We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most excellent holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Basement Studios Gran Canaria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We really had a great time at the Basement Studios. Despite travelling to Gran Canaria in the "off" season, there were plenty of people running around the hotel all day long. The pool area was full of day visitors and all of the bungalows were full for the week that we were there. I love the fact that this is a perfect alternative to making the trek on the beach. We did the beach a couple times, but I actually preferred hanging about the pool.

I would not say that this place is for 20 somethings. It appears to be a 30/35-on up type of hotel (for that I was very grateful). The age-range and type of guys was all over the map. Although, depending on the season (we arrived in "sun bathing" season as opposed to "party" season), I would imagine the clientèle changes quite a bit.

The hotel grounds were immaculate and constantly cleaned. The "play" areas in the back were well maintained and also cleaned daily. The pool was small, but lovely and although the sun-bathing loungers seemed a bit flimsy, they were sufficient and comfortable. For those wanting to avoid too much sun (such as this fair-skinned bloke), there are plenty of umbrellas to create some shade. There is a little bar on the premises that also makes some easy food. The food is delicious and both the food and drink are reasonably priced.

The hotel staff were very accommodating for breakfast in the morning. They made us fresh eggs to order, toast as well as offered a full-English breakfast. Actually, the entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay.

Word of advice to couples who are muscular and/or on the "bigger" side. Beds are typical Spanish beds--they are NOT wide and not really long as well. If you need extra space because you don't want to be constantly touching all night long, go for two beds. That being said, they were firm and comfortable for us.

I don't give it a perfect rating simply because I feel the rooms need a bit more updating. Where they were exceptionally clean, I'd just like to see some more attention to simple things that would help justify the price that is charged. For example, soap holders in the bathroom--more storage in the bathroom (we're gay after all!)? Better water pressure in the barthrooms? The electric cooker only half worked, etc. That being said, the beds were comfortable. The TV was decent (although we just had it on for a few minutes), the location is ridiculously convenient to the Yumbo.

The ambience is wonderful at the place. Very free and relaxed. The men seemed to play nicely together. I think the couples had a bit of an easier time than the solo's. If you're going there alone... get involved! Talk! Make friends. Otherwise, you'll have a miserable time.

We really enjoyed this place. The owners and staff seem to keep on fixing it up. I really appreciate that. And yes, we'll definitely make our way back there next year!

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 3 and 5 have a few steps up and have a nice view of the boiz. Rooms 2, 4 and 6 have a porc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jsdDuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had a great time at this male only resort in the centre of Playa del Ingles. The staff were very friendly and attentive the place is very clean and tidy, the beds were comfortable and cleaned daily. The food was also very good.

Room Tip: Male only resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gayboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We recently stayed here in our usual bungalow during Pride, so the place was full of friends made during previous visits, plus popular with day visitors.

Still the same attentive and hard-working staff, still spotlessly clean.

A lot of fun was had :)

Thanks ever so much Mattaius, Phil, Chris, Scott, Raul, Daniel, Carlos and Estaban - see you later in the year !!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Well I decided I'd stay again at basement! All I can say is that I've had a excellent time yet again, nothing was to much trouble. I didn't bring my laptop with me and they let me use one of their office computers and contacted the airline for me when I lost my boarding card. I count recommend this place enough. Genuinely nice people who took me under their wing

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Carl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The staff are the same as last year which shows they are happy, the facilities have had a touchup, not to keen on the back area as plastic sheeting has been added which creates a clammy area in the heat of the day.
The sunbathing areas suits most guys, when I was there, it was a mixture of single and couple and all are made welcome. This private area for guests and residents makes very relaxing, while I was there especially one day the guys in that day had me laughing all day, a great place to Have Fun.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snagglepuss2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

A great resort - it was safe, clean and very relaxing. The staff was incredible - nothing was too much trouble and they were super friendly. Breakfast each morning on my terrace was really nice and despite some of the comments from other reviewers on price, I thought it was reasonable considering other local bars.
A warning to any singles travelling here - I made the mistake of assuming from the photos and information on their website that this was a singles-friendly resort. I stayed for four days and was the only single person there for most of the time, including day visitors. The majority of customers were couples in their 50s and 60s. The atmosphere was not as I'd expected based on the website. It seemed that men in relationships were there simply to look around and relax. This was nothing to do with the staff, just be aware if you're looking at this place that you might not be made very welcome by other guests if you're alone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank scottinthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Very friendly reception and every help was provided on arrival. The accommodation is good. The room was clean and comfortable, and my sleep was not disrupted by any noise etc. Just to know that this is a 'men-only' venue and non-gay men may not be comfortable in the environment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.3 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,729 reviews
0.4 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,434 reviews
0.1 mi away
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#13 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,540 reviews
0.5 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basement Studios Gran Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basement Studios Gran Canaria

Address: Avda de Estados Unidos 37 | Playa del Ingles, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £88 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basement Studios is run by gay men for gay men and has multi-ligual staff which offers a relaxed yet stimulating holiday experience. We are located in Playa del Ingles and are directly opposite the world famous Yumbo Centre – you just can’t get closer to the gay nightlife, sex bars and restaurants.We aim to be different to other gay holiday resorts. At Basement Studios you have the opportunity to be naked and have fun wherever and whenever you want. We have carefully created an environment to maximise your cruising and sexual experience. We also pride ourselves on having no-attitude here – all gay guys are welcomed regardless of age, body size, fitness and background. Our only rule is that during the day you observe the dresscode of naked, jockstrap and swimwear only (no Burmuda shorts).The Complex has been recently renovated to a high standard ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Basement Complex Gran Canaria Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Basement Studios Gran Canaria Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing