We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 2014”
Review of Sol Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sol Tenerife
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Good cheap get away, good location, food average & not always very hot that is my only complaint if any but there was a microwave, we didn't spend much time in the hotel so I can't comment on the entertainment, we had no problems & enjoyed our hoilday visiting friends that live on the island.


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,508)
There are newer reviews for Sol Tenerife
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,228 - 1,234 of 3,508 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

i have previously been to other Sol hotels and enjoyed the experience, but this hotel was more interested in making sales to the non all-inclusive guests. When entering the bar area a nice cart was set out with special drinks made from local alchol, as all-inclusive we expected to be able to sample one but where informed only non all-inclusive allowed, we could order this at the bar the only difference was it had no mint in. A very large hotel not enough staff,dinning room felt like a kitchen echoed; no table cloths, food under cooked on meat counter as poor staff trying to keep two serveries going people que up, never waited for a fried egg took so long. when we stayed only one pool available, steps where very slippery. Only bothered with evening bar one night , grilling you to make sure your all-inclusive. Staff not very friendly,except for the cleaners. I have been to lots of all-inclusive over the years it was very disappointing as a mature group we did not get the holiday we payed for.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Overall this is a slightly average hotel. Being rated 4* - we entered the hotel with certain expectations. Wifi being one of them, we were told prior to booking wifi was available for all. But this turns out to be a €7 daily thing that could only work in the hotel lobby which was kinda lame.

That aside, the basics were met. It was clean, room was spacious for what we paid for, food was alright with a relatively good variety of fish and meat and salad, staff were really nice and attentive. Location made the experience amazing - if I had to return to Tenerife, I would most likely consider this one again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emilypsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week at the Sol. Was really worried after reading reviews but delighted to say we had a great week! Hotel was in a great location, clean and staff were lovely. Were in a room in block A 209 beside Veronica's but poolside - never heard any noise at night. Room was clean, bathroom clean and maid service excellent. You do need to grab a sunbed before 11ish despite hotel advising this is not allowed but there are plenty. We stayed B&B, there was plenty of choice and food was good - omelettes were freshly made and very tasty. Would certainly stay again - and request a low floor as lifts were a bit slow so used stairs mostly.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Sandradee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2015

Dear Sandradee99,

Greetings from the Sol Tenerife!! It was a great pleasure to have you here and we are glad to know that we reached your expectations and you spent a wonderful time in Tenerife.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a longer visit and surprise you with our passion for an excellent service!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is our second time staying here, and it was fine but disappointing. On arrival it took oleskey 1hr to try and check us in which he still couldn't do and got Tomas which he took 5mins. Oleskey really needs to be re-trained.
The food was much better than last year, various fresh meat at all meal times.
Cleaning staff do a fantastic job as do the waiting staff, apart from juain, which he took my plate away as I was still eating from it TWICE. He is also rude and very grumpy.
Tomas at reception was fantastic help!!
Met the assistant manager and the quality control manager about most nights and both chatty, and very nice. I would come back the next time were in tenerife, hopefully some of the staff might of changed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahm767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

great hotel and staff.
excellent position.
room basic tower b 572 but was clean. had a nosier but better room last time in tower a.
will be back again though as it is excellent value for money and as earlier stated in a great position.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank bubbanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2015

Dear Bubbanton,

Many thanks for taking your time in sharing a review about your recent stay with us in TripAdvisor. We feel very glad to know that you had spent a wonderful and memorable time between us.

Looking forward to welcome you back,

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had another good holiday at the sol. 3rd year on the trot ,food was good the entertainment staff work very hard as usual and all in all well done to all the staff from the maids up to the manager for a very good and relaxing holiday hope to see u all soon

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
Thank ivan1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2015

Dear Ivan1221,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking your time on sharing your kind feedback about us and our nice city on Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled to know that you have enjoyed your visit to Tenerife and our staff helped to become your stay into a wonderful and memorable experience. We very much appreciate your kind comments our atmosphere.

We will be very pleased to welcome you again in your next visit to Tenerife.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#15 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,006 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Troya
Hotel Troya
#38 of 59 in Costa Adeje
1,588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#20 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vanilla Garden Hotel
Vanilla Garden Hotel
#2 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Tenerife

Address: Avda Rafael Puig Lliviana S/N, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: £85 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 522
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 3 minutes walk from the beach. Sol Tenerife is located 200 m from the beach in Tenerife's Playa de las Américas Resort. It offers 3 outdoor pools with sun loungers, a tennis court and rooms with a furnished balcony with partial or frontal sea views. The air-conditioned rooms at Hotel Sol Tenerife feature tiled floors and cheerful colours. They are equipped with satellite TV, fridge, desk and chair. The private bathrooms come with a hairdryer. There is free Wi-Fi available in the rooms. The hotel has a kids' club, hairdresser and supermarket on site. Sports facilities include a volleyball court and a small football pitch. There is also a massage service. The Tenerife Sol's restaurant serves international buffet meals. There are also 2 bars, including a poolside bar. Las Américas Golf Course is 500 m away from the hotel. Tenerife Sur Airport is 14 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Melia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Tenerife Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing