We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Basement Studios Gran Canaria
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

i was quite unsure about staying at the Studios and I must say the room did need some work and the activities are very FULL on so be warned. The pool area is great very clean and the breakfast served on your own terrace consists of a great selection of things. Directly opposite the Yumbo is good if u want to go out late. All in all quite a nice resort but rooms could be better.

Room Tip: if u want privacy dont book rooms 4 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GHarr49768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    40
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
1
58
57
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Glad to see that standards have continued to increase since our last visit in Nov 2012, and the guys at the Basement are just as friendly and welcoming as ever.

This place is firmly establishing itself back at the top of the tree as the place to stay for gay couples that like that little bit extra than you would find at normal establishments.

The Wednesday night parties, hosted by the handsome and ever-smiling Scott, seem to have really taken off at this place, with well over 50 guys attending each week we were staying there.

Looking forward to our next visit for Fetish Week later this year in October :)

Keep up the good work boys, and thanks again for a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Andy_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

I've visited the complex several times, but this time was the best. It has under gone a complete make over and for the better too. The toilet and bar facilities are much bettter, very clean and staff are helpful and friendly. As a gay guy I enjoyed being able to relax in the company of others, I soon got chatting to the residents. I would certainly recommend either staying here or coming daily on a pass.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank philipbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Just enjoyed a weeks stay at the Basement Studios, and we will certainly be coming back.
The rooms are to the same standard as any other gay resort in GC, plus they come with a handy towel rack ;-)
Staff are lovely, friendly and helpful - lovely full breakfast. Did not notice the drinks prices, all cheap compared to being at home and if you want water then go to the supermarket.
It was busy most days, a real mix of guys that generally played nicely together. You either can join the fun or stay by the pool, no pressure.
Location is perfect opposite the Yumbo and it is not noisy at all, plus you can fall across the road later in the evening instead of taking taxis.

Room Tip: Room 2 - shaded from the afternoon sun and close to the action. Rooms 1,3,5 all have stairs leading...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tobams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

have recently returned to the Studios, after about a year to find the whole complex has been refurbished,and really well, sometimes money gets thrown at establishments, without any thought for the clientele, well pleased to say not here, the standard and quality is to a very high standard, without taking away Basements unique atmosphere and selling points!.
Staff are friendly and multi- lingual which was appreciated by my Spanish and German friends who I have met on the Island over the years, who came on several days to visit.I travelled on my own, but didn't feel alone at all.
Menu was varied, good and reasonably priced, as were the drinks, and was able to run a tab for the week.
Not forgetting the Studio's location right opposite the Yumbo Centre, had a great time and will definately be going back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HERMESO4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Visited a few times as a day visitor whilst on a weeks holiday. Much has changed since my last visit in July 2012.

Positives
Prices for day visitors unchanged.
Broken blue sun beds replaced.
New layout - reception on right as you enter from street near Yumbo.
Extra apartment (where old reception used to be).
No less clean than previous visits. All my visits started early in the day.
Still a good place for some fun.

Negatives
Staff not as friendly, whilst not rude you no longer get that warm welcome. Whilst I was there staff didn't chat with visitors as in the past. I didn't feel like a valued customer - first time ever I've not purchased a weekly pass, split this visit between here & beach.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Uk_jamie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

The biggest bug bear about this place is the drinks. Water at €2.50, beer at €4. Your not supposed to bring your own drinks or food in but people do, especially water as its a rip off here, you can get the same water in the supermarket down the road for 40cents! If drinks were reasonably priced, like the food they sell, then I'm sure more people would buy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Myk1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.3 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#10 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#11 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Playa del Sol -  Adults Only
Playa del Sol - Adults Only
#41 of 220 in Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basement Studios Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basement Studios Gran Canaria

Property: Basement Studios Gran Canaria
Address: Avda de Estados Unidos 37 | Playa del Ingles, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 91 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basement Studios is run by gay men for gay men and has multi-ligual staff which offers a relaxed yet stimulating holiday experience. We are located in Playa del Ingles and are directly opposite the world famous Yumbo Centre – you just can’t get closer to the gay nightlife, sex bars and restaurants.We aim to be different to other gay holiday resorts. At Basement Studios you have the opportunity to be naked and have fun wherever and whenever you want. We have carefully created an environment to maximise your cruising and sexual experience. We also pride ourselves on having no-attitude here – all gay guys are welcomed regardless of age, body size, fitness and background. Our only rule is that during the day you observe the dresscode of naked, jockstrap and swimwear only (no Burmuda shorts).The Complex has been recently renovated to a high standard ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Basement Complex Gran Canaria Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Basement Studios Gran Canaria Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing