We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing 5* hotel”
Review of Hotel Sir Anthony

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sir Anthony
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Recently returned from a 2 week stay at Sir Anthony - Perfect, just how a holiday should be. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. Always a smile from the staff, especially Jonathan on reception. The evening menu is quite limited, but lovely food. We had a roof top plunge pool which was superb. Sun beds were never a problem, plenty always available. Towels can be changed as frequently as you require, and you can have as many as you require - no questions asked. Towels also available to take to the beach, which is literally 2 minutes away - only 20 minutes away from the airport too!!
Ideal, quiet hotel without the 'rowdies'

Room Tip: 3rd floors have the rooftop plunge pools 1st floor has direct access to the poolside gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank patandterryt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Hotel Sir Anthony, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments and for sharing them here with other users.

I´m very pleased to know of your satisfaction with our services and staff and I hope to welcome you again in future visits to Tenerife.

I will also pass your congratulations to Jonathan.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We're in the plunge pool suite and the room is lovely, elegant and not over the top. staff are nice and helpful.

Breakfast is sublime, a la cart menu rather than a huge buffet which we liked after the initial eyebrow raise due to not having a huge breakfast buffet (which traditionally accompanies a 5*).

Good location with activities for kids (hotel next door which is a part of the complex, kids clubs split to age groups & swimming pools).

It's very relaxing to fall asleep with the sound of waves breaking to shore just outside your window.

Will come again !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mblackuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Hotel Sir Anthony, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments and for posting them here on Tripadvisor.

I´m glad to read that our services and facilities are up to your expectations and I hope you are enjoying your stay to the most.

Any suggestion on how to improve our service will be welcome, so please, do not hesitate to contact our staff for anything you need.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are looking for a good Hotel to relax around a private pool this is for you. Staff are great where nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is good serving freshly cooked food, fresh juices, fresh fruit, etc for British and continental clients - tea and coffee to sink a ship.

Has to continuously (5 times) ask for coffee and milk for the rooms. Keep an eye on the loo rolls.

The lunch and dinner menus are a different story. The menus are limited and the food that is served is not very good and should be avoided eg rock hard chicken (microwave defrost?) in Club sandwich, Spaghetti Bolognaise without the bolognese and Sole Meunière without the Meunière (the waiter said some people do not like it). For those reasons I have given a score of average.

The Hotel is just a few steps away from the beach and hundreds of run of the mill cheap restaurants and bars typical of Tenerife. There are some fine restaurants (not Michelin Star) and night spots close by that really can make this place worth a try. For example, the Yarus restaurant opposite the Hotel and, if you are not too prudish, the bar below.

Our room had a plunge pool on the roof but we did not use it as it was unclean and was emptied two days before we left. Lighting in the room is poor. Make sure the maid leaves you with loo rolls... our's didn't. A nicety, half way through our stay, was a maid calling in of an evening to turn back the sheets and leaving a sweet on the huge pillows; I'm sure the fantastic beds were 8 foot square.

What's good/great? Breakfast served to you. Staff are excellent. Apart from the moans below the fabric of the Hotel is fine. The all day life guard provides mattresses and towels (2 each) for sunbeds as soon as you arrive around the pool, no fighting for beds. Service around the pool.

What's poor? Unclean plunge pool. Lunch and evening meals. Lack of coffee and milk in the room.

Would we go back? Probably.

Room Tip: Smokers need to select rooms without a plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Hotel Sir Anthony, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion.

I´m very sorry to read that some aspects of our cleaning service and buffet have not been up to your expectations.

I will check the cleaning procedures of the hotel, to ensure that they are followed up properly.

We will also take good note of your suggestions regarding our diner and lunch service.

Please, let me apologise for any inconvenience.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in future visits to Tenerife.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was treated to a stay at this hotel for my 40th and immediately fell for the tranquil charm, privacy and barefoot elegance of the pool area. Attentive staff, excellent daily breakfast and the ability for the reception/concierge to do everything or nothing for you as required really impressed.
I really couldn't find fault with the place, it's a diamond in the (sometimes) chaos of Playa de las Americas, perfectly located and has a lot going for it. Spoke to a couple of 'regulars' who also could not praise the place enough. Can't wait to return.
P.S. Thanks for the birthday cake, it was delicious and very thoughtful.

Room Tip: I really enjoyed the split level top floor with roof terrace and plunge pool but I'm sure all ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chilldoubt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Hotel Sir Anthony, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and for sharing it here on Tripadvisor.

I´m glad to know that your first experience with us has been so positive. I´m also happy that you have given us the opportunity to celebrate your birthday with you.

Nothing could pelase us more than welcoming you again soon.

Do not hesitate to visit our web page, where you will find information on prices and availability.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I have been wanting to stay at this hotel for years & I decided a nice little break with my youngest child, age 8 would be a perfect & it certainly was. Such a beautiful hotel, very relaxing but what makes this hotel are the fantastic staff . Nothing is too much trouble. So if you fancy somewhere special, somewhere peaceful & relaxing. The Hotel Sir Anthony is a little Oasis away from all the hussle & bussle. A true retreat . (And the food is fabulous)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank EMMAJOJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Hotel Sir Anthony, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words regarding your recent stay with us.

I´m pleased to know of your satisfaction with our services and general atmosphere. I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in future visits to Tenerife.

Do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need. We´ll be happy to assist you.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We have Just returned from a weeks stay at the Sir Anthony hotel celebrating our 30th Anniversary. and it was a totally relaxing experience, nothing is to much trouble, and the friendly staff cater for your every need. Our room was located on the ground floor with direct access to the tranquil pool area. And Never a problem obtaining a sun bed for the day. Our room was well equipped ,modern and cleaned daily, with a very comfy bed indeed.The morning Breakfast is a real plus as a menu service is to hand with food cooked fresh, orange and coffee a plenty and our morning paper To read. The hotel location is also central to all bars & restaurants with the beach right outside. A big thank you to all at the Sir Anthony and we look forward to seeing you again in September.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheffieldAudiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Hotel Sir Anthony, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice words and positive review.

I´m glad to know that you have found our services and facilities up to your expectations and I will be happy to welcome you again next September.

Do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need. We´ll be happy to assist you.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

During a weeks stay in this hotel the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the food excellent, and the accomodation more than adequate. The room was on the ground floor with it's own patio, sunbeds and umbrella, and direct access to the pool area. The bed and pillows were really comfortable. There was a safe in a cupboard, a small refrigerator and tea/coffee tray. The bathroom was similar to those on other floors, with glass walls and black sliding screens for those who prefer privacy. All in all, very comfortable. The themed meal on the first evening was excellent and definitely worth trying.

A couple of small, hopefully constructive criticisms though:-

Booking in took rather a long time, even with the ubiquitous offer of a glass of champagne.

The coffee tray contained enough tea to have a couple of cups, but only two sachets of caffein free coffee, and no milk, which was asked for one night, never received, finally being acquired a couple of days later, from the evening housekeeper, together with a couple of chocolates, which I believe are normally placed on the pillows when the beds are turned down, which also never occurred,

The hotel is beautifully situated close to everything. The upper rooms have a sea view and the pool area and the lower floor private patios are hidden by a thick high hedge. The musical accompaniment to meals was very tasteful and breakfast in the garden on Sunday was really enjoyable and relaxing.

In general the service was excellent as one expects from a five star hotel. I would recommend the Sir Anthony to anyone wanting a little R & R in comfortable surroundings with good service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Hotel Sir Anthony, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review and for posting it here on Tripadvisor.

I´m glad to know that you have enjoyed our services and facilities and I hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon in future visits to Tenerife.

Regarding the tea and coffee facilities in the room, we try to provide products for all tastes, but of course you can always inform us of your preferences and we will increase the number of caffein free coffee for you.

Do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival to ask for anything you might need. We´ll be happy to assist you.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#7 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.5 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#6 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
731 reviews
1.6 mi away
Iberostar Las Dalias
Iberostar Las Dalias
#8 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sir Anthony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sir Anthony

Address: Avda de las Americas | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: £219 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sir Anthony 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only beachfront boutique hotelon the stunning Playa de las Americas in Southern Tenerife, this luxury establishment has 70 sumptuously furnished rooms with a terrace, offering a panoramic view of the beach. The attentive staff provide personalized VIP service with unparalleled attention to detail. Located only a few steps from the largest entertainment and shopping area of the island, it is the ideal spot to spend a perfect dream holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Selenta, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sir Anthony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Anthony Hotel Tenerife
Sir Anthony Tenerife
Hotel Sir Anthony Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing