We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Quality Food”
Review of La Siesta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Siesta Hotel
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Poor Quality Food”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at La Siesta, Playa de las Ameicas in early November, the weather and resort were fantastic, the hotel is ideally situated for central Playa de Las Americas and also for leisurely walks to Los Cristianos and Costa Adeje, the facilities and rooms at the hotel are excellent, but the downside is the food and entertainment. As a four star hotel both the food and entertainment is far below this standard. The choice at breakfast was acceptable but was lacking in variety, but the standard and choice of food for evening meals was abysmal, not enough variety and choice, poor cuts and quality of meat and fish, not hot enough only just warm and the empty dishes were not replaced quickly enough, on a few nights we resorted to eating outside of the hotel. The advertised hotel entertainment was very amatuerish and not acceptable for a four star hotel, hence we noticed on a few occasions a poor turn out to watch this entertainment on a few evenings. Although we definetley would return to Playa de Las Americas for some lovely winter sun, we would not return or recommend this hotel, they need to up the ante as there are lots of other better hotels in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Up grade room to get a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bazandcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    886
    516
    185
    119
See reviews for
865
946
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My boyfriend and I have jut returned from a weeks holiday. We absolutely loved la siesta hotel and would definitely recommend it!
The pool was great and always had plenty of sunbeds. Gorgeous spa with sauna, steam room, hot tub and pool.
They room was a lovely size with a pool view. Very clean and linen was changed everyday. The staff were all so friendly and helpful, helping us to book excursions and transport.
We stayed b&b I would recommend this as breakfast had a large variety of choice but it was nice to eat out each night as there are many great restaurants nearby.
Very impressed :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbeee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

lets start with the good bits,excellent position in resort, on arrival found reception guys efficient and check in simple and quick with all the information i needed. room good size and clean, bathroom large with good shower, large comfy bed. lounge areas large and comfy seats, bar area large plenty of seats.plenty of sun loungers around pool with parasols. found all the staff friendly and helpful.
now the negatives, had to wait too long to get a drink, one time took over 10mins to get a drink and the hotel was not full but the big let down was the food! not enough choice at both lunch and evening meal,one lunch time i was stood at food bar waiting for chef to serve my some fresh cooked meat, stood there 5 minutes and still no appearance of chef so had to lean over counter and help myself, also its a sit where you want dinning room and i was aware of people sitting at tables that other people had already been sat at causing some friction between people why they dont show you to a table i dont understand. if i was staying for two weeks i would have eaten out of the hotel the bbq on thursday night was the only good cooked meal i had all week. the hotel is a good hotel but it is badly let down by the poor choice and quality of food.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceh1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Well Just got back from a week here where to start there are negatives and positives,
Lets start with the negatives first on Arrival we was told there was a problem with our booking and they had no rooms for us but they did have a room at there sister hotel for the night and we would be upgraded the next day on our return and taxis would be paid for, so we said yes if its only for one night, off we set tiered and weary to the sister Hotel only to find they knew nothing about us, A good start to our Holiday a phone call to the Hotel by the receptionist, found we had being sent to the WRONG Hotel we was told we would have to pay for our own taxi, this time which i was not prepared to do with phone calls this was sorted and off we went the Hotel They sent us to was Excellent [wish they had left us there all week ] Losing nearly a day of our holiday in total was not a great start
The next day we went back and they did have a room they upgraded us to a pool room with free mini bar & spar for the week, which was very nice [we found out during our stay we was not the only ones this has happened to ] The Room was a nice size with views of the pool a very nice bathroom, the pool area was spacious, and extremely clean plenty of sunbeds and a very nice pool bar the barman Jose, is Great the reception area is good big and light Staff at reception are very helpful and cant do enough for you, But on the first night i did come clear that we was going to have some good entertainment for the week if we required a drink in the bar, they do prefer to offer table service which is fine after all it was a FOUR STAR Hotel but it was hunt the Barman even on a quite night you could sit 10 mins before some one came to serve you, and one night i actuality had to go to the Bar because we had seen no one for a least 20 mins, The entertainment was Very good but we ended up going out because we could not get served, Now the Restaurant Nice big Clean and light, But Not 4 Star food we used to go down for dinner about 8 o clock there was no one to meet and greet you most of the times, tables was not relaid [they served until 21 30 ] so you was left to find a table and wait for some one to see you and lay your table all they staff was friendly just not enough of them with the Head Waiter having to help clear tables. and then there is the food although there is a wide choice and its well cooked it was more like 3 star [on the first night the hotel they placed us in was Definitely a 4 Star Restaurant with a head waiter to meet and greet you tables laid and chefs cooking with an excellent food choice] i am not picky by any means but for a 4 star i would expect better, but all this said we did have a nice Holiday the Staff was friendly and help full when you got them would i stay here again No for the reasons i have mentioned,it is in a good Location close to entertainment and shops with the sea front being on a five min stroll away

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilipD195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London (England)
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

When I arrived I was told that the hotel had over-booked. I was put up for one night in an equivalent standard sister hotel. I was given taxi vouchers for the journeys there and back. I was given an upgraded room in La Siesta (pool view) for the rest of my stay. All very efficiently done. The sister hotel was fine. Inconvenient obviously, but professionally handled.

So a somewhat shaky start.

Friendly staff.

The room was good, large, pleasant neutral decor. Bathroom was large, adequate toiletries. Clean. Negatives: the noise from the entertainment came fully into the room, not so good if you wanted an early night. The shower had weak pressure and fluctuating temperature.

Breakfast was an enormous selection from the biggest hot and cold buffet I have ever seen. Quality was good. Although the restaurante was large it did not feel like a cafeteria.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Most of the facilities were very good especially the room size. The pool parasols need updating- they are currently static which reduces flexibility of use - constantly having to move loungers to maximise sun or shade. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andymlindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Just returned from this hotel after a 7 night holiday. We had booked through an online travel agency and were informed a few days before we left that our choice of hotel was not available. A four star hotel nearby which certainly earns those stars. We were offered a few other alternatives which were in fact belonging to the same group as La Siesta. I would say the breakfasts were ok,although staff weren't always on hand to fill up dishes or cook eggs. Dinner was Poor! This is not a 4star hotel. Pool area was good there were always sun beds available. One night the dining room was closed because there had been torrential rain. There were no members of staff to inform customers of this or no written sign. The bar seemed very busy so we followed the noise. Trays of salad had been put along the bar. The staff were indifferent didn't apologise or explain what was happening. These snacks were cleared at 8.30 dining room usually served until 9.30. As we left the hotel we noticed a member of staff outside ushering guests into taxis to be given a hot meal at a sister hotel. At no time did any member of staff explain the options. I verbally complained to reception about their lack of information and was met with indifference. Won't be back!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms have a sunny outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.6 mi away
Hotel Troya
Hotel Troya
#38 of 58 in Costa Adeje
1,541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gala
Hotel Gala
#28 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spring Hotel Bitacora
Spring Hotel Bitacora
#11 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Tenerife
Hotel Best Tenerife
#25 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,951 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Siesta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Siesta Hotel

Property: La Siesta Hotel
Address: Av. Rafael Puig Lluvinan, 21, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — La Siesta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Siesta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Siesta Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
La Siesta Resort
La Siesta Tenerife
Hotel La Siesta Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing