We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice budget break”
Review of Green Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Green Ocean
Ranked #109 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We arrived home yesterday after a lovely week at Green Ocean Apartments. I always read these reviews before booking and take a general view of comments made as I know that not everyone wants the same thing out of a holiday and I think previous reviews got it about right.

It was clean and quiet with beautiful views and just what we expected from a relaxing low cost holiday. The apartment was basic, clean and adequate for sleeping in and for keeping a bottle of wine cold for the evening. The hot water heater wasn't working when we arrived but we reported it and they fixed it. The restaurant was closed but we didn't want a restaurant on site anyway and the supermarket is poorly stocked but does at least sell water which saves having to carry it from one of the other nearby supermarkets.

The apartments are away from the main resort on the outskirts of Playa Del Ingles to the San Agustin side, so if you want nightlife on your doorstep, this isn't for you. We wanted peace and quiet at night with the option of walking to either resort and that's exactly what we got.

If you want to get to the best restaurants along the sea front in Playa, you do get a workout walking up and down the many steps but we thought it was worth it, though we did cheat a couple of nights and got a taxi back, which cost 5-6 euros. I can recommend the Coco restaurant on Playa beach. The view across the bay is spectacular and the taxi rank is just a few hundred metres away if, like us, you over indulge in their food and wine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank cazWarsop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

just come back from staying here, apartment was nice enough for the price we paid. Good housekeeping service, towels changed every second day, must admit best part of the accommodation was the stunning view we had from our balcony. Not far to walk into the main part of playa or a taxi ride was between 4 or 5 euros.Man on reception was very nice when we arrived and for the first few days, after that became quite rude. onsite shop very poorly stocked but not the end of the world as the yupi centre is a 10 min walk away and cheaper for groceries etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neenor82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Has the basics, clean and tidy. Staff friendly enough, location is just okay. No air con, but not the end of the world. Nice little getaway. It is clean and tidy, which is the most important to us. I am going back to gran can but trying another hotel, would use the green ocean as a "second holiday" hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hotelinspector121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

We had a good experience with this apartments. For the price you pay is well worth. Location is good everything is near. Staff is helpfull. Rooms are cleaned every second day witch is enought. Only one thing that the hot water is limited due to small water heater so you need to wait a bit. But overall good.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stizo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

firstly let me tell you the good points sorry point,the view.we were told that this hotel had a restaraunt, Bar and shop, it was a 3 star hotel at least.Full upgrade with television.
Now let me tell you what it did have.......... A view that was it.
Unless you like to walk miles and up hill most of the time do not go here. There is no shop to speak of its there but sells just sun cream, water and wine. if you like to eat, have a drink and lounge around on a sun lounger, then this is not the the hotel for you. it is a good 25-35 minute walk to the nearest bar or shops and its all uphill the rooms are very basic the sunloungers are fillthy has is most of the pool area.it is not in playa but in san agustine i could go on for hours but all i can say that this place is not anything its supposed to be wrong area no bar no restaraunt no shop dirty and no one cares i am trying to be fair and say something good about this place but can not

Room Tip: in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We were put in a cab and dumped at these apartments when the accomadation we booked and paid for at the Tivoli aparthotel doubled booked. The apartment we were put in was a discrace the bath had no enamel left on the bottom and i dread to think what it was growing there.the bathroom cieling plaster and paint was dropping down on us.We have looked up these apartments since we returned home it states satelight Tv what a laugh there is no tv no toaster no kettle ,no oven the only electrical appliance was a fridge.The apartment was alongside a double 4 lane motorway with traffic passing night and day. It was not in Playa dei Ingles and about 3 miles away from the area we had booked and payed for. It took 3 days to get out of this place at a cost to us of another £480.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roamerer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

was on hol there last wk . found very clean .staff very nice an helpfull just 2 say tk u from michael an debbie from dublin. as we be back again soon . found the cleaning lady very helpfull . as we cud see she work very hard fare play 2 her

Room Tip: corner suite pool vew was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michaelbradley223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.8 mi away
Roca Verde Apartments
Roca Verde Apartments
#124 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
65 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartamentos Las Faluas
Apartamentos Las Faluas
#67 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
181 reviews
1.3 mi away
Apartamentos Dolores
Apartamentos Dolores
#59 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Parquemar
Hotel Parquemar
#57 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
231 reviews
2.2 mi away
Parque Nogal Apartments
Parque Nogal Apartments
#85 of 217 in Maspalomas
154 reviews
0.8 mi away
HV Agaete Parque
HV Agaete Parque
#127 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Ocean

Address: Calle la Gloria 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £37 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Ocean 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Green Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Ocean Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Green Ocean Playa Del Ingles
Green Ocean Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing