We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved our stay at the Oro Negro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Oro Negro
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We loved our stay at the Oro Negro”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved this hotel.
We had stayed before in 2012,but after reading some reviews thought it had gone downhill..how wrong could we be..
Check in took a while we had booked to twin rooms but had requested an extra bed in our room(a couple travelling with my hubby's mum and our son)
Which they soon sorted out for us..we had requested the room we stayed in before (930) which was massive(cause of three of us being in there before) which we remembered had the best views..
The room was spacious and clean,fresh towels everyday (no holes in any of them).
The food was amazing..breakfast was the usual english(eggs fried/ boiled/scrambled or you could have a freshly made omelette or eggs) bacon,sausages,beans,cooked tomatoes.. 4 choices of cerial,breads,continental breakfast(toast,pastry s ,jam and butter),fresh fruit(melon,oranges,apples or bananas)...tea coffee hot chocolate,or a selection of fruit juices..
The evening meal was really good with fresh meat cooked to order chicken,pork chops ,beef, fish... Or a wide selection of make your own salads..
Chips,cooked potatoes,rice,vegetables,meatballs,casseroles,pasta and sauces.. Loads to choose from..
So you could make a starter.. Salad with crusty bread and pâté or soup also..
The desserts were okay..
Mainly fruit,ice cream,rice,custard & cream,a couple if nights they had some cakes for dessert
A big thank you to Simone who always has a huge welcoming smile for everyone,a credit to the oro negro, the other staff were always polite,but some didn't look very happy,but even one of the restaurant staff we remembered from the previous visit cracked a smile or two.
You do have to pay for drinks with the main meal also.
We didn't see any cockroaches at all during our stay(apart from outside the hotel)
The pool is a good size but quite cold..
No kettles or fridges in rooms,
We took our own kettle and cups tea and coffee etc, you can hire these from the hotel,we hired a fridge last time and it cost 40 euros but you get a 10 euro deposit back at the end of your stay.
The only downside of the oro negro is the wifi, it's free in the reception area,but unlike other places we have stayed you cannot get it in the bedrooms..maybe something the oro negro should think about installing on every floor.. They would make a fortune if all the young ones always in reception on there laptops,iPads etc is anything to go by!!
We really enjoyed our stay and will return to the oro negro in the future..
A real gem,and should be a four/five star hotel not just a three star.
We stayed for two weeks (April 15th to 29th) and the weather was amazing..
Oh and did I mention the view?
We had a 180 degree view of the sea,and if we went to the end of the balcony(wall side) we also had a lovely view of adeje
The sunsets over la gomera were amazing
Thank you all at the oro negro for a wonderful two week holiday we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves xxxx

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marg2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Marg2109,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvi-sor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving our services.
It is nice to read that you loved your stay and think this is a real gem.
We take note about your suggestion about wifi, and I am glad to say you that In this moment WE ARE INSTALING WIFI IN THE WHOLE HOTEL and hope that soon will be working.
Thank you very much for your nice words and your feedback
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    887
    349
    78
    60
See reviews for
369
1,127
72
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just return from our stay at the Catalonia Oro Negro, staff very friendly and helpful, hotel very clean and very good value for money. Had a couple of meals out which were not as good as the hotel food. Chops, steaks, and fish cooked to order in the evening. Having read some of the reviews we were worried we may have made the wrong choice, but short walk to the town, the swimming pool was cool, but in the heat it was not too cold for swimming in. Plenty of sunbeds available. As for prostitutes patrolling the main road at night we didn't see any. The evening entertainment we stayed in for was very good, better than some of the local bars and restaurants. Would book again. Great value for money.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor on the roadside but don't be put off the lift is very quick and the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherylRob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear CherylRob1 ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback helps us to improve our services and gives us support to continue working.
It is nice to read that you think we offer a very good value for money.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just return from my 7th stay at the Catalonia Oro Negro, staff very friendly and helpful as always.
Food can be repetitive but always fresh and plenty of it. Hotel is in a good location just far enough away from the hustle and bustle but near enough to walk to it if you want that sort of thing
This may be a budget hotel but it is always full with people on return visits.
Prostitutes patrol the main road out side the hotel but this can be entertaining to watch if your not a prude. It is a good basic hotel and serves it's purpose, if you are looking for luxury then don't book hear but I certainly will be again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Steve B,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback helps us to continue improving our services.
It is nice to read this is your 7th stay at Oro Negro. Our repetitive guets like your are our best ambassadors.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just returned from yet another fabulous holiday at the Oro Negro... 10/10 for value for money, whilst not as palatial as perhaps 4/5*hotels it is very comfortable, extremely clean, friendly staff and buffet meals provided excellent - as I said on a previous review 3* hotel, 4* chefs... the standard is STILL as high! Drinks prices in the bars and restaurant are VERY reasonable compared to other hotels. The hotel is in a good location for getting out and about in nearby Los Cristianos and Costa Adeje, the centre of Las Americas only minutes away. If you are heading towards Costa Adeje beware, it is quite hilly if like me you prefer walking on the flat.

I mentioned on my last visit a few plants in the pool lobby would finish off this newly refurbished area... it was nice to see these in place this visit! Furnishings in Daniel's Bar are in the process of being replaced... the 'half' of the bar completed looks fantastic, we are looking forward to seeing it all completed on our next visit, probably later in the year.

I mentioned previously that high floors, central block, overlooking the pool were nice sunny rooms.... oops.... what I failed to take into account that our previous visits have been October-December, and of course the earth moves and sun changes its position! In April the block overlooking the pool above the Restaurant seemed to get the afternoon/early evening sun. Perhaps it might be better just to request the hotel to allocate a "sunny" room dependent upon time of year you are visiting, if this is what you prefer. Needless to say, despite not having sun on our requested balcony this holiday, there are ample sun-bathing terraces and we did still have the stunning views from the balcony we have previously enjoyed!

It was good to see lots of young adults there this time, all of whom were well behaved... however I was surprised that pool games didn't seem to be included in the entertainments programmes, such as Volley Ball. If the hotel wants to encourage visitors from the younger generations, it would be good to see them included... I might be a 'senior' but I still enjoy watching people enjoying themselves...

Yes, as previous reviewers have pointed out there are a lot of the older generation who visit - but that's because after years of travelling experience we know a good deal and can appreciate good service etc when we see it. Follow our advice and don't hesitate to visit.... this is the first hotel I have ever made repeated visits to, and am looking forward without hesitation to our next visit - tried and tested as far as we are concerned!

Check out my early reviews for more details....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Carol B,
Thank you very much for sharing again your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripad-visor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving our services and helps us go in the good direction.
It is nice to read that you liked the pants in the pool lobby and the part of Bar Daniel´s we have alredy refurnished. I hope we can finished it soon.
We have alredy added pool games as we used to do in summer
Thank you very much for your nice words, suggestions and comments

I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed at the oro negro hotel 22nd February 2014 for one week we enjoyed our stay reception area was comfortable staff on the desk were very pleasant and helpful our room was clean maid service good restaurant was well organised the food was well prepared and a good choice .the hotel in good position close to bars and shopping center

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank johnbarnsley1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear John H,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your comments give us support to continue working to improve.
It is nice to read that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us last february.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

First some tips then my review which will focus on 1) room 2) facilities 3) food 4) staff 5) location.

How to avoid being ripped off:

This hotel charges a ludicrous €18 for 1 week or 9€ for 3 days of using a safe in the room. They also require a returnable €10 deposit (in case you steal the safe?!?)
I was staying for 10 days so I paid for 3 days safe and didn't return the key until my last day which even if I lost the deposit worked out cheaper than paying for 10 days.
As it happens they gave me my deposit anyway as the safe was still there on checkout.

Swap your meals:

With a days notice you can swap an evening meal for lunch if you are half-board and want to eat out in the evenings.

No one cares whether you are half-board or full-board:

You can just walk in for food unchallenged at any time regardless of whether you're half-board or full-board. Also, there tends to be a confused rabble outside which forms some semblance of a queue. Your best bet is to walk past this and just go sit down as no one is attending to the queue and the people in it are queuing for nothing. Very British.

1) Rooms - 2/5:

The rooms are basic but ok for people on a budget. They get very hot so you can either pay 18€ a week for air-con or just leave the door open at night. I did the latter and it was fine. The beds are substandard. 2 singles pushed together and made up individually with a propensity to roll around on their very loose casters causing any sort of contact between the two to result in them drifting to opposite sides of the room. How romantic!

The bathroom was excellent with cold and hot water, a mixer tap to achieve temperatures inbetween and high water pressure. The towels are not changed unless you leave them in the bath which is fairly standard. The walls of the bathroom and indeed the entire hotel appear to be made of paper though so say goodbye to any hope of privacy. I think I could identify our neighbours above and below by their coughing and spluttering after about day 3.

The maid service is very thorough and the room was always cleaned to a very high standard. This however takes place exactly when you are getting ready to go out in the morning between 0900 and 1000. The maids apologetically let themselves in and start cleaning around you regardless of your state of undress and either don't understand "please come later" or they usher you out of the room and out of their way.

Irritatingly there is no fridge or kettle in the room so prepare for beverages which are at ambient temperature. There is a hair drier but no iron.

2) Facilities - 3/5:

As I've already stated you have to pay for the safe and air-con which I think is absolutely disgusting.

I think the advertisement of free wifi in the reception area should be revised with a caveat that it doesn't actually work if more than 3 people are on it. Given that there was always a colony of youths congregating there who appeared disgruntled and fed up with their parents, internet access was all but impossible to achieve.

The pool is very nice and warm with plenty of sun. There are lots of sun loungers and these are released in batches at 0900, 1000 and 1100 so you don't have to worry about them being reserved. There is a strict no reservation policy enforced by a friendly life guard which works very nicely.

I didn't play any of their "organised fun" sports but by the look of the dilapidated mini-golf and crumbling play park and pool tables I think it's safe to say these would have been to a low standard.

3 Food - 4/5:

I stayed half board which included breakfast and evening meal.

Breakfast was pretty good with a selection of cereals, fruits, continental and English style cooked breakfasts. There is also an omelette bar.
Cereals - standard stuff.
Continental - nice croissants and pastries with a selection of cold meats which I didn't try.
Fruits - watermelon, grapefruit and that sort of thing but although fresh, not particularly high quality.
Omelettes - nice but only ham and cheese available as a filling. Slightly less variety than your typical omelette bar.
English style - excellent bacon cooked however you want it from crispy to ... whatever the opposite of crispy is, lovely fried eggs with a runny yolk and the option to have then cooked how you want them, awful sweet and stale Spanish bread, average baked beans and finally horrible sausages that taste like smelly feet.
Overall a good breakfast if you pick and choose what you like.

Dinner was excellent every night. There is a grilling station offering three cuts of meat a night (usually a cut of meat like steak, some kind of fish like tuna and a burger). Then there is a roast joint with delicious gravy and a selection of other dishes including vegetarian. There are copious sticks of fresh baked bread from which you cut however much you want and there is lots of lovely fresh salad. The only negatives for me were that the veg is all cooked into oblivion - total stodge, and the puddings are horrendous. They were mostly boiled pears or snot-like jelly concoctions.
A highlight was when they did steak on the grill.

4 Staff - 3/5:

I don't think I saw a single member of staff crack a smile during my entire stay. I am not going to criticise this however as they all worked really hard all day seemingly everyday in what I imagine is the most soul destroying job imaginable. They were effective and efficient and what more can you ask?

Not strictly related to the hotel but Thompson holiday rep Stacey was excellent, friendly and helpful. She knew all the answers to questions about trips and the area and helped us book a really cheap hire car.

5 Location 5/5:

Excellent location just 5 minutes from the main strip which makes it a bit quieter than I imagine some other hotels are. Being slightly set back from the strip means you get less hassle from "lookie-lookie" men who I'm certain are constantly up to no good (having seen wallets chucked in bushes where they'd been thrown after being robbed and emptied of cash). This unpleasant occurrence seems to follow these awful street hawkers, but on the upside if you want a rubbish fake Rolex just follow the litter trail of discarded stolen goods.

Conclusion:
Not bad, but not great except for dinner. I wouldn't go back but hey; you get what you pay for! (And writing this review killed some time on my flight home!)

Room Tip: The higher up the tower the room, the quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 637Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear 637Anon,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guests in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback helps us to improve our services and avoid mistakes.
I apologize if we didn´t fulfil your expectations. We are working daily to improve our services and we take note of your comments to get improvement.
We have free fan and free Air Conditioning in all our rooms. You just need to leave a deposit of 20 € for the AC control. We will check this because I think some guests like you don´t understand it and maybe we can improve it.
In this momento we are working to put wifi in the whole hotel and to improve it. I hope in your next visit you will find it better.
We have many repetitive clients of thomsom, and we are very happy to receive them every year because they are some of our best ambassadors.
I hope to welcome you again in the future in our hotel to show you the real high quality of our services.
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

First impressions of this hotel were yeah not bad but not great.
The reception area was clean and the staff who greeted us were friendly enough. If you want to use wifi for your mobile or tablet this is the only place in the hotel where you can use it but at least it's free.
Our room was on the third floor but it was facing the main road. I've got to admit the road is very busy day and night with horns blasting etc all the time so if you leave the balcony door open it will bother you. We should of asked for a move but according to a sign in reception the inner rooms were at a higher rate.The room was clean and tidy a bit dated but all in all not too bad.
The pool area was well looked after and plenty of beds to go around. The pool attendant was very nice and helpful.
The bar area was spot on but a bit pricey and the dining area was excellent as was the food. Everything was fresh and every mealtime the selection of foods was outstanding. If you could be bothered to wait there was a chef cooking everything from steaks and pork chops to salmon. And the dining room staff were some of the nicest people I've ever met.
We stayed 10 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it.
I've got to mention a couple of things that were a bit on the negative side depending on who you are starting with the prostitutes patrolling around outside and actually having sex in the carpark across the road in cars which was ok when there was nothing on the telly ;).
And the noise from the cars if you slept with the doors open.
But don't let this put you off because this is a great
Little hotel and one I would visit again.
Check out the shop next door for a decent price on alcohol and crisps etc.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borofc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear borofc71,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvi-sor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving our services.
It is nice to read that in general you think this is a nice hotel and our staff great.
All our rooms facing the main door and Golf course have doublé window and all our rooms have fan and AC free, so you don´t need to sleep with the doors open but I agree that if you do it you have more noise.
About the problems you mention in the carpark, we are sending your comments to local autoridades and we hope that changes take place soon
We take note of your comments to get improvement.
Thank you very much for your nice words and help
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#20 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#34 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#19 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Oro Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Oro Negro

Property: Catalonia Oro Negro
Address: Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Oro Negro 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Oro Negro is located 500 metres from the las Americas de Arona beach, in Tenerife, close to the local leisure centre and the "Las Americas" golf club. The hotel facilities cater to the most discriminating clients, both adult and children: swimming pool for adults, children's swimming pool, children's playground, large terrace, solarium with hammocks, hairdressers and beauty salon, table football, table tennis, private garden, pool bar, live shows in the bar, Daniel's bar, breakfast buffet restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Catalonia Oro Negro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Catalonia Oro Negro Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing