We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a cheap get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paraiso del Sol Apartments
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Very friendly and helpful reception staff on arrival.
Rooms are decent size but are definitely in need of an upgrade. The beds are comfortable and the kitchen is well equipped.
Cleaning service is regular and very good.
My boyfriend and i stayed there twice in 2013.
The first time we had an unwanted gecko visit our room and as we weren't quite sure on how to get rid of it, we went to ask for help at reception. We got told that someone would be along in around 10mins and after about half an hour one of the maids turned up...with fly spray. She didn't speak English at all and did not have the faintest idea what to do. She ended up leaving which caused us to go to reception yet again but this time i had taken a picture of it to show them. 20mins later a gentleman turned up and got rid of it for us. This however ended up being quite an amusing story to tell.
As we are on the subject on unwanted guests, both times we stayed we seemed to have an ant problem. We weren't in our room that much and we made sure all food was secure but this might be more of a problem for some people.
There is a supermarket just next door to the apartments which is very handy and there is also an Iceland about 20mins walk away.
The beach front is a 10min walk (downhill) and there you will find great restaurants/bars and lots of the usual, local tourist shops. Our favorite place to eat was a restaurant along the sea front called Deep Blue. Deffo recommend this place, food was amazing both times we went!
There is a restaurant at the hotel which serves Breakfast, lunch and dinner but we have never used it.
The pool is great for chilling and relaxing the whole day.
Worth a visit for location as long as you aren't wanting to spend much time in your apartment room. Perfect for a cheap get away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toekneeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral-Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Paraiso del Sol Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments on your stay with us at Paraíso del Sol. We are glad to know that you enjoyed staying with us and that our reception and cleaning staff service found your approval. Yes, it is an amusing story with the gecko. Anyway, we don´t know whether you know but the geckos are very much appreciated here on the island. They are very useful against any kind of mosquitoes. Indeed, you are right, the location of the apartments is really excellent, near to the Troya Beach, Siam Park and a lot of restaurants and bars. We hope to be able to see you again whenever you return to Tenerife.
Benito Socas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 493 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

the rooms are in desperate need of a complete makeover. the pool are was good but also needs some repairs, however the main problem is infestation with ants and cockroaches the staff seemed to accept their presence but shrug off any reports. cockroaches are around the pool bar and the pool area and on our last day we found them in our apartment.
I would definitely NOT recommend these apartments no matter how "cheap and value for money" they appear to be.

Room Tip: try somewhere else. the rooms need modernisation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidandsandra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral-Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Paraiso del Sol Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you you very much for your review on your stay with us at the Paraíso del Sol. First of all we regret very much that you did not enjoy your holiday with us. We would like to point out that the property is not a 4 star hotel and the facilities we offer neither. Secondly, please note that we have a very capable maintenance team that is always available for any repairs needed in the apartments. Obviously, guests have to advise us about it. As for cockroaches, unfortunately, they are very common here in Tenerife, due to the warm climate and proximity of the sea but definitely cannot be related to cleanliness. Please note that our property is being fumigated regularly and according to official regulations. Again , our cleaners have also sprays and special cleaning products to be used if we are advised by our guests, I am bit surprised at your comments that our staff does not bother, because we all are keen on providing to our guests the best possible holiday. I neither can agree that the property has been infested by cockroaches and ants. Furthermore it surprises me as well that you say the pool is in need of reparation, when this area has been totally refurbished less than an year ago. Once again we all regret very much that you did not enjoy staying with us.
Benito Socas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was a trip for myself and my daughter who is in her mid twenties. We arrived late on Saturday night and were taken to our room by the porter and on first glance it all seemed okay. When I tried to use the shelf in the fridge it kept falling off, we reported it next morning and by the time we came back at lunch it had been fixed. In daylight the room was a little shabby and in need of some decoration and tidying up but for what we paid it was okay.

I used the bath on Sunday night and when I emptied it all of the dirty bath water came up through the floor resulting in a flooded floor and soaking wet towels. I reported it to reception and requested a different room, they could not change our room that night but promised to sort it the following day. We went out on the Monday and when we came back we were told the technician had fixed the problem and there was no need to change rooms. True to their word when I had a bath that evening there was no problem, apart from they had not replaced the towels that had got soaked the night before, They only empty bins on a Monday and Wednesday and do not replace towels or tidy the room on these days. In view of the fact of it was their poor plumbing that caused the problem I felt these should have been replaced.

We stayed on a self catering basis and based on other all inclusive guests experience I'm glad we did as apparently they don't open the main restaurant until June meaning there was very little choice for those that had paid to eat there. The limited choice did not look appetizing at all and apart from the half a dozen snacks on the pool bar menu there was nothing else to do apart from eat out, even if we had wanted to try the restaurant menu, we couldn't. Even the bar staff told us that the all inclusive guests were complaining.

There were no entertainment staff on site at all and the advertised events such as games round the pool and evening events did not take place at all. No american night/tapas night/bbq. Drinks and snacks were overpriced for the quality and quantity supplied.

On the day before check out the cleaning staff left a pretty flower in a vase in the hope of a good tip no doubt. Don't expect them to do anything more than the bare minimum, we ate out most of the time and on the odd occasion we left a glass or cup in the sink, it was still there when we got back, I didn't expect full maid service but received very little.

Be careful if you go out onto your balcony or courtyard as the doors had a tendency to close behind you, at least two couples got caught out and had to be rescued (well when I say rescued, they had to figure it out for themselves) as security merely rang the doorbell to their room and went away when they didn't open door. The clue here is THEY WERE LOCKED OUT on the the other side of the room through a second door! The courtyards didn't really offer enough privacy as you could walk through from one to the next.

Expect to pay for basics, fan heaters, irons, ironing boards, more than three TV channels, internet access etc.were all available at an extra cost. The kitchen was adequately stocked with enough utensils, crockery and cooking equipment. However a bottle of washing up liquid would have been useful but I guess if they collect enough barely used left over ones from guests they won't have to buy any for the hotel.

We got what we paid for and fortunately we didn't have any young children with us as there was absolutely nothing for them to do at the hotel. The location was excellent for those who want to be close enough to be within walking distance of all the joys Las Americas has to offer whilst being far enough away to be quiet enough to get a decent nights sleep (if only the room had air conditioning).

Room Tip: Ask for one near to the pool area as the hotel is spread over a large complex. First floor rooms off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 11Dawn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral-Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Paraiso del Sol Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed and extensive review on your holiday with us. As I can see some of the issues and facilities were not entirely up to what you expected they would be. I apologize as well about the inconvenience you experienced at the beginning of your holiday but as I can see this has been duly solved by our maintenance staff. Regarding the cleaning policy, please note that our apartments are being cleaned 5 times and change of towels is done 3 times per week (which is duly advised), but I am sure that if you would have asked at the reception staff for new towels explaining them the situation, they would have been pleased to give you some new ones. Also we would like to point out that cleaning service does not include the washing up, nor do we provide washing up liquid . This is not usual here in Tenerife. Finally, please allow me to mention that the feed back we get from the questionnaires about our cleaning staff is more than satisfactorily. Indeed in May, occupancy is low and we do not provide full buffet service But guests and agencies are aware of it . Guests always have a good menu choice and buffet of crudities and quantity and quality are not of a lower standard. Our bar and snacks prices are the normal ones you would find at similar hotels in Tenerife Animation programme is also adapted to the occupation figures. Actually we almost did not have children allocated in the hotel in the last few weeks. Also we would like to point out that regarding the fact that patio doors cannot be opened from outside is question of security . Once again we regret that we haven´t fulfilled your expectation, but please do not forget that the category of the Paraíso del Sol is 2 key and the service and facilities provided are totally in accordance with this category.
Benito Socas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

On first impressions it looked fine. On arrival porter took us to our apartment on entering he found that a electric switch on the wall was hanging off. No one came to fix it over the next few day, fine for us as we were all adult a different story if you had children in your party. Bedroom fine but the beds in the lounge was a different story you could not move in them as they both had a really bad squeak if you so much as turned. The final straw was when the lights in the bedroom went out one night towards the end of the holiday we reported it to reception that evening but nothing was done and we had to use the lighting shinning in from the balcony. Next morning wrote out a not listing the items Lights, Electric socket, bed making a noise passed over to a very abrupt gentleman at reception. Admittedly the socket got a blanking plate over it and the lights were fixed in the bedroom nothing done about the bed. We moved the mattresses on slept there for the duration of the holiday.
In the information in the hotel it states that if you are having a late departure you can keep your room for a further $20 euros on enquiring kept getting told check tomorrow and finally told to check after 10am on the day of our departure only to be told fully booked. Why could someone not of told us this in the beginning.
The cleaning staff were excellent, the reception staff with the exception of one need the have some training in customer relations.
I would go back but these issues would have to be addressed first.

Room Tip: Check everything and don't accept poor quality after all you have paid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetnib29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

i was dreading this hotel after reviews,and as we booked for xmas and new year,and were pleasantly surprised we had a 2,bed apertment was dated but nothing to complain about large balcony,2nd room a bit dark but when told reception someone came and put a brighter bulb in, meals were adequete,staff brilliant,got to hotel and wanted cup of tea asked for nearest supermarket to get milk and one of staff got us 1/2 a carton from restaraunt, ALL staff pleasant and helpful,some guests need to learn to watch their language[british] and family who had one woman who used bad language and had to shout as well. allowing children to run riot then complain when accidents happen,i believe if you treat people with respect you get it back,was ashmed to be english at times germans,spanish all greeted us politely,

Room Tip: we had room 502 lovley views of pool also sea out back mount tiede we were expecting one flight stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeanpmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

On the 1st night of are holiday someone had been into are room.and the following were taken two jackets pair of trainers,Hugo boss sunglasses,a wash bag with a electric razor,and a unwrapped present equaling about £800.there was no sign of entrance so we went the reception and they just were not bothered.it's a total disgrace

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank davewaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral-Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Paraiso del Sol Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear guest,
Although late we would like to answer your comments posted, by clarifying some of the issues. According to our files, our reception was advised 3 days after your arrival that your party was missing some of their personal belongings in the apartment, although purse and mobile phone had not disappeared. Our receptionists remember to have asked your party to denounce the incident to the police, which however was not done. We also would like to point out that we certainly always bother about what happens to our guests. My staff and myself are available for everybody, in order to sort out any possible problems. In this respect, please note that our property is quite secure, having fences, which are locked and a security guard controlling the grounds at night. As for our cleaning staff, they are all reliable persons and most of them have been working with us for a long time, not only in our property but also in other properties of the company.
Benito Socas
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

After reading all the terrible reviews, we really didnt wanted to go, but we got an amazing discount for a package-deal and decided not to bring anything of value, buy bugspray and if we couldnt stand it, we would move!

Here's what we got:
-Big clean apartment
-A nice balcony
-Seaview from our apartment
-A modern and up-to-date kitchen with a new toaster, kettle, fridge and even a hood.
-A nice bathroom with a tub
-Cleaning everyday, except sunday
-Clean towels every day
-Smiling and helpfull staff
-Free sunbeds around the heated pool
-Safe area with 2 nightly guards

If i should mention something bad:
-the price for wifi (25€ per week) but you can get online so many different places in the area for free.
-the doors are a little tricky to open

The first evening we had problems opening the maindoor to the apartment - we waited 3 minutes, then a handy-man came and fixed it.

The only 'bugs' we saw were butterflies around in the area.

If you are into party, this is not the the place for you - the average age is around 50 years.

We will bring our friends and family next time - and for sure we will stay here again!








Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Leyla82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Caribe
Apartamentos Caribe
#35 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
579 reviews
1.1 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#51 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bungalows Barranco
Bungalows Barranco
#39 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
#30 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Piramides
Las Piramides
#54 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paraiso del Sol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paraiso del Sol Apartments

Address: Avenida V Centenario, 7, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: £37 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Paraiso del Sol Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This pleasant low rise complex enjoys an excellent location in the very heart of Playa de Las Americas. The complex is formed by two floor bungalows surrounded by bright flowers and shrubs. New and very pleasant buffet restaurant with show cooking and nice terrace. Reception area and main bar have been refurbished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Paraiso del Sol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paraiso Del Sol Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Paraiso Del Sol Apartments Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing