We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun bed situation is the only disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spring Hotel Vulcano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sun bed situation is the only disappointment”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed here for 1 week in May and couldnt fault the hotel except for the sun bed situation. Having stayed here once before we knew what to expect regarding the"bike shed" layout of the beds so we decided to treat ourselves and upgrade to a room with its own sunloungers. We e mailed the hotel before we booked to ask about the premium rooms (there are only 6 of these) and could they confirm that these rooms get the sun on the balcony.The hotel replied "the premium rooms get the sun most of the day" WRONG! The sun emerges onto the balcony at around 4.30 and only in one corner. The sunbeds are tucked away round the corner of the balcony and get no sun whatsoever. Even moving them results in 1 bed getting a narrow strip of sun and nothing more.When i complained to reception the guy said that ...no they dont get much sun but it was a large room with 2 tvs so that was what we were paying for.When i said we had been told these rooms do get the sun he just shrugged his shoulders and said as the hotel was full there was nothing he could do.Dont get me wrong...the room was huge with 2 settees and a chair but that wasnt what we had wanted.We therefore had to join in with getting up early to reserve sunbeds.On 2 days people complained to reception that there were no beds available round the pool which resulted in the lifeguard removing towels on unoccupied beds to accomodate them.This resulted in arguments when people returned to find their towels had been removed even though they had only just gone to lunch.The hotel was VERY busy.. mainly because the hotel bitacora had building works going on and people had been moved to the Vulcano.This also resulted in a few families with children jumping into the pool and running round much to the dismay of most people.Despite being annoyed about the room(we had paid £230 more than a standard room ) we did enjoy our stay here. I really do think the hotel should address the sun bed situation. The beds round the pool which got the sun most of the day were all taken by 6.45 and by 8.45 there were only the odd bed dotted about that was free.Nearly everyone we spoke to complained about the layout and i think its time the hotel updated and removed the canopies.
If you are willing to get up at the crack of dawn to reserve a sunbed then you will love this hotel and if any of you are thinking of a premium room to sunbathe on....forget it

Room Tip: dont book a premium room if you want the sun on the balcony....they dont get it till 4.30 and as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sunshinefreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,215
    909
    295
    51
    33
See reviews for
435
1,631
56
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,003)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Just back from another enjoyable stay at the Vulcano. Never disappoints. Food still excellent and entertainment still very good. Don't miss the Three Tenors if you're there. Robert Phillipe continues to entertain each night and his repertoire continues to grow.

Room Tip: Extra charge for pool view. We always look for room overlooking the pedestrian way to the beach. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhoteles, Community Manager at Spring Hotel Vulcano, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Sean,

Thank you so much for leaving your review on your recent stay inour Spring Hotel Vulcano.

I am so happy ti hear you once again had en enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind words on our food and entertainment

Looking forward to seeing you maybe sometime in the not too distant future.

Best regards


Bea Roque
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Vulcano, this was our second visit and we enjoyed it every bit as much as the first time, if not more. The service is second to none, everyone is very helpful. The food cannot be faulted, if you can't find something you like from the vast array of dishes for dinner then there must be something wrong with you. I notice that previous comments refer to the age and mobility of a lot of residents, well all that I can say is "there but for the grace of God go I" as a matter of fact while we were there, there were quite a few families with young children, all of whom were enjoying their stay.

Room Tip: The both times we have stayed we have had a room between 2-40, these have their own little terrace w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juneken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhoteles, Community Manager at Spring Hotel Vulcano, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for leaving your review on your recent stay in Spring Hotel Vulcano.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed every bit of your stay and your compliments to our food an service.

We look forward to seeing you soon

Best regards

Bea Roque
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We have just spent 2 weeks at this hotel; we found it a very nice hotel, very clean and smart, with 2 lovely swimming pools. The only downside was that it seemed that the clientele were all over 70ish (the hotel was run to suit this age group - virtually shutting down at 11.00). Whilst my husband and I are in our sixties, we like to see a bit of good entertainment and not just a man playing an electric piano/organ for 2 and a half hours or so and then a "cabaret" act for 45 minutes which consisted of a singer/or singers who involved the audience in a "singalong" thus providing their own entertainment. We could not say this hotel was family friendly (there was no children's club, or anything for teenagers to do). Again it seemed that this hotel caters for the older generation who are not very mobile. Whilst some of these clientele come back year after year after, we will not be going back. By the way, you don't use cash to pay for anything in the hotel, you swipe your room card - so keep all your receipts to ensure you can check for mistakes.

Room Tip: you have to pay extra to upgrade to a room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhoteles, Community Manager at Spring Hotel Vulcano, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Hazel,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review in Tripadvisor .

I am very sorry that at the time of booking your holiday you though we were a family hotel. It states in our web and through all Tour Operators that we are adult focused. In fact we are a very hotel popular for the older clientele as it is very quiet and we believe that the brilliant location and the friendliness of our staff makes them feel at home.

But we understand that Spring Hotel Vulcano did not appeal to your profile and understand your doubts about coming back again.

Despite all the above, should you decide to return in the future, we will be happy to welcome you with open arms.

Best Regards

Bea Roque
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leyland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just come back from our 4th visit to the Vulcano, and as we expected everything was to our expectations. Top marks again to all staff including maid service, Food was excellent Staff cant do enough for you also perfect location for everything. I read some comments in the book in the restaurant which i disagreed with. Looking forward to our return next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meganleyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springhoteles, Community Manager at Spring Hotel Vulcano, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Megan

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review on your stay at our Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you have come for a fourth time, and it was still as good as you expected. We thank you for your lovely words on our polite and helpful staff.

We look forward to seeing you in the very near future.

Best regards


Bea Roque
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The service at this hotel is second to none. My husband and I have stayed here for seven consecutive years and have never been disappointed. The food is excellent, the rooms clean and comfortable and the staff helpful. It is situated in a good location. The only downside, if you can call it that, is that the waiter service in the bar is very slow and cannot obtain a drink personally at the bar. Tried to book a holiday at the beginning of this month but unfortuately left it too late so had to stay in another hotel in the same locality only to be very disappointed. Will have to book well in advance the next time!

Room Tip: Try and obtain a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

bit apprehensive coming to this hotel at first believing it was for the older clientele but i must say i was very impressed by the mix of people there and also never felt out of place. i travelled with my family which included myself my dad and his wife and my 2 sisters. me and my sisters stayed on the 5th floor and my dad and his wife also stayed o the 5th floor. i believe the rooms were excellent. TIP bring a electric extension only 2 sockets in room and one is in bathroom for shaver.
As we were half board i was able to experience the breakfasts and evening meals. i was very impressed with both and dont believe the hotel or staff could of done anything more to help.
food was gorgeous and tasty, waiting staff always running round to help and clear tables. very efficient indeed.
pool area was very nice and make sure you get up early to get a bed mind as this place seems to have a culture of really early risers to secure beds.

overall i couldn't be more impressed with this hotel and i am already looking to come back.

andy

Room Tip: Bring an Electric Extension Get up early to secure a bed round pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andys1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Spring Hotel Bitacora
Spring Hotel Bitacora
#11 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Tenerife
Hotel Best Tenerife
#25 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#6 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Hotel Vulcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hotel Vulcano

Property: Spring Hotel Vulcano
Address: Avda Antonio Dominguez Alfonso 8, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#15 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Hotel Vulcano 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Hotel Vulcano is strategically placed in the nicest part of Playa de las Americas. Next to the beach, the best shopping and entertainment area and 1 km from an 18-hole golf course Las Americas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spring Hotel Vulcano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vulcano Tenerife
Vulcano Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Tenerife Volcano
Vulcano Tenerife
Spring Hotel Vulcano Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing