We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Oro Negro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Oro Negro
Troon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hotel Oro Negro”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Have just arrived back from the Oro Negro Hotel in Las Americas and it is a fantastic hotel with great food and very friendly staff and a special mention to the restaurant manageress as she always had a smile on her face and she would really help no matter what you wanted. The rooms were also very spacious and had everything you need the only negative was the hotel is situated on a hill which is not suitable for people with walking difficulties but we would walk down the hill to the sea and shops and then get a taxi back which was only 4 euros but would definitely recommend this hotel as it is superb

Room Tip: we had a room looking over the pool and it was really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deveronwilma64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear deveronwilma64,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ opinions help us very much.
It is nice to read that you enoyed your stay and you think this is a fantastic hotel with great food and very friendly staff.
I will pass your comments to Simona and rest of our staff
Thank you very much for your feedback and your nice words

I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    927
    364
    81
    63
See reviews for
393
1,182
75
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel from the 20th May to the 27th may . Excellent friendly hotel . We stayed in room 203 wanted a high floor but didn't moan about it just got on with the holiday , a bit to close to the lift , can be a little Noisey night time . Clean rooms maid service is great clean towels every day . Rooms a little tired , the only English tv channels are sky news and CNN news , and some old uk stuff , could do with BBC itv . The food at breakfast is great loads of choice from fresh fruit toasted sandwiches yoghurt cereal eggs bacon beans fresh omelette spoilt for choice , oh have to mention the lovely Simmona who is a credit to the oro negro always present smiles all the time and always chats to you and shows you to your table . Dinner time always so thing to eat always plenty of choice , and you can swap your evening dinner to lunch . Evening entertainment is great shows on every night including bingo and funny little games . Games in the day time included English bowls French bowls minni golf table tennis darts and the entertainment team are so nice and great fun . I can't get over how nice and friendly the staff are . I can highly recommend this hotel 100 % . If I had to give s down side to this hotel it would be the long walk up a hill from the front and the tv channels needs to get itv and BBC . Stayed there 3 times and this was our 4 th stay will always go to this hotel when going to tenerife .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheeky_smile7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear cheeky_smile7,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com.
I apologize if we couldn´t give you a room in a high floor this time. We always try to do our best, sometimes is difficult for us to attend all our guest´s requests
We take note of your suggestion about more english channels, and will will work in it to get improvement.
It is really nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and highly recommend our hotel 100%
Thank you for your feedback because it helps us to continue improving our services and gives us support for our work
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, Herts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Returned on 17 May from an 11 night stay and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel was exceptionally clean and all the staff were very friendly. The food was excellent for those who like plain eating with a roast every night and a lot of plain veg (would have loved a curry!). There was always a chef cooking both morning and night with omelets and eggs in the morning and usually a meat and fish on offer at night. The beds were firm - a bit too firm for our liking. The pool was not large but was 3m deep at one end and for most of the time was empty - older guests were not keen on getting wet. Plenty of sunbeds and brollies. We went out every day but had no problem getting sunbeds if we came back later.
The hotel is about 10 minutes stroll from the sea front and is on a hill so you do need to be able to cope with a steady climb back to it. It is however, well placed away from any noisy clubs or bars and so was quiet. It was also in a great place to choose which part of the resort to go to.
If you turn right out of the hotel and go straight for about 3/4 mile you come to the posh part, lit up like Las Vegas at night. It also gets you to Playa de las Vistas, which we thought was the best beach area. It also is home to Robinson, the cafe with the best Cafe Con Leche.
Turn left and go down the hill and turn left again and you pass a number of English bars and come to the night club area (all quiet until about 9.30pm). As we are in our 50s, we had to go there to get a fix of lively music as almost everywhere was catering to the vast number of retired people and was country and western or tribute acts to old singers. Maybe it all changes in school holiday periods.
Turn right and right again and you come to a long road running parallel with the seafront and full of bars and restaurants.
The path along the seafront runs for about 2 miles in each direction and has plenty of shops and bars. A lot of cheap clothes are on offer and lager is as low as 1 euro a pint. We bought a brolly and 2 beach mats for 10 euros and left them behind when we came home.
The sea is very rough and has strong currents. There are surfers along the unprotected areas, which is great to watch. All the beaches have stone jetties at both ends to give protected bathing areas. Some black sand and others orange sand. You still need to be careful if you swim out when the tide is going out as it is not so easy to get back!!
We had an excellent holiday. We walked our socks off, had all but 1 day of glorious sunshine and even went on one of the many cheap/free excursions - subsidised by you having to listen to a sales pitch about beds and sheepskin covers. Be wary, people on our coach were buying £1700 sets by the end of the presentation (no hard sell though). Aimed squarely at the old folk with their aches and pains (I am nearly at that age!).
My advice is to pick this hotel if you want a good value 3* hotel with plain food and a good choice.
Have a good one!!

Room Tip: We were in room 207 which was at the back of the hotel, got the sun in the evening and has a good vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Richard H,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel and in Tenerife South with other guest in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving our services.
It is nice to read that you think our hotel is an excellent 3* hotel, exceptiaonally clean and with very friendly staff.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Took my mum to Tenerife for her birthday last November 2013. We stayed at this hotel for two weeks. It is clean and your towels are changed on a regular basis. We went half board and they had a good selection of food. I loved it because it is local to so many areas I have visited before like the St Eugenio shopping centre and Los Cristianos. The staff in the restaurant are so friendly and helpful. Simona is really lovely and always showed you to your table. Benito and Herrera were brilliant waiters in the restaurant. On our last evening there, he gave me a free bottle of red wine to have with our evening meal.We got a room which overlooked the side of another hotel and did not like this very much. However, when we asked to change rooms, they were quite happy for us to do this after a few days but in the end we decided not to move. The entertainment is very good and they have bingo every evening. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: It would be nice to have a room which overlooks the front or back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Eve E,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com.
It is really nice to read that you and mum enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
I will pass your comments to Simona, Benito, Herrera and rest of our staff.
Thank you for your feedback because it helps us to continue improving our services and gives us support for our work
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

just returned on 19/05/14 from a 10 night stay here. The hotel is lovely and clean, the staff are really nice, pool area is kept very clean. Chlorine levels were checked on a daily basis in the pool. The restaurant was nice and spacious. The food was excellent and had a wide variety of food. Carvery on every night plus steak, chicken, fish pork was being cooked in front of you if you wanted that. The bedrooms were nice and cleaned every day. There was organised daytime activities near the pool area and evening entertainment was varied. It has 3 star rating on the front of the hotel. I would give this hotel a minimun of 4 stars. I would recommend this hotel to couples or families. Its in a nice area about 10 mins walk from the prom and shops and bar / restaurants are close by.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are the best from 3rd floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dolphin023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director de Recepción at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear dolphin023,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvi-sor.com. Our guests´ feedback helps us to improve our services and gives us support to con-tinue working. It is nice to read that you think this is an excellent hotel, clean and with excellent food, and that you give us a mínimum of 4 star. We feel very proud and very grateful for your nice words.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was the 4th time staying at this hotel. The staff r very friendly n always recognize us now which makes our stay very personal. The room is cleaned every day with clean towels left. The best thing about this hotel is the food. My husband is a very fussy eater n he just loves the food here. Always something on for him to enjoy. I even offered to take him to a fancy restaurant for his birthday n he chose to eat in the hotel. Wouldn't stay anywhere else now n lookin forward to returning in Sept. X

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShirleynColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear ShirleynColin,
Thank you very much for sharing your new experience in our hotel. Your comments give us support to continue improving and guests like you are our best ambassadors.

It is nice to read that this is your 4th time in our hotel and you continue enjoying our hotel and your husband loving our food. We work hard everyday to get our guests satisfaction and to improve our services to surprise them.
Thank you very much for your comments
Waiting to welcome you in september
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here last November for a week(2013) and liked it so much that we have just been back for 2 more weeks and will definitely go back again.Comfortable and smart.Very friendly staff.Excellent restaurant with plenty of choice on the menu.Very good value all round.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Christoph,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your comments give us support to continue improving.

It is nice to read that you think this hotel is confortable, very friendly and with plenty of choice on our menú.
Thank you very much for your comments
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,926 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#32 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#18 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,037 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,225 reviews
1.3 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Oro Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Oro Negro

Property: Catalonia Oro Negro
Address: Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Oro Negro 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Oro Negro is located 500 metres from the las Americas de Arona beach, in Tenerife, close to the local leisure centre and the "Las Americas" golf club. The hotel facilities cater to the most discriminating clients, both adult and children: swimming pool for adults, children's swimming pool, children's playground, large terrace, solarium with hammocks, hairdressers and beauty salon, table football, table tennis, private garden, pool bar, live shows in the bar, Daniel's bar, breakfast buffet restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Catalonia Oro Negro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Catalonia Oro Negro Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing