We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Reviewed 11 March 2014

At certain ‘sporting’ events a judging panel is used. Usually they disregard the best and worst scores to try and reach a fair result. I think it’s safe to say that this can be applied to reviews of this hotel. My wife and I spent the first week of March here on a half board basis and we had a thoroughly good time. There is basically not much wrong. It is in an excellent location, clean and tidy and good value for the money. OK it is not a 5 star but everyone knows that now when booking. It could do with some new sun shades round the pool and the food could be improved upon. They do not charge for the room safe (hooray) and good free wifi (again hooray). I had no trouble with wifi around the pool or in the room. They supply large bath towels in the room, and large pool towels can be obtained (15 Euros refundable deposit required). They do charge in the region of 3 Euros a day for the room fridge and 50 cents for a cup of ice (boo). I would recommend staying B&B. (The breakfast is very good). Or at worst half board but do not sign up for full board, you will get fed up with the food. The half board option can be used for either lunch or dinner, giving the choice of eating out in the evenings. You can dine in the adjoining hotel, The Cleopatra for a surcharge of 8 Euros per person. Better restaurant and food, but worth 8 Euros extra, maybe not. There are 100’s of restaurants in the locality offering good food.. Although we went in term time there was still a lot families with children staying. I imagine then, that, during school holidays this would have a very high proportion of families. The hotel seems to cater for this with a children’s club and entertainers, but if this is not your cup of tea, avoid school holiday periods. If you want top quality 5 stars with all the trimmings look elsewhere, but if you want a good, clean, no frills hotel, this fits the bill. Happy holiday.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms do get the sunshine during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank captainhaddock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

I´m glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I also appreciate your negative comments as an attempt to offer suggestions on how to improve our service. We will take them into consideration.

As you have noticed this hotel is mainly focused on families and, as part of a bigger resort, we offer different atmospheres in each hotel.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon.

I suggest you to visit our web page for any information on prices and availability.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,512 - 1,518 of 3,077 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

The rooms are very dated. I have stayed at 3 star hotels which are better. Food quality was poor for a 5 star, again I have eaten at 3 star buffet restaurants just as good, if not better. The worst part was the rudeness of the Spanish staff. You come on holiday to have a nice time and get treated with at least some respect, not get looked at or treated like you are something they have stepped in. Eva was the most rude of them all.

We had to get checked in twice because of a mix up and had to pay for our first night dinner even though we were half board. We eventually got our money back on our last day after many attempts!!!

The only plus side was that it was right on the beach and the non-Spanish kitchen staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChrisShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Mr. Shields,

Thank you very much for your comments.

I´m sorry to read that you have found your experience with us so negative.

However it is a real shame that after all the effort made by our Reception Manageress to help you recovering your money from the travel agent, you don´t consider her kind enough, in spite of the fact that she was doing this as a favour to you. It was thanks to her insistence and many calls that you finally recovered what was certaily yours.

Regarding the room condition and food variety, I appreciate your comments and I asure you that they will be taken into consideration.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Arrived at reception and was given a glass of champagne. Staff were really attentive and friendly, especially dining staff. We went for our anniversary and arrived in our room to flowers and chocolates. Also at breakfast we were given champagne and cake. Really lovely touch. Room was cleaned every day...nice work sondra, our maid. Food choices were excellent, although not as hot as we like. Would recommend to all and my daughter has already booked for june this year!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank barbiedoll65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.

I´m glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, very especially the service provided by our cleaning staff. I will personally pass your congratulations to Sandra.

I will be pleased to welcome you or your family in the near future. Do not hesitate to contact me through our web page for any special request. I´ll do my best to meet your expectations.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great hotel went in January 14, great stay, have used about 15 times, that says it all,B-)B-)B-) love the breakfast ,staff very very helpful,pool,s really clean, rooms a bit dated, but cleaned every day ,can't wait for our next stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ianieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you positive review.

I´m glad to know of your satisfaction and I thank you for your extraordinary loyalty, much appreciated.

Nothing could make me happier than welcoming you again in the near future. Do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Having stayed in Tenerife many times we have always admired this hotel

So for my wife's 50th i booked this trip to Tenerife as a late surprise

I will keep this short as i can only say we were very disappointed with the hotel
It is tired and in need of refurbishment
Room was of decent size with adequate luggage space
Decor tired and tatty
Bed alright but not of standard that people are used to in 5 star hotels these days
Bathroom was the biggest let down
Bath tub with shower curtain that stuck to you like a leach
Silicone an inch thick all round the bath
Broken and loose tiles everywhere
Public areas and restaurant also badly needing refurbished
Only stayed B&B thank God as the breakfast was poor and a free for all when busy
Would not recommend as you will find a much better hotel in Las Americas for far less money

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billyboydarvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion.

I´m very sorry to read that some of our services, especially those at breakfast, have not been up to your expectations.

Please, accept our most sincere excuses for the inconveniences.

I invite you to visit our web page for information about the sister hotels within the resort, more modern and with a different atmosphere, probably closer to your likings.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

First of all, I am not getting into and debate regarding is this is a 5 Star hotel or not. The star rating has been given to the hotel on the basis of it's facilities, and has passed all the official requirements.
We booked the hotel for a weeks winter break, arriving on 25th February . I had already been to the hotel about 20 years ago, and liked it at the time.
The staff at reception were very friendly and it only took about 5 minutes to check in. We were also given a free safe deposit box in our room. A nice touch, as many hotels rip you off, for this.
Our room on the 5th floor had a very nice sea view, so was very happy with that.
OK, the room itself does look like you have gone back in time, to the 80's. This included a big tube TV, and tired looking furniture. Furthermore one of the floor tiles in our room had fallen into a hole in the floor.

Much the same news in the bath room with a leaking hot tap, and some uneven wall tiles.

The good news was the made done a good job of keeping the room clean, and we did not expect luxury even before we arrived. We mostly went to the hotel for the position.

The pool area is not that good. The main reason is that there is at least twice as many sun beds as there was when the hotel first opened, to cater for the guests in the hotel next door, who have a small pool area themselves.

However, the single worst thing about this hotel is the dining room. This is one of the few areas that have been refurbished. However, it now looks like something from a three star Swedish Business Hotel. Not a five star holiday hotel. Worst still is the noise level. We only had breakfast, and after two days, we took the rest of our meals outside. You just could not even have a conversation with the person at your table. Nothing to dampen the sound has been added, and it is really a nightmare.

Saying all this, I would go back to this hotel if the price was right for a weeks break. I also hope that if they do give the much needed refurbishment to the rooms, they do a better job than the dining area.

Room Tip: Wear earplugs in the dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeri90125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

I´m sorry to read that some aspects of our service and facilities have not been up to your expectations.

I would also like to thank you for your suggestions regarding the dining area and room refurbishment. They will be taken into consideration.

We will be happy to welcome you again in the near future. Maybe one of our sister hotels, with a more tranquil atmosphere, would suite your preference better.

Do not hesitate to check prices and more information on our web page.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We spent a week here recently and having read some awful reviews we decided to approach our stay with an open mind. So glad we did! Yes the hotel is showing it's age but there are ongoing modernisation developments. Even while we were there the wi-fi improved dramatically. We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast buffet had a good selection and the unlimited Cava was welcome. The staff were friendly and efficient.The only negative was the overpriced "Gala" Dinner held at the Cleopatra,.the menu stated that the main course was Veal but if that was calf meat-then I'm a teenager!
Overall our advice to potential customers is if you want modern five star hotel and are prepared to pay full five star prices then this may not be for you. However, if you want clean, friendly accommodation in a magnificent location-the Mediterranean Palace will provide that. We enjoyed our stay and will return in the future.

Room Tip: Pool View is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry&Ros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words.

I´m glad to read that, in general terms, you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are aware of the few improvements we must make and we are working on new services and activities that will add value to our guests experience.

I will be happy to welcome you again in future visits to Tenerife. Do not hesitate to contact me through our web page for any special request. I´ll be glad to help you.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,085 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#7 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,653 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
614 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palm Beach Tenerife
Palm Beach Tenerife
#36 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel

Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#22 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: £97 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expo Hoteles, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing