We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa de las Americas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Beach Aparthotel
Gloucester
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 12 June 2006

The Ocean Beach Aprathotel is a very nice hotel. It is clean, has a good pool, is quite at night and has reasonable facilities. It is on a hill, but there is a good path which leads straight to the main road and beach front. Be sure to buy from the Supermarket Philipe as all the small so called supermarkets are too expensive. Spanish Style is also a good shop. The hotel is about a 10 min walk from the beach. (Avoid speaking to any touts trying to sell you something, they will waste your holiday).

The best thing about the hotel is it is very near to Aqualand a ready cool water park with rides and a Dolphin show. I recomend you buy your tickets from one of the many booths that sell tickets for tourist attractions. We picked ours up for 19 euros per adult, but the on the gate price is 23 euros. There is a free bus to the park but its only a ten / twelve minute walk so not worth catching if you are staying at this hotel. Wednesday is the busies day at Aqualand but Saturday is better as less people means less queing for rides. Take an extra towel to sit on if you don't want to pay 3.5 Euros for a sun lounger.

Breakfast is best served at the Abeerdean Steak house which has a set menu for full english starting from 2 Euros inclusive of a drink. Other restaurants ramp on the cost of drinks.

I recomend you try the Chineese all you can eat buffet for 5.80 euros if you like Chineese, but get there early. The Moonlight bar is the best place to drink, with similar prices to the UK and good coverage of all sports events.

The room we stayed in was on the fourth floor at the back of the hotel. If you want a better view may sure you ask for front of hotel and at least fourth floor. The back of hotel has a view of surrounding hills and is a bit quiter.

The rooms are very clean, have an endless supply of hot water, and great showers / baths. Our room had a kettle, but no toaster. (Not a problem thou as you have a grill in the oven). The corridors are a little dark and the lighting in the rooms is a bit dimmer than we are used to in the UK but this is not a problem. The TV needs you to put a Euro in it for an hours worth.

The hotel entertainment seemed ok but i went out most nights so did not realy sample it.

I would stay here again as this was much better than the Orlando Hotel i stayed in, in 2004, which was very noisey and had a rubbish shower. This hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Gloucesterx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    12
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 May 2006

You need a high floor as built on a hill, need 4th floor and higher, very clean , large room, 2 large pools one heated free sunbeds , no hasstle no problems, will go again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2006

Just returned from a week at the Ocean Beach, the only complaint was that a week just wasn't long enough. Already booked to go back at the end of the summer.
Apartments small but clean, the bedroom was larger than the living area but hey the more space the more mess the kids can make.
Some of the entertainment wasn't for little ears but generally okay. Food at hotel was superb.
Plenty of sun loungers by the pool but that didn't stop some saddo's from putting their towels out at the crack of dawn.
Check out Garfields and Snoopys good family run bars, and ladies check out the totty at Planet Football just across the road, the PA is a wee cutie, and I say wee because he's quite short even my six year old daughter couldn't help but bat her eyes every time she passed him.
The only down side is the hill going down towards the beach, its mega slippy fell on my [--] a fair few times.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank weejax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 March 2006

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Ocean Beach. I booked this as a present for my wifes 40th birthday and to be honest I could not have asked for a better hotel. We were lucky enough to get a 5th floor room with a nice view and it was lovely. The room was spotless and we had clean towels daily, with linen changed twice during our weeks stay. The staff were really friendly and the entertainment was excellent. Check out "Mr D" who has the best voice ever and "Hot Ice" a fantastic dance act. Dave the entertainments compere is a great lad and really friendly. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and we will be going back for sure! Brilliant value for money - do yourself a favour and GO - you wont regret it.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2006

the rooms are very spacious and are well equiped clean and good maid service pool area is good nice large pool plenty of sun loungers the only thing that lets it down is the entertainment side of things but there are plenty of bars round this area lots of nice eating places as well. it is quite a walk to the beach if you are going on the name and think it is near think again

Helpful?
20 Thank havenmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2006

Just returned from a week at Ocean Beach. Great hotel, room cleaned every day, towels changed every other day. Had gone on holiday with my son and family and we had requested adjoining rooms but as we had only booked a week before they offered me a room across the corrider which was a studio and smaller than the 1 bed apartments but Margos on reception said if I was not happy I could move to a higher floor. However to say it was a studio it was very spacious and immaculately clean. Could not fault the staff, there were 3 pools, 2 of which were heated.

Had breakfast every day at the Irish Rover which was brill, best evening meals were Marios, Harleys and The Slow Boat at Puerto Colon.

The only drawback to the hotel is the slope down to the beach as we had a pushchair but it kept us fit ready to hit the many good bars and cabarets near to the hotel in the evening.

Oh and by the way get a room above the 4th floor!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank jeanniejeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2006

We spent one week at the Ocean beach from Dec 27th to Jan 3rd and we had a fantastic time! There was my family and my boyfrind and I so we ranged in age from 11 to 47 and there was something for everyone. The apartments are basic but very big and clean and the balconies were a great size. You have to rent kettles & we had to buy an iron as they rang out before new years eve but apart from that there was everything there that we needed. The pools were great. One was heated and one wasn't and the unheated one was freezing but great for clearing the head in the morning! We had lunch at the hotel 4 days out of 7 and the food was excellent and very good value. The best meal we had outside the hotel was about 10 minutes down the road on the right, a place called Verdes where the food was amazing. I would highly recommend it. The entertainment in the hotel was great fun and on new year's eve they had us dancing till 3am. We were on the 3rd floor and I had read some reviews saying that if you weren't in the top couple of floors it was very loud at night but we didn't find it loud at all. The only thing we could hear was people moving there sunbeds in the morning but it was a good excuse to get up and out into the sun. Overall we had a great week and would definitley stay at the Ocean beach again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Lcsunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Borinquen
Apartamentos Borinquen
#34 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parque de las americas
Parque de las americas
#56 of 81 in Adeje
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sunprime Ocean View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol
Hacienda Del Sol
#51 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
HOVIMA Panorama
HOVIMA Panorama
#28 of 58 in Costa Adeje
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Troya
Hotel Troya
#38 of 58 in Costa Adeje
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Beach Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Aparthotel

Property: Ocean Beach Aparthotel
Address: Lugar urbanizacion San Eugenio 41, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 58 Hotels in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Beach Aparthotel 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Aparthotel Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Ocean Beach Aparthotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
Ocean Beach Aparthotel Hotel Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing