We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 5* more a 2* +”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Reviewed 12 December 2013

a very very tired hotel , staff still very helpful, but hotel stuck in a time warp, furniture round first floor before pool falling to bits, complain about anything , no interest, sorry very shabby our room smelt of p--s, disgusting asked for a change ??? had to move myself to a another room, slightly better , because no smell, but still shabby.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank jean3223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion.

I´m very sorry about the bad experience you have described and I beg you to accept my deepest apologies for it.

We would be happy to welcome you at any of the sister hotels within the resort, more modern and recently refurbished.

Do not hesitate to visit our web page for any information you might need.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,560 - 1,566 of 3,047 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at at the mediterranaen palace 10 yrs ago and i have to be honest nothing has changed it looks old and run down . Public areas are not to bad but ,dining room has wallpaper falling off the walls . Swimming pool is beautifull .and good access to the beach and shops. After reading other peoples reviews i know i am pretty much wasting my breath when i say it needs a full refurbishment , Rooms are dated with the biggest TV and Tv stand i have seen in many years . Please managment you need to take a good look at the hotel from a customer point of view . Staff are wonderfull so no problems there .I know that managment will suggest i should like to book one of their sister hotels in the future, but this should not be the case , when you have 5 stars proudly outside you hotel , it should be 5 stars inside and not a shabby 3 * . Sorry to be negative ,but every thing surrounding Ths Hotel shops resaturants the Hard Rock Cafe due to open shortly right next door, buisnesses making a massive effort to upgrade ,leaving the Mediterranean sadly being left way behind. .

Room Tip: all rooms are dated , mountain view noise from road , pool view noise at 6,45am from staff setting u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulaIbiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion.

I´m sorry to read that your experience in our hotel has not been positive.

We are in the middle of the new Hard Rock Cafe project that will soon be open and that hopefully you will be able to enjoy in future visits to Tenerife.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The hotel is ideally located close to shops and restaurants. Reception was very good and efficient. The rooms are not big and are basic. Bathrooms need a refurb. No tea and coffee making in the room which would have been nice. Good selection at breakfast but sometimes cold. Very busy as hotel was full. The bar closes at midnight and staff not very helpful.

All other staff very helpful. Good shows on most nights. Would recommend attending the Gala night and the staff show. With a little thought this hotel could be excellent again

Room Tip: Pool view gets the sun. If you want it on the balconey in the afternoon 2053/3053 is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank havingaballWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion.

I hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us and of course will be glad to welcome you again in the future.

We have the intention to carry out a total room refurbishment that will hopefully bring the hotel back to the glamour of its opening times.

Do not hesitate to visit our web page for any information on prices or availability.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Would not want to return to this hotel the rooms were very dull and dated and we have never been without tea/coffee facilities .The bathroom was pretty tatty and smelly.On the plus side there are some very nice designer shops just over the road from the hotel which were open late into the eve.Also the outside bar staff were very nice.

Room Tip: fith floor might be slightly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_TEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion.

I´m sorry to read that our facilities have not been up to your expectations.

Although we are planning a total room refurbishment, maybe you would like to try one of our sister hotels within the resort, more modern and recently refurbished.

Do not hesitate to visit our web page for more information about prices andd availability. I´ll be happy to assist you.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The hotel is in a great location and the staff were really friendly and helpfull.Check in was quick and we were given a welcome drink on arrival. The breakfast choice was great and served upto 10.30am. The hotel was extremley busy and so was the restaurant on a morning. The rooms are dated and there were no tea and coffee making facilities in them which is expected in a 5 star hotel. The rooms were small and quite basic with dated furniture and the oldest looking hairdryer I have ever seen which wasn't much good. The hotel needs a general facelift to bring it upto date. The staff made the holiday more enjoyable than the hotel decor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting you opinion here on tripadvisor.

I´m glad to read that you have enjoyed your experience with us in spite of the few points relative to the room condition and decor that you have mentioned.

We will soon carry out a total refurbishment of the rooms that will add value to our guests experience.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at any of our hotels. Do not hesitate to visit our web page for anything you might need. We´ll be happy to assist you.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Cooked breakfast was cold. Apparently there were hot plates near the entrance, but we did not see these, and in any event the food was cold before getting to the plate. We went at various times but every day it was cold.

The fountains in the pools did not work.

In a 5* hotel you would expect tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but there were none. (budget hotels have these as standard)

Music constantly piped out.

Had to wait almost an hour to check-in, but reading some other comments appears an hour was nothing compared to the time some guests had to wait.

I was woken at 6.30am when the staff started to very loudly putting the chairs outs and to add to they would shout to each other.

We know of people that have been before who had only positive things to say...appears something may have happened to cause this hotel to go down hill.

Walls were very thin.

Needed an overall facelift.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra to get a view of the sea/pool but be aware of the racket made every morning a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DT832013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion.

I´m sorry to read that your first experience with us has been so disappointing.

As you have been informed, we provide hot dishes at the buffet entrance, and food is kept hot all along the breakfast and diner services. Unfortunately it is obvious that it wasn´t hot enough for you.

We always encourage our guests to inform our Maître of any issue or special need, and he will be pleased to do anything to improve the quality of your experience at the buffet.

I really wish that your next visit to Tenerife fulfills your expectations.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week at the Mediterranean Palace on the 17 November. The location is excellent & we would stay here again just for this. The rooms, as mentioned in other reviews are dated but ours 5006 was spotlessly clean & overlooked the sister hotel. The reason for my 3 star review is service, or lack of it. Breakfasts were chaotic. No one showed you to a table, the tables that were free had not been cleaned & there were not enough staff to cope with the amount of guests. You had to get your own tea/coffee which in a "5 star" hotel is poor. We stayed in February at the Volcan Hotel, Playa Blanca, Lanzarote and their breakfast service puts this hotel to shame. The food stations were just plonked in the middle of the restaurant & had no order which meant getting anything was an ordeal. We stayed on Half Board but chose to take lunch instead of evening meal. The selection was average & the service slightly better as the restaurant was never busy. I strongly feel that a hotel of this advertised standard should be a 5 star hotel with it's service. If I wanted a bustling, unorganised restaurant that felt like a school canteen I could of booked into a 3 star hotel for a lot less money.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Janz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion.

I´m sorry to know that the service provided at our breakfast buffet has not been up to your expectations. As a family hotel it can get very busy at certain times, as most guests tend to have breakfast at the same hours. However we would be happy to receive any suggestion on how to improve this experience on future stays.

As a resort guest, you have the opportunity to use the services at other hotels. You can find information about this and other options at our web page, where you can also check prices and availability for the dates of your choice.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon. do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,052 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#4 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
625 reviews
0.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#6 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Tenerife by Melia
Sol Tenerife by Melia
#33 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
559 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palm Beach Tenerife
Palm Beach Tenerife
#36 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel

Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#22 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: £100 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expo Hoteles, Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing