We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful and well worth visitng”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bungalows Los Almendros Gays Exclusive Vacation Club
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very helpful and well worth visitng”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

2nd time here and was very impressed by how helpful all the staff were and will be staying again. This was the week before Mardi Gras !

Starting with the down sides...
Wi-Fi was 15 Euro for 6 days and was one of the worse I have used from being unavailable to being dropped off after just a minute or two. Works fairly well near bar but thats it ! My advice would be to keep your cash !
Food is basic stuff, frozen pizza etc, even the paella is ping from frozen and not cheap - we had a cheese, onion and tomato toastie that cost 11 Euro for 2 and was only just browned and that was it, no frills like garnish or side salad !
BUT, that's pretty much it for the minus points
Positives far outweigh the little faults...
I found ALL the staff very friendly from the wonderful cleaners through the bar and office guys through to management ! Can not fault them at all ! 2 of us stayed here together for a week and I have to use crutches to aid walking and our room had a shower inside a bath so it would of been impossible for me to use - asked at reception if there was a more suitable room and was happily shown to a bungalow with a walk in shower (#33) Both of these were spotless and reasonably furnished. Basic kitchen stuff as you would expect anywhere but OK for makeshift meals etc, brought our own toaster as we have learned from all trips this would not be there and at £4 from ASDA a good investment as egg on toast on the porch sure beats a small fortune elsewhere !!
Wonderful relaxing atmosphere as it was the week prior to Mardi Gras so the first half of the week was quite quiet. Pool was not as cold as expected and clean. By the end of the week the Jacuzzi had become pretty warm and again was clean. Bungalow was kept cleaned with fresh bedding and towels regularly changed.
As an extra, there is a great masseur (not sleazy) who also does great tailored day trips as well - great way to unwind on first day

Room Tip: 7 is furthest away from everything. 33 has a walk in shower. The disabled room only sleeps 1 but can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    107
    43
    16
    14
See reviews for
Families
0
139
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We arrived after 9pm and the person checking us in, his English wasn't very good and our Spanish is very poor too, so not a great start, but things got better.
The bungalow we were given was right next to the pool, whilst basic, are very clean and nice enough other than the cockroaches that greeted us in the bedroom on the first night. We spoke to reception staff about it the next morning (Jose is a dish! and speaks excellent English to boot) but found asking a member of the cleaning staff yielded faster results.

NOISY BEDS, EVEN WHEN NOTHING IS GOING ON.................!

The week that we were there, the rest of the guests seemed very distant and seemed that most had come from the planet "GO-GIRL ". NOT WHAT I'D CALL FRIENDLY EITHER (being that we're from Lancashire, UK and all that..).
At the bar, you can order a "full English" that is definitely the best that you will find in the surrounding area.
Wi-Fi is charged at 14 Euros per week. if you are only sending the odd email or Whatsapp you might chose to use the free WiFi at the Hyperdino (supermarket) in the Cita centre or at the nearby fast food place on the corner, it's free when you go out in the evenings to eat at a restaurant.
I can understand why The Los Almendros charge for WiFi though, It's because of the sad individuals that are never off it! YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE!!!!!!

The complex comprises some thirty or so one bedroom bungalows, some set beside a nice pool, Jacuzzi and bar with the others in a quieter setting around the grounds. The bungalows themselves are a standard arrangement of a bedroom, bathroom and living/kitchen area (please note that there is not a microwave in the kitchen, possibly due to there not being enough room for one. The TV is now included in the price but seeing what's on the channels, I would not have paid for it anyhow (take your own entertainment). The pool and gardens are lovely although the pool was cold in April.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We arrived after 8pm and the person checking us in wasn't very friendly, so not a great start, but things got better. The bungalows, whilst basic, are very clean and nice enough, and the pool and gardens are lovely. The location is good, and the views of the Cita Centre are out of this world!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rintintin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is the third review I've done of Los Almendros in recent years, so they must be doing something right! I've come to the conclusion that it is the chilled laid back pace of the place which has brought me back over the years. What struck me about this visit was how the clientele has changed and is now more relaxed, international and mature compared to previous visits.

The complex comprises some thirty or so one bedroom bungalows, some set beside a nice pool, jacuzzi and bar with the others in a quieter setting on the edges of the campus in the modest, but very pleasant grounds. The bungalows themselves are a standard arrangement of a bedroom, bathroom and living/kitchen area with a shaded patio to the front. Basically equipped, compared to other similar complexes and begining to feel somewhat tired. The TV is now included in the price but the safe is still charged for as is the wi-fi. There is a new gym facility, however the poor quality and poorly maintained equipment means its very disappointing,

The place feels like it is settling down after a few years where there were a few problems and a high turn over of staff. The bar is also much better with moderated music and more professional bar staff. However, the twin single beds continue to be anything but comfortable and I would recommend that the next priority for investment should be new beds and bedding.

Room Tip: Poolside is for seeing and being seen all the time. Off pool is quieter and has more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wapping1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Very clean, pleasant, basically equipped bungalows- a kettle would have been nice. Ideally located between the beach and the Yumbo centre opposite the Cita centre which has supermarkets/ resturants and shops.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I come 3 time in a year playa del ingles and i come always in los almendros, thanks to JOSE the manager, you are great !
The bungalows are nice, quiet, the piscine is good, very quiet in the morning, front of the cita center, very good location .....
Just goo!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ataraxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed many times at Los Almendros and in other resorts. Los Almendros is idealy located that's the main point. And management makes you welcome and spares no effort to make you enjoy your holidays (thank you Jose). On the down side the bungalows are very basic, beds are not ideal and equipment is minimal. Internet connection rarely works so do not pay for it. The swimming pool is not heated (not great in the winter) and the jaccuzi is barely warm. The main negative point is the bar. The staff is unfriendly, incompetent and lazy. If you wish to get a cocktail head for the yumbo center. Forget about the breakfast it is minimal and expensive and it will not be served before 10am. In summary compared to other gay resorts Los Almendros is a good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arsenal7533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.7 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,584 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Los Almendros Gays Exclusive Vacation Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Los Almendros Gays Exclusive Vacation Club

Property: Bungalows Los Almendros Gays Exclusive Vacation Club
Address: Avenida Francia 3, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bungalows Los Almendros Gays Exclusive Vacation Club 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Almendros is a wonderful complex of bungalows, private and exclusively designed for the gay community, offering high quality accommodations. We give you all services that you need and the best amenities so you can enjoy unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bungalows Los Almendros Gays Exclusive Vacation Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Almendros Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Bungalows Los Almendros Gays Exclusive Vacation Club Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing