We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good older Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spring Hotel Vulcano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed here during the school holiday week in October. We were disappointed on arrival in the room, as the bathroom had not been cleaned properly and the sink and bath contained many hairs. We reported this immediately and it was dealt with, although with no apology but we did receive a bottle of cava. We thought the Hotel was good but has seen better days and lacks a modern feel or any sort of touch of luxury. The food was average to good. We ate at the Arona Gran, the sister hotel, one evening, which was free of charge. The difference in the food was significant and much better, at the Arona Gran, alot more choice and definately standards above the Vulcano. The Vulcano is in an excellent position and we did not have any problem getting sunbeds which we thought we would. The hotel seems to specifically cater for older and disabled guests, which we knew when we booked and wasnt a problem, apart from the snoring on sunbeds and coughing can be slightly off putting. All in all its not a bad hotel but getting slightly tired and dated with average food in an excellent location.

Room Tip: We asked for a sunny ground floor room, thinking we could use our own sunbeds if there wasnt any ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grogi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,958 - 1,964 of 2,651 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2011

My umpteenth visit to the Vulcano (approx 18 times) was a sore disappointment!!!!! Standards have slipped dramatically.My husband and I have just returned home with heavy heart.As I have recommended this hotel to numerous people,I fear they will think I have 'lost it'. From start to finish, we were shocked at the decline in this once fabulous hotel. On arrival,we were allocated a room,that had not been 'made up'.When going back down to the reception,we were offered no apology,or excuse.We were then given another room,(which was 'okay').The food was not of the quality it once was.(Cold, less choice).The staff were not as efficient as we were accustomed to. The standard of cleanliness in the dining area was well below par. (A cockroach crawled up my husbands leg).At breakfast next morning, a dead cockroach (squashed into the floor),and a swarm of ants eating on a leftover 'something' that had not been cleaned up from the previous nights evening meal.All in all,not a happy holiday! Unlike Arnie...... We Won't Be Back.....

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mowgliexxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Very disappointed, not been since 2006 couldn't believe the change. Food nothing like the standard it used to be. Went down to breakfast one day, pulled out the chair to sit down and there was an army of ants and a cockroach on the floor enjoying the droppings of last nights dinner. Staff grossly overworked, constant sense of tension. Only half the lights on in the lobby area, used to be a fabulous atmosphere here. Hotel very tired and worn. Certainly wasn't worth the £700 I paid (Single supplement) for a week. Had to access my room with a scooter but could only get to it by using the staff back entrance and going up two ramps and through 2 doors. I had emailed the reception desk 4 times just prior to departure to discuss access but no-one had the courtesy to acknowledge even one of my emails. I have had fabulous holidays here in the past but I will never go back again. Get the feeling the management don't care about anything as long as they get your money and get rid of you quickly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I visited this hotel in August 2011 with 9 family members. It is a beautiful hotel, amazing food and looks very attractive from the outside. I had lived in Tenerife for 10 years and this hotel was always one I admired and wanted to stay one day. It didn't disappoint, the rooms were beautifully furnished in a traditional way, clean, plenty of clean linen and towels, the food was first class with everything you could wish for. On the downside, the pool was small and plain, although the gardens were well kept, and the restaurant staff were extremely rude. I speak Spanish and heard them bad mouthing tourists all the time. The hotel is also starting to look slightly out dated and could do with a refurbish, although this wasnt a problem and didnt detract from its attractiveness. Also, do not pay for transfers, a taxi is only 24 euros and 15 minutes, we paid 70 euros for the transfer and it took 1 hour 45 minutes!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side bungalow. We had awful view over the next hotel's back yard!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We first visited this hotel in July 2009 and returned in October 2011. We were very impressed the first time we visited and therefore we had no trouble in booking this hotel again. I can't fault anything about the room, as we had the very last room in the hotel on the 7th floor which actually turned out to be a suite. The staff were very pleasent aswell. The pool area was always clean.

However, the hotel is now starting to look slightly dated and not keeping up with the trends of other hotels.

The food was also disappointing as in July 2009 there was a large selection of food from the buffet but this time there was very limited choice and the food was very repetitive aswell. Many times the food was cold.

However, i would recommend this hotel as it is in a very great location for shops and also the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welovetoparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Just returned from a great week in Tenerife, and although we have been to Tenerife many times now, we'd not been this late in the year before. The temperatures were much better than we thought they would be for November, with high 20's in the daytime and low 20's at night, some cloud, but most of the time sunshine.

We had not stayed at the Vulcano before and booked it for its central location and the good reviews on trip advisor.

As with most hotels its swings and roundabouts, for us the pool and sunbed areas let the hotel down a bit and the cleanlness of the hard standing the sunbeds were on was questionable, but having said that we never had trouble finding sunbeds and the relatively smallish pool itself was never crowded.

Although I have observed comments made by people who have been to the Vulcano before, (both while we were there and also on trip advsor since coming back) saying that standards have dropped, I cannot make this comparison as a first time visitor, but in general compared to other similar hotels we have stayed at in Tenerife, I felt that the rooms were good, properly cleaned, and replenished with fresh linen regularly, and the public areas were immaculate.

The dining room was light and airy and tables were always available. The waiting staff were efficient and polite and the choice of food was excellent, with the normal choice of soups, cold meat, salads, vegetarian options, vegetables and potato dishes, together with an excellent range of fish and prime cuts of meat and poultry (rather than cheaper cuts served masked in obsure dishes, which I hate). In addition to this there was the normal full range of fresh friut, ice cream and desserts. All very good and we certainly had no complaints at all.

The bar area and evening entertainment was also of a very good standard with the performances completely watchable and enjoyable. We particularly enjoyed the Scottish Opera singer who was very versatile, singing both modern and classical pieces; she had a wonderful voice.

The positon of the hotel is great, being just a few minutes walking distance from the centre of Las Americas and the beach

To sum up - a most enjoyable break, would certainly go to this hotel again, and would definately recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor which was high enough to have a good view and low enough to walk up and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JillyGemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We returned from our 10 day holiday to this hotel on the 26th of October. This was our 6th visit to this hotel as we have always enjoyed our stays and have indeed recommended this hotel to many of our friends and have met up with many regular returners on each of our visit. However on this and indeed our last visit in 2010 we have noticed many changes which are not for the better. Whilst the reception and cleaning staff were excellent the bar and restuarant staff have changed and there also seem to be a distinct shortage of staff. We found the food this time not up to the previous standard - the potatoes were inedible and the quality and choice was just not there. They have installed new TV's in the bedrooms but the quality of the signal was not watchable. Also they have removed Sky sports from the bar area which meant the men had to go elsewhere to watch the football. I did speak to the manageress - Alexa Oliva - with regard to the balcony lights going out early and to be fair this was rectified. Certainly the comments in the book in the restaurant were anything but complimentary. As usual we asked if we could keep our room until we left and were told this was not possible. However they did allocate us a room to shower and change in and quess what this was the room we had stayed in!!! The room had not been used since we left it so we were baffled as to why we were not allowed to stay as requested!!!! As I have said we have kept returning to the Vulcano as we liked the hotel and the area is was situated in but we travel with my brother and his wife and we all feel that we will now seek a change. I did receive an e-mail with regard to commenting on our stay directly with the hotel but have been unable to access this!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maymc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Spring Hotel Bitacora
Spring Hotel Bitacora
#11 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,827 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Tenerife
Hotel Best Tenerife
#27 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Hotel Vulcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hotel Vulcano

Address: Avda Antonio Dominguez Alfonso 8, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: £105 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Hotel Vulcano 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Hotel Vulcano is strategically placed in the nicest part of Playa de las Americas. Next to the beach, the best shopping and entertainment area and 1 km from an 18-hole golf course Las Americas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Spring Hotel Vulcano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vulcano Tenerife
Vulcano Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Tenerife Volcano
Vulcano Tenerife
Spring Hotel Vulcano Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing