We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money. Don't let earlier reviews put you off”
Review of Green Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Green Ocean
Ranked #113 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Just got back from a week there with my girlfriend. We paid very little and so I did not expect much. I am happy to say that there was little that was wrong with the apartments.

The kitchen, while basic, was typical for budget acommodation. The living room is quite large. The bedroom was fine.

The only weak point with our apartment was the plumbing. The hot water ran out half way through a shower. So, one person always had to put up with cold water if they wanted to shower shortly after the first person. When the hot water did work, it reached a high temperature a bit too quickly and I kept burning myself!

The hotel staff are very helpful. I regularly asked reception to book taxis, make telephone calls and they told me where I could find the restaurants I was looking for. The cleaning lady was very good. On one occasion when I didn't get round to washing up, I came back to the room to find that she had done it for me! They do not do this at many other budget apartments.

The location of the hotel has advantages and disadvantages. It is on a busy dual carriageway, so you have to go over a rather ugly bridge to get to most places. There is only shop that is particularly nearby. All the local restaurants are similar and average in quality, so you need a taxi to find a bit of variety. On the plus side, there is a bus stop nearby and once you have crossed the bridge, a rather nice beach is a hundred metres away and you can do a long walk on a good path along the water's edge.

If you are looking for a cheap beaching holiday and you don't mind taking taxis and buses on the few occasions that you feel adventurous, you can't do much better than the Green Ocean.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PCJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2009

Just returned from 2 weeks AI at this Hotel

Good Points
Great Bar Staff
Brilliant Maid Service
Rooms basic but Clean
Pool area was Nice but small

Bad Points
The cooked food was mostly dreadful - I don't know how they made simple food taste so bad.
Indoor bar had all the atmosphere of a works canteen.
Only one bar was open at a time.
The food was cooked in one serving so if you weren't there in the queue at 6.00pm it looked like a road accident by 7.00pm and was rarely refreshed.
Nothing to do in the evening except go out to town or get hammered at the pool bar.

I accept that this was a 2 star hotel but that is usually a reflection of the facilities available not the quality of the service. We paid a lot of money for our 2 weeks and we have had a lot better for a lot less - don't waste your money. Try the Broncemar instead.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rod58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

Upon arriving at the hotel i was extremely tempted to jump on the bed to try it out for comfiness comfy it was not!! I would have had a better nights sleep on a ironing board. The shower head had cellotape round it the hot water lasted for one shower leaving my partner with freezing cold water. You cannot possibly self cater in this apartment with just two hobs good job there was only two of us and not a family of 4 or 5 there would have had to have been 3 sittings. There was no kettle just a pan it was unbelieveable, the cleaners changed our bedding once all week from now on I an not going self catering will be going all incusive only.

Stayed: March 2008
2  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Anders F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Marika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Huoneet altaalle ja merinäköalalla ovat parhaat nrot 46 ja siitä parilliset alaspäin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kati S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank R_A_M_Storp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Parque Tropical
Hotel Parque Tropical
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
485 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#8 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,336 reviews
1.6 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,675 reviews
1.5 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,749 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Ocean

Address: Calle la Gloria 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: £45 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Ocean 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Green Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Ocean Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Green Ocean Playa Del Ingles
Green Ocean Gran Canaria/Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing