We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalonia Oro Negro
Nearby Hotels
Europe Villa Cortes(Playa de las Americas)
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Sir Anthony(Playa de las Americas)
US$391
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$360
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iberostar Las Dalias(Playa de las Americas)
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mediterranean Palace Hotel(Playa de las Americas)
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Beach Tenerife(Playa de las Americas)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Cleopatra Palace Hotel(Playa de las Americas)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
H10 Conquistador(Playa de las Americas)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartamentos Caribe(Playa de las Americas)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Green Garden Resort & Suites(Playa de las Americas)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,492)
Filter reviews
2,492 results
Traveller rating
840
1,078
411
94
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
840
1,078
411
94
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium roomdaniels barhalf boardair conplenty of choicestar hotelfamily roomevery nightpool areabusy roadplenty of sunbedsgreat holidaybreakfast and dinnershow cookingmain roadreception staffcleaned every day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,420 - 1,425 of 2,492 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at the hotel from 13-20th April 2014, half board. The hotel is very central for everything, however, is located at the top of a hill if you have difficulties with walking. The hotel is a good 3 star quality and I was surprised at a lot of the reviews I read before I stayed at the hotel as they were totally different from my own experience. The quality of the food was good and I found the staff to be friendly and helpfull. The room was spotless and cleaned every day, we had fresh towels every day and our sheets were changed once. The security man at the pool is very grumpy but I found him entertaining. The animation team work very hard at entertaining both adults and children every day, There are plenty of sunbeds, but would suggest you get them prior to going for breakfast at 9.00am as they go fast. We only attended the night entertainment on two occasions and found that it wasn't up to much so tended to go out most nights to bars with live entertainment. There are quite a few bars within 10 minutes walk of the hotel. If you are looking for something more upmarket, I would recommend going to where the Parque Santiago 5 & 6 are which is 15 to 20 minutes walk away, there are lovely restaurants and great shops and a general buzz around this area. If you are young I would recommend the Veronica's area where there are loads of pubs and clubs, again this is only 10 minutes walk. We had a great holiday and would probably stay at the hotel again in the future. The only problem we had was that we had two young boys in the next room for the last two days of our holiday who slept all day and partied all night, we reported them to the security who did check them on a few occasions but this didn't seem to deter them, it may be an idea that the hotel should look at the age groups of there customers and locate younger persons away from couples and families, I have seen this done in other hotels and it works a lot better.

Room Tip: Make a request for a corner suite on floor 5 or above overlooking the pool area as the views are fantastic.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WeeElBigAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Oro Negro 17-24th April, half board over the Easter weekend. We paid around £700 for 2 people with good day time flights from gatwick.

The Oro Negro is handily placed for the beaches and resorts of Americas, Adeje, Arena and for a slightly longer walk to Christianos. There is regular buses that stop outside the hotel but almost all of the resorts are walkable within 10-20 minutes.

We had read the totally mixed bag of reviews on TA before leaving and to be fair can only agree with the positive reviews. 'Prostitutes' are ladies working in one of three shops within a close proximity to the hotel offering 'massages', as a young married couple we where not approached. The 'lucky' men who work most of Americas/Adeje trying to sell tack are annoying in quantity but will leave you alone if you are firm and only say No thanks.

We used resorthoppa coach for our transfer as they where cheaper than Thomson's, we got to the hotel before the Thomson customers but transfer time was an hour and not 20 mins as quoted. Return was 30 minutes.

Our check in was quick and friendly, although we ended up back at reception after unpacking as we needed the safe key which costs €28 per week with €10 deposit returned. The AC remote was not needed on our week for the evenings but costs €20 which is a returnable deposit. If you require WiFi, it's best to ask for the code as well.

We had emailed the hotel 10 days before and requested a pool/sea view on a high floor and had not received a reply back but our room was as requested. Room 552 has a pool view and has partially obstructed sea views. It is obviously a heavily used room and has several small repairs needed such as squeaking fan, cupboard with hinge hanging off and a plug in the bath had been wound down so would not drain. The room is clean and tidy but basic, luxury items are a TV with 2 uk news channels and a decent hair dryer. There is a lack of electrical sockets in the room. The maid left the room tidy with fresh towels daily but also left the balcony door open on a few occasions which I feel jeopardised the room security.

Our room was noisy at times from doors and lifts being used. We had 5 fire alarms go off in our block, the worst being at 4.10 am, others being before 7am. No apology or reason was given on checkout.

The sunbeds being unlocked til 9am goes someway to stop us greedy Brits reserving beds for the whole day and only using them for 10 minutes. Other nationalities must think we are crazy as it was only UK guests racing out between courses of breakfast to get beds which they would come back to mid afternoon and use for a short while. Pool beds are unlocked at 10 am which also get rushed for. During the busiest days beds were still available so please don't let this bother you. The lifeguard is grumpy as others have said and may even be a bit OCD but he is very funny to watch as he huffs around the terrace making sure it's kept clean and tidy.

The canteen for breakfast has plenty of choice and drinks are included, dinner has a selection of meats cooked your way and most items can make a meal. Drinks are chargeable for dinner, €5.50 a bottle of wine, €2.20 local bottle beer & €1.40 water. Bottled wine can be corked and saved for the next day. The choice was always varied but we did get bored by the end of the week even after eating out a few times.

We did not use the hotel entertainment as it appeared to cater for older guests. The wifi was painfully slow, if at all workable but it did have a huge demand of the younger generation just staring into tablets and phones sat round the reception area!

Must do's and hints!

Email the hotel and request your chosen location. Side rooms and high floors are worth requesting.

Find the glass lift and ride to the 11th floor for great views over Tiede.

If you need drinks then the supermarket DialPrix (right out of hotel, right at junction and 150mtrs on left) is half of the price of other supermarkets. Super Dino is next door and is also good for prices.

Bring an extension lead with multi plugs on and stick a euro converter on it as there is not enough sockets in the room (1 in bathroom and 1 in bedroom).

If you like tea/coffee in your room then a travel kettle and drinks will need to be brought with you.

Find a local bar that you like and stick to it after 9pm as it becomes difficult getting past PR's and lucky men. We would recommend the corner bar on La Paz for comedy and The Travellers Rest near to Veronica's Strip for sport and drinks.

Overall this hotel represents good value for money and is of a good 3 star standard. We where happy with 1 week here but could struggle if we stayed for a longer period in 'off peak' season for the island.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Gauney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

stayed for two weeks with wife and 18yr and 12yr olds. we had two rooms, they were the smallest hotel rooms i have ever stayed in and were in desperate need of doing up,imo they were not worth the money, if we had better rooms then maybe i would have accepted the situation, but to upgrade to better rooms was expensive which i thought was a cheeky ask as we had already paid a lot for our holiday, the staff and the food are first class, its just a shame about the state of the rooms,also, this is a haven for the oldies there were millions of them, so if you are over 60 then this is the place for you

Room Tip: avoid ground floor 118 and 116, not at all vfm
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baldystewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed here with my wife for 10 nights in April on a half board basis. We found it to be a great hotel. The best thing about it was the friendliness of the staff. Everyone was very helpful, cheery and always made a point of greeting you. Our room was on the 5th floor at the corner overlooking the sea and the mountains. We couldnt have asked for better. The room was a little dated but everything worked perfectly and was kept clean on a daily basis.
I found the food to be of good quality and was very varied changing from evening to evening. I was always able to find something I enjoyed. The restaurant staff were very efficient and always had large quantities of food to choose from even at busy periods. The lady 'Simona' did a brilliant job organising everybody and had things running smoothly.
The public areas were always well managed especially the pool area. No early morning scrambles for sun loungers etc as they are all locked away until 9am and everyone gets a chance of having one.
The hotel itself is positioned about 5 mins walk from a 'surfers' beach and the sandy beach was an easy 15 mins walk away. All the designer shops, restaurants and The Hard Rock Cafe are a mere 10 mins away.
We had a great stay at the Oro Negro and could not fault it in any way. It was great value for money. We booked through Thomsons and their hotel rep STACEY was EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the upper floors
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Burscoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel is is probably a bit passed it's best, but well looked after. Really clean throughout.
Generally splendid helpful staff, we were a party of six and each evening when entering the restaurant when asked 'how many?' we were given a sigh and a shake of the head, the type of reaction I get off the kids when I ask them something. We did get tables though.
Reception, restaurant waiting staff (who seem to work damned long hours), those in the bars all really friendly and helpful. Room cleaning staff in every day and again very friendly and efficient.
The kids club staff really energetic and full of enthusiasm, little un loved em.
The food was terrific, two 40+ adults and four kids, 17, 12, 11 and 6 all eat well and happily during the week, some great stuff available.
Pool is chuffing freezing, it's warmer in the sea. The main pool is really a no no for younger less able swimmers, other than the steps there isn't a shallow area. It starts at 1.6m and goes to 3m.
I really struggled to sleep at night and it's nothing the hotel can control I'm afraid. it's the noise of the bars in the town. We were in 629 with a sea view and there was nothing between us and the bars to buffer the noise.
My only gripe really is that there are no brew facilities in the rooms, though Stacey, our Thomson rep, lent us her kettle and we were able to buy machine coffee locally.
We stayed in a couple of evenings for the entertainments, generally good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigStevie1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews