We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit to Vulcano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spring Hotel Vulcano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Return visit to Vulcano”
Reviewed 27 June 2012

It is very evident that a lot of people who visit Vulcano come back time and time again, no surprises, you get the same high standard year after year and a real bonus its location you cannot be more central for what we class as the" Vegas" strip.

Room Tip: Go for a room 5th + floors up pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ACT067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    911
    295
    51
    34
See reviews for
436
1,632
56
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,003)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We have just returned from two weeks in the Vulcano after visiting for the first time last year. We flew in via Jet2 from Backpool. An excellent hotel with very good food, helpful and courteous staff and immaculately clean rooms.
Most of the visitors were aged over 60 and, as it is in an area suitable for wheelchairs or disabled there were quite a few folk with motorised chairs whizzing around.
As mentioned previously by someone, the pool area is very much like a battery hen cage with sun beds around the pool covered in towels from 6.30 a.m. each morning (how sad).
We were surprised to find that we had to pay 1 euro each per day to hire a towel for the pool. I purchased two for 6 euro in a local shop, thus saving 22 euros.
The charge of 1 euro per day to use the fridge was also not expected as we previously had these charges included in the price of the holiday.
The bars near to the hotel all had entertainment in the evenings so there were lots of places to go after dinner. We went to the Aire Show in the Casino, (well worth visiting as there were around 30 dancers on stage and the costumes and flamenco were fantastic).
All in all an excellent holiday with the bus stop directly opposite the hotel if you wanted to visit the capital, or Los Christianos of Adeje.
We are coming back next year.

Room Tip: Room 342 is 140 steps from the lift (I counted them) !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pendle0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I have lost count as to how many times my friend and I have visited the Vulcano hotel since the year 2000. Its quite a few. It was just great to see so many friends again, friends who like us return year after year. This speaks volumes.

I am wheelchair bound and always have a ground floor room with a wheel in shower. I have to hire a shower chair as this is not provided. I take my own raised toilet seat as the toilet seat in the bathroom is too low. Having my own power chair means I also take with me extension leads to allow me to charge my batteries. Other than this, the room is perfect. The bed is wheelchair height, so there isn't a problem transferring. The room has a garden patio with chairs, table and umbrella. To the fore of the patio are two sunbeds for our use only.

The Vulcano is ideally situated, close to the beach, shops and bars galore The area is flat and accessible for a wheelchair user.

The dining room is very well organised by Daniel and Enrique, two old guards who know what they are doing Choice of food is great, there is always something to suit everyone's taste. Staff are excellent.

The entertainment room is the reason I fail to give the Vulcano five stars. The system for ordering drinks means that you could be dying of thirst before you get served. The bar staff could do with spending a few weeks at a charm school to learn how to be polite and serve with a smile. Instead its glum and glummer!

Yet again every night we have to endure this quaint presentation of certificates to the winners of various events. Surely this can be done when the event is over, rather than having everyone having to sit through this boring ceremony night after night.

The entertainment programme also needs a change. Having seen Mister Sister for the past five maybe six years, the three tenors (who mess about too much trying to be funny) for three years, Abba have lost count how many years. Elaine Alexander is well worth watching again as are the Eagles who are superb. The Beatles we have seen too many times. As for the rest, well... Flamenco anybody?

The poolside cafe bar on the other hand is excellent, first class service and food. The toasties and chips are far superior to any eaten outside the hotel and there is 15% off with your Spring card. Noticed Manuel here so that explains why the cafe is well organised. And the staff smile while they serve you. Bar staff take note......

The pool area is quite funny, with people placing towels down on sunbeds as early as 5am, sad really. Didn't go here as it is not wheelchair friendly, the sunbeds being all in a line. There is however a hoist to enable a disabled swimmer to get into the pool.

Reception are well organised, check in and out was quick. The men are pleasant, but the woman receptionist needs to smile more. You are our first point of contact, first impressions are important. Reception should always make a guest feel welcome on arrival

There is a noticeable reduction in staff since last year, but on the whole the hotel still maintains a very high standard of cleanliness.

Will see you next year Vulcano!

Room Tip: If you are in a wheelchair ask for a ground floor room with a wheel in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WizardManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Recently returned from 11days at the Vulcano. It would be very hard to be critical of the hotel, since the presentation of the hotel is superb. The rooms are spotless as is everywhere you go in the hotel. The food both Quality and choice was also first rate, and if you were not satisfied here, you most certainly would not be satisfied anywhere. Staff throughout the hotel were friendly and polite. The reception area is worth a visit especially to see the botanical area, an ideal spot to enjoy a little peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings. If I were to be critical of anything it would be the pool area, which reminded me of a battery hen farm, although obviously popular with the towel brigade who were out there bright and early reserving the sun beds for the day. In fairness to the hotel I am not sure what better could be done with the area.If this is not your scene then you are not far from the beaches and would cost you 9 euros for 2 sunbeds and a parasol all day. So stop messing and book the holiday you will enjoy.

Room Tip: poolside wings get the sun late afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jacknbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkhire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

just returned form this hotel 2nd visit in 6yrs things have changed but not the quality we got suppier pool view room great, room 26 ground floor,food fantastic anybody who says they could find anything they liked is out the question , the hotel central to the main strip were all the shops,bars and anything else you care to think of,there is a corner suppermarket were you can get allsorts to the right of the hotel , the hotel caters mainly for the older generation not that were old 50 but is still liverly music goes off dead on midnight nothing is to much trouble for the staff. in the rooms there are a safe which you pay 10 euros deposit which you get back at the end of the week and a fridge which you pay 1 euro per day, i would suggest applying for a spring discount card before you go you get 15% discount on all you drinks last thing which as altered is all the drinks fidge sandwiches you get during you stay is payed for at the end of your stay less your 15% discount fantastic hotel see you next year.

Room Tip: room 26 ground floor patio with two sun beds 10 yrds from pool 50 yrs froom dinning rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Returned from this fabulous hotel today and felt i needed to write a review straight away . From start to finish just amazing firstly when we got there check in was quick and easy and reception staff very polite and very good english also . Me and my wife are both in our thirties and yes i must agree that the hotel is suited to older couples needs but that didnt bother us as we only used the hotel for sleeping , showering , eating and the pool so if you are looking for a quiet hotel with excellent facilities you wont go wrong here . The food was excellent especially the breakfast fresh cooked food constantly , evening meal always big choice as well . Only thing i would say is you need to be up early to get a sun lounger as they start putting towels on at 7 am but overall a superb hotel and we will be back asap.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jasonpezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleckheaton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Ok so we stayed in a disabled room on the ground floor which was excellent in almost every way apart from Air con not working and the outside door not locking but these were sorted almost straightaway so no complaints there. One major problem with this room was that for a 4 Star hotel there was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, Terrible in my opinion. In a HOT country I believe a fridge should be standard but the hotel insits on charging you 1€ per day for the privilege of using it!!!! Even though it's alway on anyway with the minibar contents

Food in the hotel is OK. Could be better but there was plenty and it's only because we are used to better in Dubai did we find fault. We were FULL board and what I have a major problem with was that we only recieved a complimentary drink with Breakfast, Dinner and Supper didn't even come with a cup of tea or water, you had to pay if wanting a drink!!!I certainly wouldn't pay for full board again but go on the lowest available and eat out.

Hotel staff were ok with 3 of them being totally rude to my wife, when I sent a mail to the hotel Director when I go home she just replied with a 2 line REPONSE which shows that she doesn't give a ---- about what her guests think!!!!!

Disappointed but can't let it detract from the wonderful people we met at the hotel and it's location which for me is it's biggest selling point

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mike4leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Spring Hotel Bitacora
Spring Hotel Bitacora
#11 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Tenerife
Hotel Best Tenerife
#25 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#4 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#5 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Hotel Vulcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hotel Vulcano

Property: Spring Hotel Vulcano
Address: Avda Antonio Dominguez Alfonso 8, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#15 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Hotel Vulcano 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Hotel Vulcano is strategically placed in the nicest part of Playa de las Americas. Next to the beach, the best shopping and entertainment area and 1 km from an 18-hole golf course Las Americas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spring Hotel Vulcano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vulcano Tenerife
Vulcano Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Tenerife Volcano
Vulcano Tenerife
Spring Hotel Vulcano Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing