We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a friendly environment”
Review of Columbus I

Columbus I
Ranked #103 of 379 Restaurants in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good food in a friendly environment”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My wife and I have been regular , twice yearly, visitors to Playa del Ingles for many years.

There are many restaurants along the Paseo de la Playa and they will suit all tastes.

Columbus has consistently provided good service at very reasonable prices and the food is excellent and we always visit them.

On my last trip they served the most succulent steak that I have tasted for a long time.

Give Columbus a try - you will not be disappointed

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    54
    22
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food and efficient service”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We ate here several times, going back because we had enjoyed the food previously. The staff became friendlier as they got to know us. We ate a lot of fish, but also steak, lasagne. The chips are really nice. Try the honey rum which they give you free at the end of your meal...yummy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and value for money”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Discovered this lovely restaurant and used it frequently. Food was always great, good value for money, drink prices reasonable too so not getting stung for your drinks either and service exceptional.
Will always be our first choice when visiting Playa Del Ingles again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeK0358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Been every year - Never fails”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have been coming to Columbus for 19 years and each year the food have always been superb. Situated next to the beach, the restaurant offers outdoor and indoor seating.

The menu offers a large range of dishes at different prices. The best dishes they offer are the grilled squid, white grouper or the peppered steak/pork. The portions are generous but what makes this place great is that the quality is superb.

Service is great, ignore the guy who tries to get customers in, all restaurants in the area has one of these so please do not be put off by this. The staff are lovely and are great with families too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NanceTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The restaurant has a beachside location on the playa, but is protected by walls and windows so sand isn't an issue. Large sized portions and friendly staff made this an enjoyable dinner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SunloverS76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Columbus I also viewed

Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 

Been to Columbus I? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing