We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday”
Review of Gran Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Oasis Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a great week at the Gran Oasis. The apartments are lovely. The first apartment we were allocated didn't have a very good view, so we asked if it would be possible to move and were delighted when we were offered another room, no problem at all. We were there to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday and on his actual birthday he had a card left asking him to hand this in at either the restaurant or the bar. We handed the card over when we went for dinner that night, and were pleasantly surprised when the waiters brought us a bottle of champagne, complete with ice bucket, to our table. We thought this was really thoughtful but imagine our surprise when 4 waiters turned up with a cake, complete with candle, and sang Happy Birthday to him at the table.....his face was a picture.....what a great gesture. All the staff were very pleasant, especially the Scottish gentleman at the reception desk. The apartment was on 2 levels, really quiet and spotlessly clean. Full size fridge freezer, microwave etc in the kitchen area. Plenty of hot water. Plenty of storage space in the bedroom and a drying rack on the downstairs balcony. There were 3 swimming pools, one with a jacuzzi in the centre. Food was good, sometimes not as warm as we would have liked but there is a microwave in the dining room. A free bus will transfer you to Las Americas if you don't fancy the 20 minute walk down. Booked to go to the Monkey Beach Club where our all inclusive bands were welcomed, would definately recommend a visit. There is a supermarket on site for daily papers etc. Had a lovely time and would definately return

Room Tip: We had room 153 and it was ideal, lots of sun and good view of the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalli1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepcion G, Reception Gran Oasis Resort at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Family,

There are no words enough to thank you very much for choosing our Gran Oasis Resort to spend your holidays here, for celebrating your relative´s birthday with us and of course, for taking your time once back at home to writte this review on trip advisor site

It is absolutely wonderful to read that overall you had a great time here, you did enjoy the hotel services and the friendliness of our Staff.

We really would love having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future. Remember that for everything you could need at any time, all the BE HAPPY team is here willing to help. oasis@grupogolfresort.com

Thank you very much once again for everything
Kindest Regards & BE HAPPY

Lydia Rguez
Reception Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,913 - 1,919 of 3,573 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I cannot begin to explain how amazing this place is. I've just come back after a week here with my boyfriend and we had a fantastic time! The food is great, the pools are great, the suites are great! The food is excellent, there is such variety for every meal. The reception staff are so helpful at all hours of the night, especially Pepe who recognised us throughout our stay and always had the time for a chat. Ignore all the bad reviews for this place as they can't be more wrong! Please go here!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepcion G, Reception Gran Oasis Resort at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Couple,

Thank you very much indeed for choosing us and for taking your time to writte this lovely review

It is really wonderful to read that you had a great time and i do send you a warm hug and the best wishes on behalf of PEPE at the Reception Department


All the BE HAPPY team want to thank you very much for everything and we do all hope having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

For all you could need, please do not hesitate to let us know. We will be here very HAPPY to help.

Best Regards and hope to see you soon

Lydia Rguez
Reception Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Can not complain about this hotel at all, has everything for the perfect family holiday my only grumble was the location quite a fair way from beach if walking with children or the elderly but there are plenty of taxis nearby if you don't want the walk

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K3llyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepcion G, Reception Gran Oasis Resort at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much sincerely for choosing our Gran Oasis Resort to spend your holidays and for taking your time once back at home to writte this amazing review about your experience here.

It is absolutely wonderful to read that you had a great time and we do really hope having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Remember that all the BE HAPPY team is here at your disposal, willing to help, so for everything you could need at anytime, please do not hesitate to let us know.. oasis@grupogolfresort.com

Thank you very much once again for everything and hope to see you back very soon

BE HAPPY
Kindest Regards
Lydia Rguez
Reception Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Brillant hotel for families. We really enjoyed our stay with our 5 year old son. Apartments are massive and very clean; cleaned every day except Wed and Sundays. We paid for all inclusive and it made our lives very easy. Food was generally good, lots of fresh salad and fruit with different theme nights. I am a vegetarian and although there was plenty to eat I struggled as the food was not clearly labelled. All inclusive included everything accept premium drinks (although non branded equivalents were available i.e. Irish cream instead of Bailey's). There were snacks all day and ice cream. The staff were exceptionally friendly and were always smiling; they are very child friendly. There was also entertainment every night, this finished at 11pm and then the hotel was quiet. The three swimming pools were very clean and activities were held throughout the day for example aqua aerobics, water polo. There was also a small gym that had air conditioning, there were very few weights but the main cardiovascular machines were there. There are lots of steps so you do need to be pretty mobile; there have slopes for pushchair/wheelchairs.

We had a massage and it was of the best ones my partner and I have had -well worth it and the cost was reasonable.

Tips- you can go to monkey beach and use your all inclusive band but there are only 20 places a day so need to book early (can only be booked 24hrs before). The hotel will make up a packed lunch if you are out for the day. Went to aqua land, good for our child's age but a bit tatty, cost € 44 for all of us so not bad, dolphin show was good.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to families particularly.

Room Tip: As I said there are lots of steps, we had a room furthest away from the pools but this was much quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tavi09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepcion G, Reception Gran Oasis Resort at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Family,

Thank you very much for choosing our Gran Oasis Resort to send your holidays and of course, as well for taking your time to writte this lovely review.

It is fantastic to read that you have had a great time here with us, and it is wonderful too, to read all the important information that you do provide on this site.

We do really hope having the chance to welcome you back in the near future. You know that for anything you could need at anytime, all the BE HAPPY team is here, willing to help.

Thank you very much once again for everything.
Kindest Regards

Lydia Rguez
Reception Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just returned from a week at Gran Oasis and I have to say they are the best apartments in Tenerife that we have ever stayed in. Large rooms and balconies with good facilities. Staff on reception are exceptional and all other staff around the complex are really happy and welcoming.
It is the furthest from the centre that we have ever stayed but only costs around 5 euros in a taxi to las Americas and around 30 mins to walk.
I would definitely return to this hotel and with jet2 you get free unlimited access to Siam park. There's a bus that leaves the hotel each morning or just 6 euros in a taxi.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susylonglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepcion G, Reception Gran Oasis Resort at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

It is absolutely wonderful to read your review. Thank you very much not only for choosing our Gran Oasis Resort to spend your holidays but as well for taking your time once back at home to express everybody your experience in our complex.

Fantastic to read that you have enjoyed inside the hotel with our services and the friendliness of our staff but you have as well have a great time outside, mainly in the siam park.

We do really hope having again the hotel chosen for your next holidays. Remember that for whatever you could need at anytime, all the BE HAPPY team is here willing to help. oasis@grupogolfresort.com

Thank you very much once again and we can´t wait to welcome you back

Kindest Regards
Lydia Rguez
Reception Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

After being disappointed back in 2010 then reading the strangely large amount of good feedback on here it looks like major improvements had been made so we decided to book again..
The hotel it's in itself quite nice but unfortunately it still requires work.
The bedding was always damp! The fridge was old,didn't work right and was dirty.
Everything and I mean literally everything is an extra! We hired a car from the airport not from the hotel and if you Want to use the hotel car park it's extra much like ,safe,iron,etc.
We briefly ungraded and paid extra for the all inclusive The food was perhaps the worst I've ever encountered and not to mention various birds flying round in the food hall.
Our 2 bed apparent consisted of a living room upstairs with a cot bed thrown in near the entrance and another cot bed downstairs in the main bedroom which meant you sleeping away from one of your children so myself and my wife were apart the whole week as clearly we wern't going to leave a child near the entrance alone whilst the rest of us were downstairs asleep..
We complained three times and every time nothing was done.
This is undoubtably the worse I've stayed in with this star rating..
So in the end just gave up and said never again!
Massive shake up of management and room refurbishment required.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A21064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepcion G, Reception Gran Oasis Resort at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Family,

Thank you very much for giving us a second opportunity.

We do feel really sad for the experience lived, that you did describe on this site. Definitely our goal is to cover all our guest´s expectations. With you it was not possible so we only can express you our most sincere apologies and wish you the very best for your future holidays.

Thank you very much
Kindest Regards
Lydia Rguez
Reception Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Gran Oasis in June. Its a lovely hotel, nice decor and is relatively clean. Our room was right at the back of the hotel so there was a lot of walking and a lot of stairs. But they do have ramps that go up. We had a roof terrace which was lovely, just above our room with deck chairs and a garden table. Its nice and quiet up there with a good view of the resort.
We stayed all inclusive which I wouldn't recommend. The food was well below average, on our first night the food was exceptionally bad and I was scared I'd have to pay for meals out! Fortunately the food improved however still disappointing. I'd only say the breakfast was worth having as for lunch and dinner its really hit and miss. The drinks also below average. We were all inclusive yet we had a smaller selection of drinks to choose from, all of poor quality. But I assume all hotels are like that.
The hotel was filled with kids and we went after term time so if you want peace at dinner time id suggest elsewhere. But it is good for families, it has kiddie pools and play areas etc.
The hotel is really close to Las Americas main centre and beach, about 10mins in a cab or 25mins walking. Cab is quite cheap, around €4-€8 which is not bad.
The service at the hotel is lovely, everyone is really nice and helpful (exc a few bar staff).
Overall it was a wonderful holiday. I would suggest visiting Siam WaterPark, Malibu and Biancos.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Recepcion G, Reception Gran Oasis Resort at Gran Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Guest,

All the BE HAPPY staff and Gran Oasis REsort Management want to thank you very much for choosing us as destination for your holidays and as well for taking your time, once back at home, to writte your opinion on this site.

After reading slowly and well you review, we are happy to know that overall you had a nice stay, you did enjoy inside the hotel and as well outsite visiting very nice places like the siam park ... and therefore we do invite you to contact us for anything you could need at anytime, as you well said in your comments, our hotel staff is very helpful and attentive, always willing to help.
oasis@grupogolfresort.com

Thank you very much once again for everything. We do really hope having the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Lydia Rguez
Reception Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.4 mi away
Green Garden Resort & Suites
Green Garden Resort & Suites
#9 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,840 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#13 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,169 reviews
1.1 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
#2 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,173 reviews
1 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#6 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
732 reviews
1.4 mi away
Iberostar Las Dalias
Iberostar Las Dalias
#8 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Oasis Resort

Address: Calle Meandro 3, 38640 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: £109 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Oasis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Oasis Resort invites you to enjoy a 4-star hotel in Playa de las Americas, a holiday resort in the south of Tenerife specially designed for families and couples who want to relax and discover this fabulous Canary island. Choose the All Inclusive plan, bed & breakfast or half board plan and live an experience your own way. The Gran Oasis Resort is located in front of Las Americas golf court, between Playa de Las Americas and Los Cristianos bay, in the south of Tenerife. This hotel is ideal for families, as it is located close at hand from Playa de las Vistas beach, 2 km away from the largest waterpark in Europe, the Siam park. Make your holidays an unforgettable experience with the services of the Gran Oasis Resort: miniclub, free transfers to the beach and to the centre of Las Americas, adults and children's swimming pool, restaurant, pool bar, gym, spa and beauty treatments, supermarket, garage... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Oasis Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Gran Oasis Resort Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing