the other reviewers were talking about? Cooked and continental breakfasts with yogurts, pastries, pancakes, cold meats and cheeses as well as bacon, eggs, baked beans etc. We were half board to save some money and this did mean drinks with the evening meal weren't included, but no great problem.

Staff were polite and helpful. The reception staff I dealt with were all very nice. The maid cleaning the room was very friendly. We had an issue with the electric cutting out in the bungalow and it was dealt with very quickly.

The main pool is heated. Obviously not to 'Center Parcs' temperatures but warmer than the sea! The other pool with slide and water splash park wasn't heated, unfortunately and was too cold for us in Feb. Weather was plenty warm enough for sunbathing and swimming.

We went to Aqualand one day and had a lovely time. Some slides were too scary for me but the boys loved it. Food service was slow and expensive there, but it made for a good day out. Not exceptional, but still fun.

We went on a boat trip from Puerto Rico to see the dolphins in the sea, and we must have seen about twenty, leaping around the boat. The water park there had closed down a few years ago, by the look of it.

The hotel provided a free bus service to the beach, going every hour or so. The beach was very wide and there was plenty of room. The dunes along the shore were amazing. We loved the Atlantic waves.

The bungalow was well equipped. Kettle, toaster, microwave, two ring hob. We had a 2 bedroomed one, with all single beds, all comfortable. The TV had no English channels, but we don't go on holiday to watch TV. My only regret was our bungalow didn't face the main path and was shady most of the day. But we had booked through a cheap online website and had a good deal.

This was half term so there were more English families there than usual, but there was still plenty of space around the pool, always sun loungers free. It may be different in high season, of course.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Ellen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed for a week in February 2014 and had an enjoyable holiday. The accommodation is good: we were in a 2 bedroom unit that also had a comfortable sofa bed in the lounge so plenty of space for the 5 of us (2 adults, 3 kids). The hotel is nicely laid out: all on ground level with the accommodation units well spaced and plenty of green areas. The main pool was lovely: heated a little bit which helped in February and good for both proper swimming and splashing about with kids. The second pool was not heated and so a bit chillier, but still useable as long as the sun was out!
Our unit (124) had the advantage of being only 20m from the pool and bar area, so very handy. The outdoor bar area was nicely laid out so you could eg have a drink whilst kids are playing not far away.
The hotel's own entertainment team and the TUI couriers (Thomson in UK) seemed to work together so you got the same entertainment and animation whoever you booked with (that might be different for little kids though where there was a small kids club run by the hotel and a separate "Trolleywood" small kids club run by TUI. Both seemed good: and our slightly older kids (between 7 and 11) didn't do this, but enjoyed taking part in the competitions and entertainment run by the wider team.
We found the reception staff and hotel staff in general to be friendly and efficient.
We stayed half board, most guests seem to go all inclusive. The food was buffet style each meal. It was OK - not brilliant but not bad either: to be honest if you go to an all-inclusive style of buffet every meal you shouldn't have overly high expectations! Kids enjoyed it more than the adults, I'd say, but overall I had no complaints.
Hotel is right in the middle of the Maspalomas urban area. I didn't find it noisy, the streets immediately adjoining the hotel are quiet roads, though with a few mins walk you can be in the middle of the shop, bar, restaurant area around the Yumbo centre. Don't come here expecting the beach right on your doorstep, though the hotel runs shuttles to the beach. We went to Meloneras both for a restaurant trip and to the lovely beach there: much nicer than Playa del Ingles. Not far from the hotel we ate in the Argentinian El Asador restaurant, which was great and they were excellent with the children (even providing children's cocktail drinks on arrival). Went to Aqualand Water Park one day - good but v expensive: about 120 euros for a family of 5.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5intokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just returned from a week at Parque Cristobal, staying in February.
We had an amazing time! The food was fantastic, the pools and outdoor space were a delight and the staff friendly and efficient.
We have two children aged five and six and they loved the kids club so much I had to drag them away on the last day crying! The entertainment team were excellent, always energetic and welcoming.
I would return in a flash and strongly recommend this complex to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldtowndance1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Just arrived back had a great time would recomend this hotel to anyone. Food was very good and with plenty of choice and the bungalow was kept clean and by the cleaners who came in 5 times during our 7 nights stay clean towels and sheets 3 times. However I would not go in July or August as I think it would be very busy and far to hot for me. Lots of German Finnish etc not many Brits but his didnt cause a problem Entertainment staff Germans mostly no English until the end of March but they did encourage everyone to join in .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwena10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks with our 1 year old kid. Pools: One not heated at all, including the kids water park and 2nd pool poorly heated. Reception was horrible. Short-haired matronly lady did not respond well to customers requests. Food was horrible. Cleaning personnel was very nice and friendly. Gym was none existing and there was only one tennis court. Playa Ingles was also a horrible, ugly place and with few exceptions the restaurants are poor value with plain food and and no service. On the plus side it should be notes that the hotel offers free and plenty parking and there is a lot of closet space in the bungalows/camping cabins. There are no double beds available but this might be a general problem on the whole island.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barierstgilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herning, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We has a great stay at Parque Cristobal! The bungalow was very well cleaned and with fairly spacious. We had all inclusive and was satisfied with that as well. The restaurant had a broad variety of food and most of it was well-cooked. Every day had a different theme, which made sure that you did not get fed up with the food. The staff was nice and friendly as well. Our only issue was that the fitness room wasn't well-equipped and many of the machines were broken. Overall it was a very satisfying stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.1 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,586 reviews
0.2 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Barbacan Hotel
Sol Barbacan Hotel
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,723 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#12 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria

Property: HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
Address: C/ Hollanda S/N, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Parque Cristobal Hotel
Hotel Parque Cristobal
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing